We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Troutville
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Usually don't review chains but had lunch there today and it was good. The server was exceptional. Joe has worked there for about three months but it's as if he's been there for years. Offered specials, refills and took great care of us and a two year old. We don't go often but usually not disappointed when we do, today was no exception.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheFamilyof R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    62
    27
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Wildwood
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HOME COOKED MEAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It's nice to stop in and eat when you are away from home and feel like you are at your mother's home.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank PaulYoung4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidalia, La
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This was close to my motel. Walked from the motel to this restaraunt. The waitress was friendly and the food was good.
Paying out was slow. That is the reason for only 4 circles. It was two registers being used. And then the gentlemen shut down the one he was on and went to the third register and starting playing around with it while customers were still trying to pay their bill. I was next in line to pay out and he finally told me he could check me out. I told him I would just stay where I was. Hope he got the point that he should have waited about going to ther other register while people were trying to pay their bill..

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skamper73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We ate here twice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Go on a midweek evening. When we went back the second time, it was Saturday night and they were jammed. Our order was delivered wrong twice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank eslbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joppa, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for a large group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Twice I have stopped at this restaurant with a group of 56 or more. They were very accomodating, and seated us without a long wait. The food was great, and again served in an reasonable time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wgpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing