We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow best steak ever!”
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: You are cordially invited to join us for an evening or afternoon of relaxed elegance and exceptional cuisine. Our impressive menu of nationally renowned dry aged steaks and the freshest of seafood will ignite your culinary imagination as our award-winning wine list of more than 5,000 bottles awakens your inner sommelier. And as our gracious, knowledgeable servers delight you with their uncanny ability to anticipate your every need, you’ll experience firsthand why the American Culinary Federation recently bestowed upon us their “Achievement of Excellence Award.” Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion or hosting a business luncheon or dinner, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private dining event. Our event planning staff has extensive experience and the ideal materials to work with—a capital setting, distinctive food and unmatched service. Located on the corner of International and Route 7.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow best steak ever!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Anniversary dinner, reserved ahead and it was the best meal ever. Pricey but hey it was an anniversary dinner. Steaks were divine, best ever. Appetizer to desserts were all delicious! Will come back for sure. Staff and service very professional and knowledgable. 5 stars!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redlegwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    68
    28
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never a bad meal at the Capital Grille!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have visited several Capital Grille restaurants in different cities and i have NEVER had a bad meal or had to experience bad service ever.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Uli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not on it's game”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I've been fortunate to dine at the Grill's flagships in Providence and Boston and a number of times on PA Ave. in DC and once in Chicago. I have eaten here beofre and hosted once a large party. This past visit was disappointing. Took a chance on a Saturday (when staff's are always stressed), but we were seated next to a table of 6 adults, and it felt as if we were sidelined by comparision as we had 2 adults and 1 child. I ordered a btl. of the Belle Glos Meomi pinot which was priced in an opportunistic way @ $70 given that I buy it retail for $17. Our food was well, just ok, the filet ordinary and the swordfish portion petite at best. In addition, getting food out was a bit slow on the draw partic. since my son is diabetic and we had already given him his shot. Needless to say, there was a bit of "buyer's remorse" after leaving. This rest. might need a little better management oversight.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coanetinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Special Dinner with visiting friend in town”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We can always count on the Capital Grille.
Stoli Dolis as an adult beverage a must.
Calamari is very good and we split the wedge and the ceasar salad.
Steaks were cooked to perfection and the sides were delicious.
Note: if you have kids they do offer some other things that are not on the menu like chicken fingers.
Desserts were ok. hazelnut chocolate cake not a fav. Sure do miss the key lime pie.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler9621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Burger! Fast Service”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Good for a spur of the moment lunch when in the mood for a great burger for staying power that will take you well beyond lunch. We like to go just after the 'lunch rush' for great fast service.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing