We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean rooms and very good breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tysons Corner
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Tysons Corner
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Concord, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice, clean rooms and very good breakfast!”
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Our family just got back from a 5 day stay. This isn't a fancy hotel but it was adequate for our needs. It was nice having our own room and the girls having their own space. Room was very clean. We never went to the Manager's Reception. The breakfast was very nice...the omelets were excellent! It was nice that towels are provided at the pool so we didn't have to use our room towels. There's a lifeguard at the pool but I don't think he really paid that much attention to what was going on in the pool. The girls enjoyed swimming. The Dunn Loring Metro station was very close. We drove instead of relying on the shuttle. Just be sure to buy a SmartTrip card to pay for parking there as that's the only payment they accept. There were several very nice restaurants close by. I had heard that traffic is bad in that area. Although it was a bit heavy at times it was nothing I'm not used to so that wasn't an issue for us.

One problem I did notice was the kids that were allowed to run around unsupervised (not the hotels fault!). There were some nights I observed kids running around on our floor and going up and down the elevators. There was one night we went to bed early and the girls were having trouble sleeping because there was so much noise from other kids running past our room.

For the price and location I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillyb1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    364
    135
    69
    32
See reviews for
514
210
61
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We enjoyed our one night stay. The managers reception was crowded, but the veggies with dip and nachos with the best fresh salsa EVER was the reason why. My drink was great too. The kids loved the pool, the room, the reception and the breakfast. The living room tv in our room was wonderful. It was a large flat screen. Our tv in our bedroom was older but just fine. The back of the building made a loud fan type noise, but it was constant and didn't bother my sleep. We ate dinner at the Silver Diner by the Tyson Mall, and that was yummy. The maids smiled a lot and were sweet to my kids. I loved this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnVacationToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Two great room, clean and modern, two TVs, comfortable bed and sofa bed, what more could you ask for? The full breakfast was full, eggs made to order, bacon, fruit, Danish, muffins and more. I try to stay at the Embassy Suites whenever I travel. The Manager’s Reception is not bad just take an Excedrin before you go to bed because they do not use top shelf , but what to do expect it is free. The bartenders in the is particular Embassy treat you like you paid though…fast friendly service and ready to give you a drink when your glass is empty. Oh, don’t let the open balconies on the lower floors excite you; they look like they could be noisy. I stayed on the first and second floor and I could barely hear a thing when in bed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsFroggy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

This was a great hotel for 5 nights. Nightly reception was excellent, and the breakfast was very good as usual for Embassy Suites. We would drive to Dunn Loring Metro station, and ride into DC for the sites. Free parking was great. Workout room, and pool were very nice. Rooms were clean, and had lots of room for the 4 of us. Being a HHonors does get you free WiFi in your room (saves the $9.95 a day charge). Room rates could not be beat. Excellent overall stay at this fine hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spirit_of_Radio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed at the Embassy Suites in Tysons Corner over the 4th of July weekend for a family vacation. We had a stay at least 3 nights 25% off rate on a 2 room king suite. Being a member of the HHonors club paid off because we also got free internet access which normally costs 9.95 a day.

The staff was cordial, providing printed out directions to the attractions we wanted to visit. Check-in was smooth and we had arrived just in time for the happy hour which consisted of free drinks and heavy, heavy hours d'oerves. The room was very spacious with an office/sitting area with a sofabed and flat screen tv and a separate bedroom w/ a king size bed and another tv. My daughter was thrilled to have her "own room.
The complimentary made to order breakfast the next morning and each morning was excellent. Made to order omlettes and other fare was plentiful..This was a huge money saver!
We used the shuttle to the metro and the ride there was great, the driver was taking extra, unscheduled trips to the station (Dunn Loring Station)and the trip took a matter of minutes. The return trip was not so convenient, however. When we returned, however we had to wait almost an hour for a pickup despite repeated calls to the hotel. The next day we drove to another, closer (West Falls Church) metro stop. I just like the luxury of going on my own time.

We didn't have time to experience the malls, but the property is very close to Tyson's Corner and The Galleria.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel because of the value and comfort and proximity to everything.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

I saw a couple of reviews for this hotel with not-so-good comments, but I had absolutely no problems. Staff was outstanding and helpful. When the shuttle to the Metro stop was full the assistant manager grabbed another van and drove us there personally. Room was as usual for Embassy Suites - very nice and comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding. And by staying for three nights we got a really good rate - less than we paid the next night for a far less quality room and hotel far from DC. I'm coming back to this one.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaTraveler047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2009

I've stayed at this hotel maybe eight times in the last five years, and it's normally been a pleasant experience. Last time there were three things wrong with the room, two of which were corrected promptly, but I thought that it was just bad luck. Based on my experience this time I conclude that they are slipping.

First (and this is NOT the fault of the hotel), it's much more difficult to get into the hotel's parking lot because of a long-duration construction project (they tell me that there is a new Metro underground transportation line going in). Once I arrived, I was given a room key that didn't work. After I got a room key that worked, I determined that they had given me the wrong room type--something other than what I had reserved. (As a Hilton HHonors gold card customer I'm not used to getting an involuntary *downgrade* in room type.) They cheerfully switched to me to a room of the correct type, but gave me a key that didn't work once again. Another trip down to the lobby resulted in a key that didn't work a THIRD time. Finally, I got a key that worked on one try out of four or five times.

By the time I got settled into the room it was time for Happy Hour, which takes place in the atrium. I know that Embassy Hotels are almost always designed around a central atrium, but the atrium just seems so darned dark in this hotel, even in the middle of the day. Perhaps they have "de-lamped" excessively at this particular property. Mind you, the gloom doesn't keep me from appreciating my free wine, but it's just not a great place for hanging out in.

After Happy Hour I ate in the restaurant, as I have during several previous trips. Apparently the price of the menu item that I ordered had been increased but they have not yet reprinted their menus. I asked the server about the discrepancy between the bill and the menu and, after explaining that the price had gone up, he gave me the item for the old price. It's OK to raise the prices, but I don't think they should lead customers to believe menu items are one price when they're really being offered at a higher cost.

That said, the restaurant staff members do an outstanding job on breakfast. During this particular trip, the hotel was hosting 100+ junior high school students who all ate breakfast at the same time that I did. The fact that the staff kept the breakfast items coming smoothly under these circumstances was a commendable achievement.

Given the problems getting into the hotel and the little slip-ups that seem to be happening here, in the future I am planning to stay solely in the Hilton Tyson's Corner that is located two or three miles away.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr-Jill-from-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tysons Corner hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
#3 of 14 in Tysons Corner
573 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tysons Corner Center
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Tysons Hotel
Sheraton Tysons Hotel
#8 of 14 in Tysons Corner
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tysons Corner Marriott
Tysons Corner Marriott
#7 of 14 in Tysons Corner
518 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax
Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax
#5 of 14 in Tysons Corner
374 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner
Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner
#6 of 14 in Tysons Corner
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tysons Corner

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Tysons Corner
Address: 8517 Leesburg Pike, Tysons Corner, VA 22182-2406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tysons Corner
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tysons Corner
#4 Green Hotel in Tysons Corner
#5 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tysons Corner 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Tysons Corner hotel is beautifully situated one block from the Silver Line Metro Station and only 20 minutes from the Dulles International Airport and Downtown Washington DC, and provides stunning accommodations in a relaxed and friendly environment. Our suburban Washington DC area hotel offers guests convenient location for exploring some of the area's most desirable tourist attractions, including: Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts, Tysons Corner Shopping, Smithsonian's Air and Space Museum, Lincoln Memorial, and The White House. Our guests may also enjoy:•Spacious two room suites•Complimentary Cooked-to-order Breakfast every morning•Complimentary Evening Reception every evening with free drinks and snacks•Business Center and a variety of Business Amenities•Complimentary transportation to local businesses within 3 mile radius of hotel. Corporate travelers will also find that our Vienna hotel is located within close proximity to a wide selection of local businesses and corporations, such as:•NADA•Capital One•SAIC•Northrop Grumman•Freddie MacOur spacious hotel suites are perfect for either work or leisure. Stay in one of our beautifully designed guest rooms and discover amenities to suit even the most discerning hotel guest, including: spacious work area, television with cable and pay-per-view movies, high-speed Internet access, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.Whether you prefer to dine in-room or to discover local restaurants, you'll find your dining needs perfectly catered to at our hotel. Not only are all guests invited to enjoy our superb and nutritious cooked-to-order breakfast in the morning, you'll also find our hotel restaurant, The Atrium Cafe, serving an excellent selection of contemporary American cuisine daily. Unwind over breakfast, lunch, or dinner in the welcoming atmosphere of our stunning hotel atriums and recharge your batteries for an exciting stay in the Washington DC area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tysons Corner
Embassy Suites Vienna
Vienna Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing