We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not recommend it”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of On the Border - CLOSED

On the Border
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Do not recommend it”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I have been eating at on the border restaurants over the past 20 years -- mostly in Texas but also this one in Tyson's corner for 10 years or so. We went for lunch here today and were very disappointed. Food was BLAND, service was pretty poor and margaritas aweful. We jad the skinny margaritas and they had a fake sweet flavor that dominated. Must be some artificial sweet era added to the lime juice. What is the point of that? If you order a skinny margarita, you expect less sweet and more lime flavor, not fake sweet. The food was so bland-- how can nachoes with fajita steak taste bland? Somehow they managed...our fighter was happy to play on the tablet, and the guy who made gresh tortillas in the back was great with my daughter and made her an oversized one which she loved.

There are much better tex mex places to eat in the DC area-- Guapos, Austin grill and Lauriel plaza. Even cactus cantina is better.

On the border used to be good standard tex- mex fare, but has clearly sunk to mediocrity.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank han0i10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    15
    8
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“I love the chips”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This place is good overall. Me and another member of my party were really addicted to the chips, we ate three entire bowls. I went to on the border once before, in aurora, Illinois, and there was a vegetarian menu there. Here however, there wasn't. The service was VERY slow too. Took a long time to get food. They have mini tablets you can use. It's 99 cents to get all the games and stuff, the only free things was USA today (enough for me!) You could also order dessert on the tablet. At the end, everything we ordered would show up on the tablet and we would have to pay there. We had to sign with our hand in the tablet, and it asked if we wanted our receipt emailed, printed, or no receipt. we did printed, but all that came out was a bunch of black squiggly lines. Probably would come here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pick a better place. Chevys or Anita's. Or anywhere. Gupos”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

There are far better choices.
Chips are bland. Strike one

Salsa is bland strike 2

Every thing else is run of the mill which means average food at best.

Service is a bunch of teenagers who all fall short. Not exactly a trip to Mexico.

Pick a better spot. This isn't in the top 5 in nova.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
785 reviews
516 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Nicely done middle end chain restaurant”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

On The Border delivers what it promises. It's very Americanized tex-mex food, nicely put together, tasty, and well-presented. Nothing too edgy here, but you don't come here for something on the ....border. The Tysons location is pretty much the same as the others. We have found the service here to be excellent, and the food is pretty much the same at all locations. We don't come here often because we usually like a much more authentic ethnic experience. But if you want safe, good, easy tex-mex, this is the place for you. The little tablet computers on the table were new this time. It's just another way to extract money. Any real usage costs. If you have kids who will be desperate to play with it, remove it from the table. On the other hand, if you want to distract them, it might be 99 cents well spent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jxx9595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great after hours place.”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This restaurant is one of my go-to places for happy hour after work. If you want to wait out the traffic, the location is ideal and the food is good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Border also viewed

Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing