We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Clean and Very Accommodating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Tysons Corner
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Clean and Very Accommodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed here on business, and my stay was fantastic. The room was extremely clean, not too cold, and not too warm.

During my stay, my toe was broken and the hotel staff helped me with some first aid supplies for free. They were all very kind and none of it felt forced. It never felt fake. Everyone was just genuinely nice.

If I come back to Tysons Corner, you can bet that I'll be back at the Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brandon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    150
    100
    33
    23
See reviews for
76
65
51
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

The Crowne Plaza is a decent value if you take advantage of the common weekend Hotwire rate of $70 to $80 per night, otherwise, there are much better choices nearby.

It is clean, though certain aspects of the property are showing their age.

One is greeted by a thick veil of cigarette smoke just outside every hotel entrance. If you are a smoker, you have found your Valhalla.

The front desk personnel are well-meaning but could use some training in discretion. While reading in the lobby we heard one asking (at loud volume) some very personal questions of guests checking in: "So, what brings you to Tysons Corner? Business? Pleasure? Family? Huh? Huh? Huh?"

To some (Americans, perhaps?), such questions are just friendly talk, but to us it sounded obnoxious and it made the hotel quest visibly uncomfortable. If asked the same questions we would have answered, "Sex. All ways, and in every way. And all weekend."

There were a group of travelling Brits who monopolized the outdoor seating, smoking, drinking, talking (loudly), drinking, drinking, and, of course, feasting on can after can of Pringles until the wee small hours each and every night of our stay. Pity their imagination didn't lead them any further than the hotel grounds during their "trip to Washington". The womenfolk were sunbathing much of the remainder of their stay. We managed to intentionally blur our vision (with icepicks) when in their tanning area.

If one is physically fit and has good reflexes, one can sprint Frogger-like accross any one of the three-lane highways that surround the property. Just across those highways are two excellent shopping destinations, with some great restaurants, all very likely superior to the hotel's offerings. (Strong recommendation: Neisha Thai--simply amazing.)

The indoor pool is nice, but doesn't open until 1700 on weekdays. (But one can drink!)

In summary, if one's room is facing the "infield", one will very likely be awakened several times during the night by the hoots and hollers of drunks (if not by the sound of the very loud air conditioner system blowing cold air in a torrent just a few feet away from the bed). Excellent shopping is nearby, and don't miss Neisha Thai. This hotel can be an excellent value if booked using Hotwire on Fri-Sat-Sun. Otherwise, our advice is to avoid, for now.

Room Tip: Do not accept a ground-level room or one with a window that faces the grassy "infield". Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlearyEyedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNationalAirport, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear “BlearyEyedTraveller”;
Thank you for taking the time to write a very specific review of your most recent stay. We pride ourselves in ensuring that guests have a great experience and I was disappointed to read that you did not. All guest comments are reviewed with our team members so that we can improve. Your positive rating regarding cleanliness and location is certainly appreciated.

Sincerely,
Sean A. Nunan
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Everything was great. I'm from Baltimore area and had to stay in DC for one night. Overall, all employees are very welcoming and helpful. The hotel room was extremely clean.
I would stay there again if needed. Price is right and is convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank odavidov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed 1 week at the Crowne Plaza Tyson's Corner. The hotel is a bit older, but not "old". The room was clean and bed and shower were clean and good. O'Malley's is the Irish Bar in the hotel. It was full every night we visited. The staff was excellent both in the bar and hotel. It is very conveniently located near shopping at Tyson's Corner and lots of top notch restaurants and bars. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FriscoResident1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

I've stayed in many hotels in the DC area and most other hotels paled in comparison. This hotel went above and beyond to ensure my stay was nothing short of perfect. The staff at the hotel was consistently professional and was always eager to assist in any way they could. The outside patio area was beautiful and was a great way to relax during the day. The pub located in the hotel had great food and welcoming staff that kept me coming back for more. I can honestly say I will always stay at Crowne Plaza during my trips to Tysons Corner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

My fiancee and I stayed at this hotel before he went to Marine Corps Officer Candidate School. We were very relaxed and loved our stay at the Crowne Plaza. This staff was extremely welcoming and gave us everything we asked for. We loved our room and especially enjoyed the outside area and banquet rooms. Both the pub and hotel restaurant had good food and service. Overall, we will ALWAYS stay at the Crowne Plaza whenever we return to Tysons Corner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Very comfortable stay with excellent service - quick and friendly and professional.And the most reliable internet connection I've had at a hotel in Va. The hotel was close to both malls , very accessible location, lots of shops and restaurants around. Best breakfast value at any Tyson's hotel ,kudos to the entire Hotel Management team for such a well run yet very friendly team of employees who actually show care and concern for their guests. Amber, Qaisar and their Manager Berat were very friendly , we had free champagne service at the check in time, we 'd stay here again during another trip to Va.

Room Tip: Nice at the price, free coffee in the mornings.
See more room tips
Green Features: Nice and clean lobby, nice patio, very friendly employees, ask for higher floor rooms with the fridge.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tysons Corner hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax
Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax
#4 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
#2 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tysons Corner Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tysons Corner
0.6 mi away
Tysons Corner Marriott
Tysons Corner Marriott
#5 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Tysons Hotel
Sheraton Tysons Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner

Property: Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner
Address: 1960 Chain Bridge Rd, Tysons Corner, VA 22102-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tysons Corner
#5 Family Hotel in Tysons Corner
#8 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner hotel is your ideal choice for hotel accommodations in McLean, Virginia. Located within minutes of 2 world-class shopping centers and many Tysons Corer businesses, our hotel is the perfect spot for business and leisure travelers. The Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner hotel also allows quick access to I-495 Capital Beltway, Rt. 66, Dulles International Airport, Reagan National Airport and Washington DC. We are the closest hotel to the Tysons Corner metro station on the Silver Line and offer complimentary shuttle service to the SpringHill Metro and attractions within 1 mile of the hotel. Take advantage of the many great amenities at the Crowne Plaza Tysosns Corner such as Free Wifi, 24 Hour Fitness Center, and 24 Hour Business Center. This Tysons Corner hotel also offers 2 on-site restaurants and 5,000 square feet of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner Hotel Mclean
Crowne Plaza Mclean
Crowne Plaza Hotel Mclean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing