We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay but far from great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Tysons Corner
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Tysons Corner
Brazil
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Okay but far from great”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The positive:
The location was super convenient if you want to shop at the Tyson Corner/Center. It is also fairly close to Dulles airport (less than 30 minutes without traffic).
The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable.
The front desk staff was friendly and actually called us a few minutes after check in to ensure everything was okay with the room.



Improvement areas:
There are a lot of claims about free internet however the speed is pretty ridiculous. There is an option to pay for faster internet but if that is the case then don't advertise free internet.
The shower was really not up to standard - there was very low water pressure and not enough water.
Because this is an extended stay I had the expectation there would be an oven in the kitchen and also laundry facilities in the room. I could/should have checked this before I booked the hotel, so if you expect these items in your room this is not your place.
We stayed in a ground floor room. While it was convenient to get in an out of the room, our window faced the parking lot. You could either keep the curtain open or closed (no other privacy panels) so we had to keep the curtains closed and lights on at 10 am in the morning (not good).
There was hair on the bathroom power outlet when we came in - not pleasant.

Bottom line: We will not stay again in this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book a room on the ground floor if you like to open the curtains during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mi_Biju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    20
    16
    7
    12
See reviews for
13
10
5
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Hey, this is a good hotel to stay if you want to go(See) to DC. Very nice small hotel. All basic facilities are available. Very good staff. Cleaned hotel. Small lobby area. Good parking. Safe area.Professionally managed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very good hotel,small,friendly,home away home kind of hotel.Good family size studio with a full kitchen.Clean absolutely clean.Very good professional and friendly staff.we request the service ,House Keeper came immediately.Later Manager personally came to meet us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2014

No fancy, Value for money. Very good location.(heart of Tysons corner).I enjoyed stay in this hotel. Very good staff. Restaurants and big mall are walking distance. Bus stop in front of the hotel. Bus runs to Metro. Parking free.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I see a very big improvement in the hotel during my recent visit and hotel looks very clean.Checking was very smooth and i arrived in the morning around 10.00am and my room was ready.I will be back for my next visit.

Room Tip: Very good Location walking distance to the mall. Best rates in Tyson's Corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naveen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are very spacious and clean. Staff is very helpful (particularly manager Margaret) stayed for business tour and whenever demanded for house cleaning they simply did free. Kitchen with utensils.cost wise found cheap but didn't bother since my company was paying. Overall next time defiantly will choose to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeBird16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Tysons Corner, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff, especially Margaret. Also, I’m pleased to learn that you enjoyed our spacious suites with fully equipped kitchens at a great value. If you would like to share additional comments, please contact me directly, at tyc@extendedstay.com.

Again, thanks for the comments. We look forward to providing you with another comfortable stay the next time you’re in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The room is clean, very spacious with kitchen. All the staff members (Tonya, Karen, Lee and their manager) are friendly, flexible enough and helpful. Also, they acted very quickly and resolved it when I brought up issue with hair dryer instrument in the room. I can recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alagappan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Tysons Corner, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your clean, spacious room and your fully equipped kitchen. As well, it’s great to hear that you found our staff, especially Tonya, Karen and Lee, to be friendly and helpful. I apologize that you experienced an issue with your hair dryer; however, I am happy that we were able to resolve the issue right away. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tysons Corner hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Tysons Corner
Quality Inn Tysons Corner
#11 of 14 in Tysons Corner
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tysons Corner
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
#3 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall
Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall
#10 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tysons Corner Center
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax
Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax
#5 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Tysons Corner

Property: Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Tysons Corner
Address: 8201 Old Courthouse Rd, Tysons Corner, VA 22182-3802 (Formerly Homestead Tysons Corner)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Tysons Corner 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Tysons Corner Hotel Vienna
Extended Stay America Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing