We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Unexpectedly Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwood Restaurant

Greenwood Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 17 Restaurants in Troutville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
192 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We were driving up 81 towards Washington and thought we couldn't take another Denny's or similar. All we wanted was a decent place to sit and get a home-cooked meal.We found the Greenwood Restaurant by accident. Happily, it had a good number of people there at 2 p.m., and more kept arriving. To me, one mark of a decent restaurant is if they can cook a burger to order, and they did; mine was thick, truly medium rare, and piled with cheese, bacon, lettuce and tomato. My fries were crispy instead of soggy. All in all, this is a good place to stop.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KenCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Home-style cooking with great taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I just discovered this restaurant and have been there twice this week! We had breakfast on our first visit and lunch with friends on our second visit. When I go out to breakfast, I want sausage gravy and biscuits and Greenwood is the best I've found lately in our area. There was plenty of sausage in the gravy which looked like it had started with a properly made roux (as opposed to the basic white flour paste-like substance some restaurants serve). The home fries I must say were a bit greasy and limp for my taste. My husband had eggs, hashbrowns, toast and bacon. The hashbrowns were better than the home fries. The day we had lunch there, all 4 of us had completely different items. The mac & cheese was wonderful as were the cornbread biscuits. Everyone enjoyed their choices. We also indulged in desserts which are daily at the restaurant. Lemon cake, apple pie, pumpkin pie, peach cobbler - we tried them all and were very happy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ReikiForAllBeings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Country Ham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

They really know how to soak the ham and get the salt level down to an acceptable level. I just went for Breakfast obviously, but would go for any other meal here. Favorite of the locals whom I visit in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TomWhitePelham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunssum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Off the interstate, but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were driving north on I-81 and needed something to eat. Jumped off at exit 156 and stopped at the place close to the exit. Didn't like what we saw and followed the signs down to Rt 11 (about 2 miles) to The Greenwood Restaurant. Thank goodness we did. Great little place, full of locals coming for lunch after Sunday service. Old fashion southern menu (you can still get a large (4 choices) or regular (3 choices) vegetable platter. Food was obviously homemade and tasted great. However, don't expect it to shown up immediately. They have to cook it, so you will be waiting a bit. Desserts were even better. Highly recommended

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J&L_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Counrty Food and reasonable prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

It has been a while since we visited Greenwood Rest., so we took our Daughter, Son-in-law and grandkids for dinner. Good down home food is their specialty. The Kids menu is good and has good variety.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank reolha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Greenwood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing