We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“This hotel is going down hill fast!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Tysons Corner
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Shenandoah, Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“This hotel is going down hill fast!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I used to love this hotel. There was a certain charm about it. There was an energy at the front desk that made you feel valued. It is all gone. There is no passion at the front desk anymore. I think guest service has gone to wayside here. Even when I use my points I feel like I am wasting them because I am a big service guy. I try to check in late at night. There is a guy named Bryce there who is awesome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Greetings!

First and foremost, I would like express my sincere appreciation for your feedback regarding our hotel and service. Guest experiences are very important to us and we take every comment and suggestion very seriously.
I have shared your feedback with our team and I can assure you that we will take every step to improve the overall service of our front desk. I would like to speak with you personally to get more feedback from you and see how we can rectify your experience. I can be reached at your convenience at 703-790-0207.
Again, we appreciate your comments and look forward to speaking with you.

Kind Regards,
Christian Guato
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    105
    40
    15
    17
See reviews for
52
42
24
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Rooms are new but a bit smaller than average. Staff is courteous, polite and goes the extra distance to assist. Plenty of restaurants a short walk or complimentary shuttle ride away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joelato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Well it says this hotel is a three star while they are lower than 2 stars
No one will help you with your luggages, the AC at the lobby is very cold and among the corridors are very warm. The swimming pool as if you connect 2 Jacuzzi together ( very small) the gym few machine in a dull room let you lose some cols and then spend a lot of many in drink to recover from room sadness. The people working at the reception very rod except one or 2. Above all that the price is expensive competing to the quality and the service you got. Same price you can have better service and quality such as sheraton primer and embassy suit or crown plaza in Tyson area. I really appeal to marriot to re Evaluate the management and the hotel. 

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nowaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Greetings!

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for staying with us during your trip to the Washington DC Area. Your comments and feedback are most certainly appreciated and will be addressed.

I am disappointed that you experienced an unsatisfactory stay with us and I can assure you that our team has taken the necessary steps to address the issues you mentioned. I would like to personally speak with you regarding your stay so that we can rectify your experience. I can be reached at the hotel via phone at 703-790-0207.

Again, we appreciate your comments and look forward to speaking with you.

Kind Regards,
Christian Guato
Guest Service Manager Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Very average hotel, nothing horrible but nothing outstanding either. In DC for business about once every couple of months. Previously stayed at other area hotels and wanted to try a different hotel chain. Other area hotels have left a more favourable impression. This one was clean and safe place to stay but bland. I think they need to fine tune some aspects of customer service. Staff are not overly warm and welcoming but helpful when approached. Would have liked to see the staff look up and acknowledge people coming into the hotel with a smile. Breakfast buffet is not extensive but serves it's purpose and perhaps a few dollars overpriced. Has free WiFi that works quite well. This hotel is great value for the area.

Hotel was quiet, no issues with noise. Bed and pillows were comfortable. It is located directly across the street from Tyson's Corner Center and Tyson's Galleria, two good malls if you are into shopping. Wide selection of good restaurants in the area and food courts within the shopping centre. Shuttle service was a nice bonus, allowing us to get around to the metro station and other places within the three mile limit. The area is also well serviced by public transportation (bus service to/from the Metro Station). No real convenience or grocery stores within walking distance for drinks and snacks. Also nice was the boarding pass printing station in the lobby. Hard to access hotel by car if you don't know the area well. The hotel address doesn't do well with the GPS partly because of construction in the area blocking direct access. Make sure you have a real map of the area to plan your route or call hotel staff beforehand to get directions. Room did have a mini fridge and there was complimentary coffee/tea station in the lobby in the mornings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ay_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Was there for one night last week. It's in the busy Tysons Corner area. The lobby is up-to-date, but the rooms are average.

Good wifi speed in the rooms - which is included, no extra fee.
The bathroom is the average Courtyard bathroom, but the shower is really dark based on the placement of the light and the heavy curtain. Shower pressure was pretty good.
The bed was soft, but I was so tired I could've slept on the floor.

The gym has some very basic and old LifeFitness machines - which are in great shape - but really define the base models.

It's about 30 minutes into DC - with plenty of traffic to make that a longer trip.

Overall, I would only stay here again if I needed to be in the area. If I need DC, I'll stay downtown.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed for one night here for a family getaway. We stayed at the Crowne Plaza right next to this hotel the weekend before, so we wanted to try the Courtyard as well since the location of this hotel was ideal for us. When we checked in to our room, our 2 yr old toddler found an empty bottle of vodka under the bed. Maybe there was a party in the room the night before. Immediately called the front desk and they switched our room to another floor and apologized for the inconvenience. Front desk person was very friendly and considerate. Other room was fine, but the room was little bit crowded with oversized furnitures. Mini-fridge in the room was handy. We ordered a steak and rubens sandwich for dinner from the room service and food was very good. The pool was small but adequate for our family. We stayed with the breakfast pkg (paid $104 and tax) which was great. Breakfast buffet had lots of choices including make your own omelette and the staff at the breakfast buffet was very professional and pleasant. Also, hotel location was by far the best. Close to everything!!

Overall, the stay was great and would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Vending machine on the 7th floor is loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blue24060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottumwa, Iowa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed five nights in this hotel. The hotel has been newly renovated. My only complaint with this hotel is the shuttle service. Be prepared to wait at least one-half hour for the shuttle. The rooms are nice, and the staff members are very willing to help.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler13333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tysons Corner
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
#4 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tysons Corner Center
0.5 mi away
Tysons Corner Marriott
Tysons Corner Marriott
#6 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tysons Corner
0.7 mi away
Hilton McLean Tysons Corner
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner
Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner
#7 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax

Property: Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax
Address: 1960A Chain Bridge Rd, Tysons Corner, VA 22102-4001
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tysons Corner
#3 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
#6 Family Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Hotel is not your typical Courtyard hotel. This new hotel is located in the heart of Tysons Corner, just 11 miles from downtown Washington DC, and is centrally located between Washington Reagan National Airport and Dulles International Airport, each just 15 miles from the hotel. We are the closest hotel to the Tysons Corner Metro Station on the Silver Line, and offer on-site parking to hotel guests for $7 daily, making access to the Nation's Capital a breeze. Take advantage of many of the Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner's great amenities such as Free Wifi, State of the Art Fitness Center, and On-Site Restaurants The Terrace, The Bistro, and Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax Hotel Mclean
Courtyard Hotel Mclean
Mclean Marriott
Mclean Courtyard
Courtyard Mclean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing