We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel, excellent service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Tysons Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great hotel, excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed in a King Studio for one week on business. Location was convenient to Mitre building in McLean and right off of 495. It was a short drive to Tysons Corner Mall. I was on the 6th floor and had no problem with noise. The room was a good size but had a very small closet and no luggage stand. Plenty of chairs in the room so I used one of those. The flat screen swiveled between the sleeping area and the living area. No complaints sleeping and the shower had great water pressure. The kitchen was a great amenity and I used the full-sized refrigerator and microwave often. I grabbed a few groceries on Monday and between the hotel breakfasts and dinners and the room kitchen, I didn't have to step foot outside for any meals unless I chose to. It was a great convenience. The breakfast was good and typical of RIs but the dinner was better than I've seen. Even the nights I didn't enjoy the dinner meal, there was always salad available. Loved their service in the dining area, both morning and night.

Fitness room at the hotel is very small- 2 bikes and 2 treadmills. I utilized the bikes one morning and there is a TV, radio, towels and water in the room. The best part, however, is they offer passes to Tysons Sport & Health, about a 5 minute drive away. Sport & Health is a full fitness center with the works. I attended one of the classes and was definitely impressed by the crowd and quality of the workout. Warning- it was a little difficult to find since it sits on the other side of the parking garage, but I called once I was turned around and received assistance. There is a $1 charge for parking one you get your parking ticket validated. The hotel front desk has limited passes and they have to be returned after use so plan accordingly. I went downstairs thinking I could grab a pass and go but ended up waiting an hour for another guest to return one of the passes.

Overall this hotel has great amenities for business travel. The money saved on the meals and the evening socials is a great bonus. I'm not a drinker, but the wine and beer were a hit every night. Service was great by ALL, which is rare. The hotel and room itself are nothing spectacular, but are in great shape and nothing to complain about. The amenities and service earn this hotel the 5th "star." I would definitely stay again if in this area.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms right beside the stairs or elevator if the noise will bother you. I heard it a few door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, General Manager at Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to your next stay! We have also upgraded our Fitness Center to include a free weights, work-out bench and an eliptical for your to enjoy during your next visit. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    65
    28
    9
    7
See reviews for
42
21
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Not every Residence Inn has free wine and beer at the Monday through Thursday Manager's Reception, but this one does! I'm staying two weeks and can't wait for the rest of the trpi! My room is a little bit smaller than the other Residence Inns I'm used to, but it still has the same look and feel as other Residence Inns throughout Virginia, and it offers more than ample space. Plus the traditional popcorn is availalble on demand! Thanks Residence Inn for making this business trip more than bearable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, General Manager at Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your great review! I'm glad you have been able to join us for the Evening Social hour and enjoy the complimentary beer and wine. Please let us know if there is anything more that we can do to make your stay more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here for a few days while on business. The hotel is clean and offers a great breakfast. Also, in the evenings Mon-Thur, a social hour is held for two hours. I found it nice to come home after work and find a hot meal and a beer waiting. The staff is extremely courteous. The general manager worked with me on multiple occassions after I departed to provide me a proper receipt for my expense report. My room was always kept clean by the staff and the kitchenette had all the utensils a kitchen should have. I always stay at Residence Inn's and I'll be sure to stay at this one should I have business here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, General Manager at Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review Jason! It was a pleasure having you as our guests and I'm very happy to hear that our staff was able to make your stay enjoyable! We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I love staying in this hotel. It is very convenient to everything in Tysons, but it is a bit away from the hustle and bustle of the busy streets. The hotel is clean and quiet and well kept up, although is is not new anymore. My room was on the 6th floor as I always request a high floor. Everything was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very complete with hot and cold choices. Having a car is best although it is very close to the center of Tysons and either a shuttle bus or taxi would work easily. Once the Metro stop is completed it will be great. The staff at the front desk were extremely pleasant and helpful. I also felt safe traveling as a single female.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lvtoske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, General Manager at Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
What kind words! Thank you for letting us know of your enjoyment while staying with us and it makes the entire team happy to know that they all played a role in your satisfaction. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I chose this Marriott for location convenience. It was in the area where I had to do go on business.This is an older bldg which I wasn't too excited about but it was clean and quiet. There is nothing within walking distance that caught my attention as far as resturaunts so I drove over to the Tysons Galleria area to eat. BTW, don't do curbside Cheesecake Factory unless you thoroughly check your food for both freshness and accuracy because I was not satisfied. This has happened to me twice but now I know to either dine in or check thoroughly. The traffic was really heavy so it took awhile to drive a short distance. The customer service at the hotel was pretty decent. Overall, it just needs updating. It depends on what you're doing in the area but since I've gotten a bit spoiled to a certain standard with certain Marriots, Hiltons and Four Seasons, I probably would not personally stay here again. I think I'll try the Hilton Garden Inn down the street to see how that goes. I'll check their reviews first:-)

Room Tip: I've only tried this particular location once so I have no other rooms to compare mine too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, General Manager at Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
How nice to hear that our team was able to make your stay comfortble and enjoyable! Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Staff are outstanding. The staff go out of their way in greeting folks, answering questions, and providing services such as the meals (breakfast and dinner). One could not ask for better staff.

The hotel is very accomodating, clean, spacious, and good location for easy local and freeway access.

It has been truly helpful on Friday mornings to see the breakfast bar area open before 6:30 am as many of us have early flights and this gives us an opportunity to grab a bite as we rush off to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Art L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, General Manager at Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
It is very kind of you to write such nice things about the property and staff! We strive to make every stay memorable so it gives us great delight that you were extremely satisfied with your visit. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great Hotel, Great Location. Beautiful, clean, comfortable, appointed suite. I loved it & would definitely stay again. I stayed for my 30th Birthday & totally enjoyed the entire trip. The room had everything a traveler could ask for. Comfortable bed, sofa. Spotless kitchen w/Full refrigerator, microwave & stovetop. Beautiful bathroom w/separate vanity. Breakfast was delicious. I ate every morning. Tysons Corner mall is one stop light away and the hotel is not too far from other shopping centers as well as Reston Town Center & Leesburg Premium Outlets. Will definitely stay again. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, General Manager at Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Wow! It's wonderful to know that you had such a memorable time with us and I'm happy that you were extremely satisfied with your stay. We are looking forward to your return visit. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tysons Corner
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Tysons Corner
Residence Inn Tysons Corner
#9 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
#4 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tysons Corner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Tysons Corner
Extended Stay America - Washingt...
#12 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tysons Corner Center
0.7 mi away
Tysons Corner Marriott
Tysons Corner Marriott
#6 of 14 in Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall

Property: Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall
Address: 8400 Old Courthouse Rd, Tysons Corner, VA 22182-3810
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott® Tysons Corner Mall hotel is ideally located in Northern Virginia's fastest growing corporate market. Both Reagan National and Dulles International airports are easily accessible. The Dunn Loring METRO station is just minutes from the hotel, giving easy access to Washington DC & its many attractions and government offices. Our beautiful Tysons Corner hotel boasts comfortable spacious suites offering a fully equipped kitchen; plenty of space to relax; and a space to set up an office while you're on the road. Guests are minutes from Kennedy Center, Smithsonian, Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon, the Pentagon and Washington National Cathedral. Shopping near the Residence Inn Tysons Corner includes Tysons Corner Shopping Center and Tysons Galleria. The hotel offers guests a complimentary dinner which is served Mon-Thurs with beer/wine and a complimentary full hot breakfast buffet is served daily. We are waiting for you at the Residence Inn by Marriott® Tysons Corner Mall hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall Hotel Vienna
Residence Inn Vienna
Vienna Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing