We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Tysons Corner
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Tysons Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was one of the more well-appointed Residence Inns we've stayed in. The furnishings were new, rooms were clean and well-decorated, and the bed was comfy. Breakfast was good and the location is great...and will be even better when the new metro is open. Having the Walmart (for grocery items or forgotten toiletries) and some good, quick food options nearby made the hotel even more convenient. The staff was consistently friendly and always started from a place of helpfulness; they also helped with some unexpected faxing and copying. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank US2EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRITysons, General Manager at Residence Inn Tysons Corner, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

US2EU - Thank you for you review of your stay at the Residence Inn Tysons Corner. We greatly appreciate your feedback on your experiences with us. I will be sure to share your comments with the front office staff and the breakfast staff. Looking forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 233 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

Please allow me to state that I have many years of experience as a Residence Inn guest - most recently 6 months in one location, 3 months in two additional locations - so I have a qualified basis for making these observations.

This was one of my WORST hotel experiences ever - this hotel should very definitely not be called a Residence Inn. I have a list:

- ICE: There is an ice maker in the full-sized fridge - it does not make ice. It is not attached. The only way to obtain ice is to walk/drive to the main building and the clerk will give you ice in a laundry bag.
- LIVING SPACE: One tiny (love seat-sized) sofa - no cushy chair - had to move chairs from undersized breakfast table to have a conversation together.
- HEAT: There is no way to adjust the heating so that it flows from the vents on the main floor. It heats the second floor - too much.
- KITCHEN: The coffee maker did not work. There is no skillet/frying pan. The dishwasher did not clean glassware. Disposal did not work until we cleaned out beer bottle caps from previous guests.
- REQUESTS: No extra towels nor down pillows were supplied.
- BED: The beds are old and worn and uncomfortable, as are the pillows. No extra blanket in either room.
- WINDOWS: Roller shades can only be accessed by moving furniture. Barely function.
- BATHROOM: Sinks were clogged. Shower temperatures crazy.
- TV: Many channels offered were pixelated. Many other channels were not connected.
- CUSTOMER SERVICE: Want to say that the staff tried to fix things but, for the most part, they failed. Seemed unconcerned about urgency.
- CLEANLINESS - Overall ok but feel that the room could be cleaner.
- FOOD: Very limited choices at the breakfast buffet.
- PROPERTY - Difficult to find room (we observed other guests with this issue) and overall not well-kept. Missing light bulbs, not groomed.

The property is in an excellent location. But I was so sad for us - so many other options, and I picked this - just so disappointed and upset.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shopgirlblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRITysons, General Manager at Residence Inn Tysons Corner, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

shopgirlblonde – I am so very sorry that your stay was not what you have come to expect from Residence Inn. It is disappointing that we have failed you in so many areas. I greatly appreciate the amount of detail in your review and I will look into each of these concerns with my staff and we will take the necessary step to correcting these issues. It is with feedback such as yours that we will learn from our shortcomings, correct the errors and we will strive not to repeat them. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is my second time staying here for a trip to DC. I was very pleased with the service here, everyone is SO NICE!!! I absolutely love the two bedroom units, they are perfect. It is conveniently located for the metro, restaurants and shopping.

If I had one negative to add it would be to make sure you dont stay in a unit near the basketball courts. I was trying to nap one day, and you could hear the bouncing balls and noise from the court. So I would try to avoid buildings 12 and 2.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allnatural99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRITysons, General Manager at Residence Inn Tysons Corner, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

theucfan - Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay, it was great to have you back with us. I will gladly share your comments with the entire team, I am sure they will be happy to hear this feedback. We hope to see you again soon on your next trip to the DC area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We are a family of 5, we really enjoyed our one night. Room perfectly equipped, small kitchen with microwave, coffee maker, stove, fridge... Free wifi as well.
Room was clean and nicely furnished. Staff was also very friendly. Would definitely come back

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Aidamourad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRITysons, General Manager at Residence Inn Tysons Corner, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Aidamourad - I am happy to hear that we were able to accomodate you and your family. I will make sure and share your review with the entire team during our staff meeting. We hope to see you again soon and thank you again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have stayed here quite a lot over the years as it's convenient to family. This is one of the older style Residence Inns which feel very much like an apartment complex.

The interiors were recently renovated and are very freshened with nice trendy deep colors and textures. The rooms are like small studio apartments with a kitchen that has a stove, microwave, dishwasher and fridge. Every room we've ever been in has a fireplace; you get a duralog from the front desk if you want to use it. We never have but it's charming anyway. Part of the renovation I really like are the shelves by the vanity and the well-lit vanity. The shelves really help you organize your stuff and keep the countertop tidy on long visits. Sadly the toilet roll holder had lost its spindle (room 1014) for our recent week-long visit.

However, the exteriors feel a bit shabby yet, with some bits of broken siding and so on. Visiting in the winter we saw leaves had collected in the stairwells but noticed that the courtyard had had some repairs. Be aware that second floor rooms are only reached by stairs.

The location is excellent and quiet and can now be found by navigating to the new WalMart (within walking distance). We like to be placed in the rear buildings on the first floor. On this trip this meant being in the dark in the parking lot since one of the exterior lights was out.

I can't figure out the beds here though. Once, we had a room with a mattress from heaven. I wish I remembered which room that was since the mattresses haven't been quite that nice since.

I notice that some recent visitors had Wi-Fi issues; we didn't on this trip.

Room Tip: We like rooms to the rear and on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lietuva_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRITysons, General Manager at Residence Inn Tysons Corner, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

lietuva_9 - What a great line 'feels a bit like home". We strive to make all of our guests feel as if this is a second home so we are pleased to hear that you felt this way. I am glad to see you like the new rooms and that it is more functional for you. I will certainly look into the overall appearance of the grounds and make sure that we address this right away. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

A bit hard to find off Route 7, especially in the dark, tho our GPS took us to the front door. Room was cold (54 degrees) when we arrived but after resetting the thermostat and going out for an hour or so, was fine on our return. Quiet, roomy, clean, with kitchen. Breakfast looked good tho we didn't imbibe.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walt55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRITysons, General Manager at Residence Inn Tysons Corner, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Walt55 - Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, we greatly appreciate your feedback. I am sorry that your room was so cold upon arrival, I will make sure to share this with my housekeeping team and make sure that we up the static temperatures in the rooms during the colder months. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel looks like a very old building from the outside but once you check in to the room it is very modern. Good makeover. The staff was friendly but the lobby and front desk area was small. There was a curtain behind the front desk which was odd. Great location .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gatty247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaune J, General Manager at Residence Inn Tysons Corner, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for your review Gatty247,
The hotel underwent a complete rooms renovation in 2013 and I believe we offer the best suites in Tysons Corner. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you again.

Many thanks,
Shaune Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tysons Corner hotels
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall
Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall
#10 of 14 in Tysons Corner
203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tysons Corner
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
#4 of 14 in Tysons Corner
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tysons Corner Marriott
Tysons Corner Marriott
#7 of 14 in Tysons Corner
557 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tysons Corner Center
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Tysons Hotel
Sheraton Tysons Hotel
#8 of 14 in Tysons Corner
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tysons Corner

Address: 8616 Westwood Center Dr, Tysons Corner, VA 22182-2214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Tysons Corner
Price Range: $85 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tysons Corner 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Inn Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tysons Corner Hotel Vienna
Residence Inn Vienna
Vienna Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing