We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
Destinia.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveler rating
19
2
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
19
2
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whole foods resident parking fully furnished apartment mid march full kitchen thoroughly enjoyed our stay the check in process floor to ceiling windows excellent stay condo bedroom laundry sheets tyson metro sleep
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 22 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2020

I stayed at WhyHotel Tysons when I was stranded in northern Virginia from mid-March to end June due to the pandemic. The apartment hotel was an excellent second home -- quality apartments and provisions, convenient shopping and a couple of takeaway places open and a wonderful Paris Baguette bakery a block away. Topmost -- the staff at WhyHotel were super friendly, super attentive, and flexible given several changes to my stay due to continued pandemic shut down. I felt very well taken care of. And the building security and hygiene made for great comfort at a time when COVID worries made one wary of any shared spaces. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: March 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziwaniboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent Pipher, Owner at WhyHotel Tysons Corner Greensboro Dr, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2020

Hi Ziwaniboy, it was a pleasure hosting you during such a challenging time and thank you for the raving review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2020

Our first time staying at WhyHotel and it was truly the best experience. My family stayed here long term during the pandemic and our experience could not have been any better. The location is great, grocery store few steps away and out door area for a nice walk. The fully furnished apartment had everything we needed to feel like home for a few months. The management was always accommodating no matter what the request. I highly recommend WhyHotel for short or long term stays.

Date of stay: April 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mestasjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent Pipher, Owner at WhyHotel Tysons Corner Greensboro Dr, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2020

Hi mestasjim, thank you for taking the time to complete a 5 Star Stellar review! Hope you and the family are doing well and staying safe. If you ever need anything do not hesitate to reach out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2020 via mobile

This is our first time booking WhyHotel. We arrived mid-March expecting a 2-week stay. For the price, the amenities, space and location have exceeded our expectations. Now forced by the pandemic to shelter in place for at least a month, the staff and management have gone above and beyond. They are responsive, attentive and committed to CDC protocols. Most of all, we are comfortable and feel as safe as is possible, given the known and unknown risks. We applaud the young people - administrative staff and housekeeping team - who continue to provide service during this traumatic time.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled on business
2  Thank criticalinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent P, General Manager at WhyHotel Tysons Corner Greensboro Dr, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2020

Hi criticalinva,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff. We are very glad to know you were pleased with your overall stay. We look forward to hosting your stay once again and continuing to meet your expectations. Please feel free to contact me directly and it will be my pleasure to assist you if you have any questions or concerns.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2020

Like others have written, this place is a fully furnished apartment condo masquerading as a comparatively cheap hotel. I've had acquaintances book nights here instead of the Marriott nearby for business trips since it was both cheaper and larger.

Pros:
Kitchens are fully stocked with pots, pans, utensils, cups, bowls, plates, and knives - basically anything you'd expect in your own kitchen. There are even measuring spoons/cups! The hotel also provides one load of free detergent/dryer softener sheets for the in-unit laundry. TV is attached to a Google Chromecast so it was easy for us to stream Netflix, Twitch, or YouTube. We stayed in a 1BR/1BA, but the sofa is a pull out bed.

The gym for residents is on the 27th floor and is pretty comprehensive for an apartment/condo building. Everything seemed sparkling new.

Ground floor has restaurants, spas, and probably the nicest Whole Foods I've ever seen. The Whole Foods has cheap beer offerings at their bar, and restaurants/bakeries/coffee shops decorating the entrance.

Cons:
Not an issue for me and mentioned in other reviews, but the blinds filter out about 5% of the light coming in from the floor to ceiling windows. I didn't need to ask the front desk for an eye mask as I use one on a daily basis anyway, but it is an option. We had some issues locking the door behind us even after asking (briefly) for help, but that may have been our faults.

Other things of interest:
I live in the area but wanted a close getaway for a weekend. This place is a 5-10 min walk from the Greensboro metro, which is on the silver line and goes into Arlington/DC. There is also an Enterprise car rental store about a five min walk away too.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank jualic105
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent P, General Manager at WhyHotel Tysons Corner Greensboro Dr, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2020

Hi 833alicej,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff. We are very glad to know you were pleased with your overall stay. We look forward to hosting your stay once again and continuing to meet your expectations. Please feel free to contact me directly and it will be my pleasure to assist you if you have any questions or concerns.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020

Imagine a world where there is a new building with a large inventory of unsold condo units and a company like WhyHotel that helps them out by running those rooms like available hotel rooms. You also want to save a couple of bucks and get a room that is more like a suite or condo. Win, Win, Win for all three parties.

I have two things to look out for with this particular property: 1) If you are in any way light sensitive ask if the shades in the room you are reserving have true blackout shades or not. You can see even from their sample photos that the default privacy shades really don't cut that much light out (they are designed to be able to still see through). I was on the 23rd floor and could actually read a book in bed with the lights out and shades pulled shut due to the light pollution from the surrounding neighborhood. They say they'll be changing this in the future as they install true blackout shades. 2) If you want a two bedroom unit, clarify if it is a true two bedroom situation or not. They also have one bedroom units where they have converted the den to a "bedroom" by putting a sliding barn door in front of the opening (which provides little privacy with the gaps around the door and no way to lock it).

When we pointed out these issues they were quick to respond and resolve (providing free eye masks as they schedule blackout blinds to be ordered and installed).

Room tip: Ask if room comes with real blackout shades vs simple privacy shades
Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarkMaxPayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc E, General Manager at WhyHotel Tysons Corner Greensboro Dr, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2020

I'm very sorry to hear about your experience with the shades. Unfortunately, we aren't able to control or replace the items that have been installed in the unit and we've taken steps necessary to make those extremely sensitive to light as comfortable as possible by offering complimentary sleeping masks. Upon your return, please feel free to ask for them upon check-in and we'll be happy to hook you up.

For a true bedroom, a guest would have to book a 2bd/2ba or a 3bd/2ba. Our 2bd/1ba units convert a den to a room and share a restroom for the two rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews