We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to its reputation”
Review of Diya Restaurant - CLOSED

Diya Restaurant
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Old Corthouse Road
Transit: Dunn Loring
Description: Diya Tysons captures the same exuberance of a traditional South Asian celebration and offers connoisseurs a culinary mosaic of Indian flavors. The vibrant ambiance provides an authentic dining experience coupled with the warmth of Indian hospitality. With a comfortable seating capacity to accommodate 400 guests, Diya is a delightful venue for all who enjoy traditional and flavorful Indian fare outside of their kitchens.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not up to its reputation”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I'd been told this was a great place, #1 for Indian food according to Indians, so my expectations were high and I left disappointed. The highly recommended lunch buffet had a good selection, especially of vegetarian dishes, but I found the food rather bland and -- a bigger fault -- not well heated. For me, butter chicken is supposed to melt in your mouth in a texture of spicy ginger, chili powder, red pepper and garam masala but this had not much taste and was barely warm. Worse, the pieces of chicken were tough, maybe overcooked maybe left over. I'll concede I might need more spicy Americanized flavors to make the food zing! but I'm also pretty sure than nobody wants to eat cold chicken in a think paste.
Service was excellent -- although nobody ever asked for a drink order and a Kingfisher beer might have made me a happier customer -- and the dining room is clean and attractive. Background music was a combination of Indian/TechnoPop that was pleasing.
Not sure what my friends found in this brunch that made them give the "best of Va." recommendation. It was OK, but not that special.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCsunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worst Indian Buffet”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I had the worst Indian Buffet ever. The food was totally bland. Only two items in buffet were good -moong daal halwa (lentil dessert) and jal jeera (spicy cumin water) which is given with gol gappas(water balls). It was a total waste of money.
The service was good though and they served hot breads on the table.
I will not recommend to anyone based on my experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coolindva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
303 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Well balanced!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Considering the convenient location at Tysons, ambience, food quality and price, Diya offers a well balanced choice. On a summer Saturday, there seemed to be a large clientele milling in throughout the evening. They have a variety of items to choose from their menu, mostly North Indian, and cooking is quite good. Although slightly more pricey than some of the bargain places, the food did not disappoint me on two occasions we visited the place, once for a graduation party and the other for a quiet family dinner. The service was relatively prompt considering the large weekend crowd. They do take reservations, and it may be a smart idea to call them ahead.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank csserious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comers Rock Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect end to a perfect day...”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I visited Diya as part of a school group on a trip to DC. Many of our group had never been exposed to Indian food, but being a fairly adventurous lot, it didn't take much to convince them to try something they normally wouldn't. When the meal came, I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food. Everything from the naan to the lamb vindaloo, to the pistachio ice cream with rosewater and rice noodles was phenomenal. The service was equally exquisite. I would highly recommend if you are in the Vienna area, make time to stop in. Just don't let the office block exterior fool you...It IS a restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Earl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
451 reviews
358 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Was taken here by a work colleague and was a little concerned on trying to find where it was - it seemed like it was in an office complex.

Anyway - concerns were not valid - this was a very nice Indian restaurant and having tried many in the Dulles Corridor, this was definitely the best so far.

More authentic than most, this one had a nice selection of different cuisines, but still was a little american in the amount of spices applied so if you like it hot, you need to ask for it.

We had a selection of different foods among the group and all of it was great - even the bones!

So - a new restaurant for my list of the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thefrequenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diya Restaurant also viewed

Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing