We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ok stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Tysons Corner
GreenLeadersGold level
uk
Level Contributor
287 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Ok stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Arrived 20 feb.... Allocated room 344. Clean and tidy room. Ordered room service. Hot chicken wings and salad $21. This includes a compulsory 21% service charfe.Food was ok, though the wings were a bit overcooked .. Tasty non the less. The hotel 3rd floor was very quiet. It's a pity that the " we keep this floor as quiet as possible " sign was gone since my past visit. Bed was very comfortable. Despite it being very cold outside , the room heating worked perfectly. There is plenty of free car parking if you have a car. Overall a good stay

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianbeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTysonsCorner, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear ianbeale,

Thank you for writing a 4-star review on your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to hear that you treated yourself to room service. Recently we have moved our “Quiet Zone” from the 3rd floor low–rise to the 7th and 8th floors of our high-rise. We encourage you to ask for those floors on your next stay with us.

Yours in hospitality,
Trish Drews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    150
    100
    33
    23
See reviews for
76
65
51
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
177 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I rather enjoy this hotel as per last years review but I must admit I have noticed this place is getting tired.

Little touches throughout the hotel seem to be lacking and I feel management may be cutting back. For example a number of items I wished to order from the room service menu where "no longer available" despite being present on the menu. Also lacking was the little package by the bed with pillow sprays. I also noticed that the building was rather dusty throughout the corridors and rooms so perhaps a cutback in cleaning staff?

Hopefully my next visit will show am improvement however I still found my stay to be comfortable and pleasant.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Irishstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTysonsCorner, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear “Irishstandards”

Thank you very much for your review of your latest stay at our hotel. We do take all guest reviews seriously and work to ensure we improve for future visits. I pride myself on the “little touches” throughout the hotel and was distressed to hear that we have been lacking in cleanliness and we were out of room service items. I will certainly review this with my Executive Housekeeper and Food and Beverage Manager. We have changed our sleep amenity package which includes a smaller spray than previous. If you did not receive this amenity, I apologize. Recently, we installed new corridor carpet and wall vinyl and during the summer months, we are planning a lobby refresh. I look forward to you enjoying a return stay.

Sincerely,
Trish Drews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Alabama
Level Contributor
188 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I personally thought this was a great hotel. The front desk personnel were extremely helpful and extremely nice. The room I was in was super clean and all the amenities looked new. This hotel offers an indoor swimming pool, gym and a shuttle. The only downside to the shuttle is they only offer it to people needing to travel within a 1 mile radius of the hotel. The hotel also offers a pub/restaurant which offers excellent food and libations. For breakfast they offer a breakfast bar which is really good. The price is around $16 per person but compared to some other hotels this is a good price. If we return to the McLean, Va. area any time soon I will definitely be staying here again.

Another great note is my plane arrived early into D.C. and arrived at the hotel around 9:45am and they had a room ready for me which was fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Overall the rooms are nice. I have stayed here twice, the first time the front desk upon departure was challenging because the young guy checking out was condescending and shouldn't be in customer service. The hotel bar Omalleys is ok. The food could use a refresh but it is suitable. Good price for location and clean rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim2968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear jim2968,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient and for the nice comment regarding cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service and breakfast selection. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

O'Malley's Pub made my trip completely worthwhile. Being in a very prestigious location, the bar is nowhere near pretentious. O'Malley's is very welcoming and clients from other hotels frequent the location because of the atmosphere. The food has typical bar food, but has many extra selections that will satisfy you palette. Exceptional service is guaranteed from the extremely attentive bartenders Vince and Saba.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QNH95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

On the surface, this Crowne Plaza hotel held promise of a comfortable and pleasant stay. In all fairness, if it had not been for the two MAJOR mishaps and the manager's utter inability to offer anything in return, the stay would have been lovely.

The first incident occurred when I was not in the room and my husband was getting ready for a party. Upon plugging in the iron, he was greeted with electrical sparks, smoking, and a small fire that burned straight through the cord to the iron. This severed the cord and left the plug to the iron stuck right in the wall. Wisely, he refused to touch the outlet again. But when he called to complain and order a new iron, he was not offered a different room and received no apology. In fact, when I complainned upon checkout, the manager had no knowledge that the incident had occurred at all. While a near electrical fire is something we could deal with since no on got hurt, the next mishap really takes the cake.

We were greeted in the morning by an unwelcome visitor in our bed. Thank goodness it was on my husband's side, but when he rose and pulled back the sheets, we were shocked to see that he had been sleeping on a cockroach all night...nude. eeeeeeeeewwwwwww. I actually got sick as soon as I saw its smushed carcass. Made for a rather unpleasant morning and a rush to evacuate the room.

Now, I'm not typically one to complain unless it is warranted, but when I feel as though I didn't get the benefit of what I paid for due to incidents such as these, I feel that I should be reimbursed somehow. I remained pleasant and talked to the manager on duty, who when I asked what he could do for me, merely gave me his business card and said to call him next time wee return to his hotel and he would see what kind of 'rate' he could get us. Pointless. My husband and I live in Tennessee and will never want to be returning to the Tyson's Corner Crowne Plaza after that. A more effective offer would have been some voucher or discount usable at any Crowne Plaza, but he was unwilling or able to offer such. In short, I paid for a pretty unpleasant hotel stay. And that's that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosiee0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Rosiee0916,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

it was my first stay here but was treated like a regular. Everyone I encountered on the staff was courteous & well informed. Two individuals stood out, Theresa from housekeeping & the gentleman that drives the shuttle in the daytime. They made me feel welcome and really enhanced my experience.

Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bharbirah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tysons Corner hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax
Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax
#4 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
#2 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tysons Corner Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tysons Corner
0.6 mi away
Tysons Corner Marriott
Tysons Corner Marriott
#5 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Tysons Hotel
Sheraton Tysons Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner

Property: Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner
Address: 1960 Chain Bridge Rd, Tysons Corner, VA 22102-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tysons Corner
#5 Family Hotel in Tysons Corner
#8 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner hotel is your ideal choice for hotel accommodations in McLean, Virginia. Located within minutes of 2 world-class shopping centers and many Tysons Corer businesses, our hotel is the perfect spot for business and leisure travelers. The Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner hotel also allows quick access to I-495 Capital Beltway, Rt. 66, Dulles International Airport, Reagan National Airport and Washington DC. We are the closest hotel to the Tysons Corner metro station on the Silver Line and offer complimentary shuttle service to the SpringHill Metro and attractions within 1 mile of the hotel. Take advantage of the many great amenities at the Crowne Plaza Tysosns Corner such as Free Wifi, 24 Hour Fitness Center, and 24 Hour Business Center. This Tysons Corner hotel also offers 2 on-site restaurants and 5,000 square feet of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner Hotel Mclean
Crowne Plaza Mclean
Crowne Plaza Hotel Mclean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing