We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Always A Pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Tysons Corner
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Shenandoah, VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always A Pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

I love this hotel. The service is wonderful and the view of Tysons Corner is great. It is a super location for business and fun to shop and relax as well. The beds are comfortable. I strongly recommend a jacuzzi room. it feels great after a long day. The front desk staff is so helpful with anything. The shuttle takes you all around area. The only weird thing was the room service menu. It looks like it was taken over by a Leprechaun. They actually sell an item called a banshee club ( thought you used a club to kill a banshee??). It is nice to also have a Flemming's in the hotel as well.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rem061877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaTC, Owner and Management at Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax, responded to this review, November 10, 2009
Hi rem061877,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback about the Courtyard Tysons Corner in your TripAdvisor review. We are so glad you love our hotel and were able to take advantage of our wonderful Jacuzzi Room and the wonderful things Tysons Corner has to offer with business and pleasure!

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you in the near future!

Sincerely,
Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    103
    39
    15
    16
See reviews for
48
41
24
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Only stayed in the hotel for 7 hours, but was not impressed. Pipes were very loud, room was warm and was difficult to find a newspaper in the morning. The front desk staff was nice, the restaurant staff coulnd't care less about service.

I always stay at Marriott hotels, but would probably not stay here again..expensive hotel for the quality.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatsDynasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kberkhimer, Owner & Managment at Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax, responded to this review, November 10, 2009
Dear PatsDynasty,
Thank you for taking time to post a review about your stay with us last month at the Courtyard Tysons Corner.

We deeply apologize you you did not enjoy your stay! We take our customer service and our hotels upkeep very seriously and have not had these complaints before. However, thank you for bringing them to our attention and we are looking into all matters you mentioned.

We hope that next time you are in Northern Virginia you will give us another chance.

Thank you,
The Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

As a Marriott Platinum member, this hotel is decent but not great. The room was ok style-wise but could use some upgrades in the bathrooms and kitchen areas. The telephones in my room did not work and would not call the automatically programmed numbers for the hotel. Many of the lights in my room did not work. There was no "do not disturb" sign provided in my room. There was some smelly bag of garbage left on my balcony. And, the balcony sliding glass door was busted and did not have a lock on it. I had to prop the luggage rack and a chair up to the door to ensure it was secured at night. And - that was in a suite!

The front desk did upgrade me from a regular room to a suite because of my rewards status. This was appreciated. I would recommend this hotel over both of the Residence Inns in the Mclean, VA area, which were terrible.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dattardi, owner and management group at Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax, responded to this review, November 13, 2009
Hey, Gtravelgirl -

First and foremost, thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for taking the time to post your feedback. Hearing candid guest feedback is the only way w are going to get better and improve our hotel, so we take it very seriously.

Having said that, I'm sorry you didn't have a terrific experience at our hotel. We have been in the process of some room and lobby upgrades and I think they have been pretty well-received by most guests, but given your feedback, we will certainly revisit possible improvements to the bathroom and kitchen areas.

Also, I am sorry that your room didn't include several of the items that come standard in all our guest rooms (properly working lights, do not disturb signs, etc.), as well as I apologize about the garbage on the balcony.

Our quality scores are consistently at the top of our the Courtyard brand, so i assure you that this type of mishap is an anomaly.

I regret that you didn't have a better experience, but again, I am confident that our hotel will take your feedback and use it to improve our service moving forward.

We value all our guests, especially our Platinum Rewards members, so I hope that you will give us another stay the next time you are in the Tysons-Corner, Northern VA, DC area.

Thanks again for your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Best,
Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

The courtyard lives up to the Marriott standard. it is in a great location in Tysons. The staff is very friendly and helpful with all requests. There are a few restaurants within walking distance. Rooms are nice and quiet. Decent work out room and good pool. Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GabbyCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kberkhimer, Owner & Management at Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax, responded to this review, November 10, 2009
Dear GabbyCharlotte_NC,
Thank you for taking time to post a review about your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner. We appreciate the time you took to give us your feedback.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you again!

Thank you,
The Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We live close enough to DC to make pretty regular overnight or weekend trips to DC for all different kinds of activities, and we're constantly searching for the best hotel. We look for something affordable that is close to a metro station. While this Courtyard isn't very close to the metro, it is a very affordable and well furnished hotel that makes up for it's distance to the metro.

The hotel is easy to get to, not far off 495. Check in was easy and the staff at the front dest was very courteous. Our room was clean and comfortable upon entering. We were surprised to find both a flat panel television and a small refrigerator in the room. Internet was wired, and the service was fine. The vanity area of the bathroom was a little on the small side, but that is the only complaint we had with the room. The parking area was large and well lit, and had easy elevator access to the main lobby. Best of all, parking is free, a luxury that is hard to find in a DC area hotel.

You do have to drive a couple of miles to the closest metro station, but the closest stations are also park and rides, so if you're visiting on the weekend, parking is free. We knew that before we booked, so it was no problem for us.

We're headed back to DC soon, and have already booked at this hotel for our next visit. We may have found the best combination of price, location, and convenience with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpeace121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kberkhimer, Owner & Management at Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax, responded to this review, November 10, 2009
Dear jpeace121,
Thank you for giving us your feedback when staying with us at the Courtyard by Marriott in Tysons Corner.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and felt you got a good value with us! We understand that price is always a concern and feel that quality should not be sacrificed in order to get a good deal!

As it seems your only complaint that the metro was a short drive, you will be happy to know that a metro station is being built practically across the street!

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Tysons Corner!

Sincerely,
The Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

I've stayed here numerous times over the last few years. I've had some not so nice visits to this particular Courtyard, but most of my stays here have been very good. This last stay was excellent. The AAA rate was $67 a night (weekends), the room was very clean, the king size bed was comfy, the flat screen television was great and the room had a new feel to it. I suppose this was because the hotel was recently renovated. One positive about this hotel is the location. Tysons Corner Mall and Tysons Galleria are within walking distance. Both malls offer many restaurants and other shopping opportunites. The Dunn Loring metro stop is less than a 5 mile drive away and the hotel will even shuttle you there anytime during the day. I have no complaints whatsoever. The extraordinary changes are obvious here at the Tysons Corner-Fairfax Courtyard and yes, I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILUVDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kberkhimer, Owner & Management at Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax, responded to this review, May 12, 2009
Dear ILUVDC,

Thank you for your feedback about the Courtyard at Tysons Corner! We appreciate you taking the time to post this review.

We are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott in Tysons Corner and that you will be back! We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

The Courtyard by Marriott at Tysons Corner Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

My husband and I booked our stay the day before the election. Thankfully we were able to get reservations because it was important for us to experience Inauguration 2009. We took a cab from Reagan National airport to the Courtyard and it cost approximately $44 with tip (the cab fare depends on number of people and number of luggage besides distance and wait time). Later we found out that the Metro has a stop at the airport and the hotel has a free shuttle to and from the Dunn-Loring stop on the Orange line. (You may want to take the Metro, get off on the Dunn-Loring stop, and call the hotel to get picked up...that would save you a lot of money.) The front desk staff were very friendly and excited for the inauguration events. We had a king-bed room that had adjoining doors to another room. In the future I think it would be best not to have an adjoining room because we could hear EVERYTHING in the next room. Other than that, the room was comfortable, had a mini-fridge, offered free internet (although we could not get ours to work even after calling the IT number), and was clean. The shuttle to the nearest Metro stop was great; however, I think that because inauguration week had such a big turnout, they may not have been as prepared because it took a long time to get picked up from the Metro stop. The shuttle also takes its guests anywhere within a 4 mile radius. The hotel is very close to two main malls; one very upscale. In addition, there are great restaurants across the street. We ate breakfast at the hotel and we were very pleased with the service and quality. They served a full breakfast with made-to-order omelets and eggs (for approximately $14 per person). The breakfast was a great way to start the day! The area seemed very safe and a nice distance away from the National Mall area (it took approximately 20 minutes by Metro to the middle of the National Mall area). We enjoyed our time in the DC area and the Courtyard did a nice job of accommodating all the guests!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — The adjoining room, internet not working, and IT staff not helpful.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hvtrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tysons Corner
0.5 mi away
Tysons Corner Marriott
Tysons Corner Marriott
#7 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tysons Corner Center
0.7 mi away
Hilton McLean Tysons Corner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tysons Corner
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
#4 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner
Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner
#6 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax

Property: Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax
Address: 1960-A Chain Bridge Road, Tysons Corner, VA 22102
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tysons Corner
#3 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
#6 Family Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Hotel is not your typical Courtyard hotel. This new hotel is located in the heart of Tysons Corner, just 11 miles from downtown Washington DC, and is centrally located between Washington Reagan National Airport and Dulles International Airport, each just 15 miles from the hotel. We are the closest hotel to the Tysons Corner Metro Station on the Silver Line, and offer on-site parking to hotel guests for $7 daily, making access to the Nation's Capital a breeze. Take advantage of many of the Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner's great amenities such as Free Wifi, State of the Art Fitness Center, and On-Site Restaurants The Terrace, The Bistro, and Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax Hotel Mclean
Courtyard Hotel Mclean
Mclean Marriott
Mclean Courtyard
Courtyard Mclean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing