We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hard to figure out how to get in!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Cookin'

Country Cookin'
Ranked #5 of 17 Restaurants in Troutville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pine Bush, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Hard to figure out how to get in!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Could see the sign from the highway but all the entrance signs were unlit. Drove around in circles trying to figure out how to get to the place!!! Trusted the Trip Advisor reviews and they were spot on. Nice hot and cold salad bar...not the Golden Corral variety but enough comfort food for a weary traveler.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Old2DieYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie C, Public Relations Manager at Country Cookin', responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your visit and taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. We value guest feedback, both positive and negative.

We apologize for your difficulty finding your way into our parking lot. The sign with an arrow indicating the entrance road is usually lit at night. We are sorry that it was malfunctioning the night you visited, but we do appreciate you sticking it out to figure out where the turn was and are delighted that you enjoyed your meal.

We hope too see you again soon! Thanks for your review!

Angie Covington
Marketing Director, Country Cookin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    27
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Was in the area and need a place for breakfast. Country Cookin' filled the bill with a nice breakfast buffet. All the standards were available and were fresh. There was someone making omelettes to order as well as a station where you could make your own waffles.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MusiclKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
534 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Good solid food at reasonble prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and dropped in about 1 pm on a Sunday for lunch. We have not eaten in a Country Cookin restaurant for nearly 20 years, so we were kind of testing the waters.

We were quickly seated and given a menu. The menu features a variety of main courses ranging in price from $7 - $15. After selecting you main course, you are invited to gorge on their salad/vegetable/dessert bar. Our total tab came to $23 including tax.

Other than ordering you main dish, it's basically self service. The restaurant was clean, there were plenty of items to select from from the salad/vegetable bar. We could have made a meal of it alone.

The basic style of the restaurant has not changed in 20 years, but we were pleasantly surprised with the large offerings of food, cleanliness, and attention of the staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
128 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“great food for a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had supper here on a Saturday evening. Busy, but not too crowded. Most food is served buffet style, so you can pick and try any of MANY foods (too many to try). I had chopped sirloin at $8.49, with an unlimited soup, salad, and desert bar. Delicious choices. Yes, I am so full. This was an excellent restaurant for us, on our trip through Virginia. I wish this restaurant was duplicated all over the U.S.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bobfox98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

For one price you got a regular meal with hot bar/salad bar. The food was served quickly and it was very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank atmguy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Cookin' also viewed

 

Been to Country Cookin'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing