We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Good and The So-So” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Roanoke - Troutville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Roof Inn Roanoke - Troutville
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Troutville
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Good and The So-So”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Check-in was quick and the desk clerk was very friendly. We never saw any evidence of stink bugs and the room was clean. One observation from my husband was that there were no pictures on the walls...room was somewhat spartan. Breakfast was nice but my husband had to remind the desk clerk twice that the machine was out of orange juice. She must have been having a "bad" day because she wasn't at all personable as our clerk had been upon arrival. But, all in all, we would stay there again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    77
    37
    18
    29
See reviews for
74
76
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montoursville. PA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Hotel was clean. Staff very friendly. We had 2 rooms. First room we did not see any of the stink bugs, but did read the notice about them. The second room we did see 5 bugs. We were very pleased that after we checked in, the front desk called both rooms and asked if everything was ok with the room. Breakfast was sparse but enough to get the day started. No coffee pots in the rooms, but fresh coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the breakfast area 24 hours. Great location and price for an overnight stay on a long trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chukbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here many times since 2005. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The pool and hot tub are a great addition after a long drive. The breakfast service is modest but very useful. Great location off exit 150 I-81. Rooms are being updated. Mr. and Mrs. Patel are onsite everyday to administer operations. Great value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyVic2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel has very friendly staff and was very clean. There was a sign in my room warning about stink bugs but I never saw one. The room was very well appointed. Really, the only problem I had - and the reason the rating isn't 1 star higher - is the walls were very thin. I could hear the neighbors to the left's TV, the neighbors to the right alarm clock, and the people upstairs walking around. I'm not a particularly light sleeper nor were the people being overly loud. It's just the construction of the rooms.

Room Tip: Don't get rooms on the first floor near the ends. The outside doors slam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank technomage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Motel is under going remodel but did not interfere with stay. Good location clean at a good price. Will stay again. Front desk people very curious and helpful. Good location close to interstate. Cracker Barrel restaurant next door

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here three nights and found the rooms very comfortable, the staff charming and helpful, the location very easy to get to, and the pool an added lovely bonus. Nice to have a handy guest laundry after a couple of weeks travelling without such facilities! My only gripe would be not enough fruit at breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaluvesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
165 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This Red Roof offers some terrific amenities near Roanoke. Easy on off of 81. Indoor pool and whirlpool though the pool was out of order during our stay. Warm friendly and hospitable staff is the best thing about it. Nice large room, needs upgrading but very clean. Breakfast was pretty much in edible with white bread, no yogurt or eggs, all served on styrofoam !!

We ordered Chinese food delivered from a local restaurant -- fresh and delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutville
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Troutville
Comfort Inn Troutville
#4 of 5 in Troutville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Daleville/Roanoke North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
8.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Roanoke - Troutville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Roanoke - Troutville

Property: Red Roof Inn Roanoke - Troutville
Address: 3231 Lee Highway South, Troutville, VA 24175
Location: United States > Virginia > Troutville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Troutville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Roanoke - Troutville 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Roanoke - Troutville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Roanoke - Troutville Hotel Troutville
Red Roof Inn Troutville
Troutville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing