We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, service could use some work”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nostos

Nostos
Reserve with OpenTable
Nostos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Leesburg pike
Description: .
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food, service could use some work”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We ate at Nostos with some friends on a Saturday night. It was our first time and our friends second time. The taste of the food was spectacular. We all got different dishes and they all tasted great. I ordered the Mousakka and it cam out so hot (temperature) that by the time I was able to eat it the rest of the table was almost done with their meal. However, it was worth the wait. My husband got a lamb dish which he said tasted great but the portion was a bit small and left him hungry afterwards. My husband isn't a big man nor does he eat huge portions so for him to say that their wasn't enough food means their wasn't enough food.

The waiter was friendly. When we first arrived he was very attentive but when we told him we needed a few more minutes to review the menu it was definitely more than a few minutes and we had to track him down to order. Also, the bus people could use some better training. Twice they tried to take my friends plate away before she was done and without asking. When they went to clear the table, they actually put my dirty dish on top of my friends dish in front of her to stack them before removing them. This does not seem to be the proper etiquette for a restaurant like this.

While it seems like I have mostly complained, this really was a nice place and the food was delicious. We will definitely give it another try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    94
    17
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Didn't try the main meats but everything else excellent”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We got salads, soup (chicken with rice), and cheese (with wine of course haha) The food was great authentic Greek and worth the price we paid. The place is nice but small so a little noisy. The waiters are very nice but careful because the bus boys want to take your plate as soon as possible even before your done (I think because it's small and they are trying to turn tables but that was the only thing we didn't like) all the rest loved it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank aymami21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great lunch experience -- Excellent Menu”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Mediterranean salad with salmon filet and with lamb were superb. Good table in the middle room was great for a business conversation. Nice ambience in a crowded scene. Waiter was attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. Owner greeted us when we arrived.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
172 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“First timer”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Browsing trip advisor when came across nostos! Called and made reservations for that night. There was no problem getting in that night but with the size I would suggest. We were surprised to see a more formal establishment than I had imagined. White table cloth and a rose on the table. The are a few high tops in he bar area so we took one of those.

The service was prompt and not bothersome. We split a traditional Greek salad that was vegetables and no lettuce, Dip of roasted egg plant with pita bread and grape leaves. All were excellent. Wish I had more of an appetite going in. The rest of he food going by looked great.

Helpful?
Thank Lxrxaxcx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Greek meatballs!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Nostos is a very popular Greek estaurant. It's also a very NOISY restaurant. So if you go, best to sit at a table in the bar area rather than in the one of the dining rooms. DO NOT order the Greek meatballs (one of the small plates) unless you want plain old approx. 3 oz. each hamburgers. Not even shaped like a meatball. Seemed to have no special seasoning. Tziki on the side was the best part!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank singletraveler22043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nostos also viewed

Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 

Been to Nostos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing