We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality at a price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: You are cordially invited to join us for an evening or afternoon of relaxed elegance and exceptional cuisine. Our impressive menu of nationally renowned dry aged steaks and the freshest of seafood will ignite your culinary imagination as our award-winning wine list of more than 5,000 bottles awakens your inner sommelier. And as our gracious, knowledgeable servers delight you with their uncanny ability to anticipate your every need, you’ll experience firsthand why the American Culinary Federation recently bestowed upon us their “Achievement of Excellence Award.” Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion or hosting a business luncheon or dinner, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private dining event. Our event planning staff has extensive experience and the ideal materials to work with—a capital setting, distinctive food and unmatched service. Located on the corner of International and Route 7.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Quality at a price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Good location and ambiance, plus attentive and friendly wait staff. The cuisine is top-rate in terms of quality ingredients, presentation and flavor (more consistent on the meats and less on the seafood). Wine selection is excellent, but somewhat pricey.

I come back now and then but not as frequently as the other places in the area that offers better value for money, with the same quality of food and service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    64
    28
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Yes you can get great meals that don't include a steak at Capital Grill Great service. Perfect for a business lunch.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
379 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Thinking of a special occasion? This is the place . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Arrived 5 minutes before closing for my son's graduation dinner. They had held a wait staff just for us, even though I had called in to say we were just tentative at that point as running so late. Then I saw the table, which had been decorated, and knew we would not feel rushed, and we didn't. Proceeded to have yet another Capital Grille masterpiece of a meal with exemplary service. At the end, nearly an hour after they closed, our staff showed no signs of stress and then took out a camera to take pictures -- and put them in a nice frame they had with a graduation cap on it!!! As a long time patron that eats at many steakhouses, this is still the king. Food to try: RI style calamari, Kona aged steak, filet oscar with crabmeat and of course, the baked stuffed 2lb lobster stuffed with crabmeat and the lobster mac and cheese. Thanks CG for delivering in style when our night could have been ruined had we booked elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ExRIGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bent Mountain, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“HAVE YOUR CREDIT CARD OR FAT WALLET”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

I was a guest of my clients, party of five, for drinks and dinner, and it's a good thing it was on their tab. Of course, high dollar eateries are the norm in the area, with $400 bottles of wine being commonplace the closer one gets to the Capitol. But one thing is certain about this Tysons Corner location: nothing about food, service or atmosphere will disappoint. As I said to the server after finishing my steak, "That cow did not die in vain."
If you don't mind spending well over $130-150 for two to have a drink and dinner, this is a great choice. Just be prepared to pay a premium price for a premium meal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank filmbuyer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belcamp, Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband made reservations to celebrate my birthday at the Capital Grille and the food & service were great.

Upon arrival we were seated and our waiter was their within seconds to take our drink order & explain the evening specials. We ordered the salmon and filet with sautéed spinach & mushrooms. All of the menu options were very good, well seasoned and the filet was tender. For my birthday all of the Waite staff signed a card, decorated my table with birthday confetti and brought out a complimentary desert which was a very nice touch.

The restaurant also offers complimentary valet parking, which was a nice touch as well. Overall I had a great birthday celebration and I would highly recommend the capital Grille.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BKLYNQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing