We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avg food & service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maggiano's Little Italy

Maggiano's Little Italy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Welcome to Maggiano's in Tyson's Galleria. We are located off of the Beltway near the Ritz Carlton Hotel. Our restaurant is a quick trip from the Washington Monument and Wolf Trap. Maggiano's dining room is an ideal location for your dinner, graduation, or important client meeting. Maggiano's hosts a variety of special events including a fabulous Happy Hour. Look for exciting future events including an extravagant wine dinner. So join us soon! We look forward to hosting your next business or family gathering.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Avg food & service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The food prices were very low for DC area, and they have a value section where their gimmick is to give you a second entree to take home. A good deal if you live nearby, not so much as a traveller.

The waiter was friendly and helpful, but disappeared for long stretches. We ordered glasses of house wine at happy hour pricing of $5 per the menu, but at the end were charged $10/glass because our dinner ended after happy hour was over. Our total bill ended up being almost twice what I was expecting!

I ordered baked ziti that was neither ziti nor baked. I got a bowl of rigatoni with some good sauce and cheese that had been put in the salamander long enuf to melt the cheese.

My wife said her lasagna was probably the best restaurant lasagna she ever had. I had mentioned that we were there for our granddaughter's birthday, and the waiter surprised her with a plate of lemon cookies with candles.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    123
    67
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
372 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Amazing knowledge by the staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Wow do these servers ever know the menu. Just terrific, friendly, balanced sense of humor, and the best food. Really delicious chicken parmisian and really nice, large, portions. Came with a side of pasta and marinara. The food descriptions made you want every recommendation and the made every dish sound amazing. I wish every restaurant cared this much about your personal experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoco, maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you leave hungry, it's your own fault!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Party of 8, opted for family style (chef's choice = pick from premium items). pick 3 appetizers (10 to choose from; premium = crab cakes) and/or salads (5 to choose from), 4 main course (18 pastas, 4 chicken, 7 chicken/shrimp, 4 veal/beef to choose from; premium = rustic chicken & shrimp, crab & shrimp cannelloni, linguine di mare, lobster carbonara, lobster baked tilapia, veal parmesan, veal piccata, veal marsala, beef tenderloin medallions), 2 desserts (9 to choose from). they bring your 1st wave of appetizers, then the 2nd wave, then the 3rd wave.... until you cry uncle. or they'll bring any appetizer you want 4ths or 5ths of. they pack up to-go whatever you don't finish. next is entrees, same deal. then dessert, same deal. coffee and soft drinks are free with chef's choice. the rolls will keep coming, too, just ask. for $10/pp more ($5/pp kids), we felt chef's choice was the right choice for us. if you're not as hungry, you can choose to order light (3 app/salads, 2 pastas w/ cookies for dessert) or classic (same qty as chef's choice, just no premium item option). loved the beef medallion sauce, wonderful mashed potatoes came with it. balsamic-glazed salmon came with a rice medley. linguine and clams in a slightly spicy red sauce, perhaps a little stingy on the clams, lots of garlic! didn't try gnocchi and sausage, too full! (had to save room for dessert). we had 7 bags of food/desserts to take home by the time we were all finished. great service. sorry that there are none near us in maryland.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nutbrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tysons Corner, Virginia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Italian Classic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Maggiano's used to be top place in Galleria. Crowds waiting in line inside at the bar outside in the mall. Not anymore! They have changed the menu and it does not appeal anymore. The generous portions for the whole family to share - not anymore. Ambiance is the same but the service lacks and even the crew does not smile! I don't think I will make another trip there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BirTurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCKVILLE
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Diner be warned”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

If you stick to the maggiano's salad, all will be fine. If you want bread or butter or service, you'll have to ask for it....repeatedly. After an extended wait, the main dish arrived lukewarm and all dried out. Tasted like chalk.
Note to the manager...you really shouldn't talk about your customers while they're standing there. It's rude. Don't forget without customers, you're out of a job.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PotomacGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggiano's Little Italy also viewed

Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 

Been to Maggiano's Little Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing