We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Holiday Inn Express ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Troutville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
212 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Express ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

As always good location and practically brand new hotel with fairly large rooms well laid out rooms. Very clean and has the breakfast included with your stay with nice variety of selection of the food. Staff is very friendly and service was great and hope all holiday inns are the same across the states as well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dogra11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kantstop, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your brief stay in Troutville and had a nice time at the hotel. We look forward to having you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    54
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
64
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
377 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Spent a night here on our road trip. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful which is always nice on a trip anywhere. The hotel is wonderfully quiet even though it is quite near to a fairly main road. Set up on a hill it seems to get away from the traffic notice and, at least from my experience, there is none of the background rumble of air conditioning etc that so many hotels in the USA seem to suffer from. Bed was very comfortable and gave a very restful sleep. Breakfast was usual buffet style but well managed and constantly refreshed by the staff. Overall a great stay and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Could certainly say that rooms on the ground floor down the back of the hotel are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GTSSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kantstop, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel! Thank you very much for your kind words. I will be sharing your review with our staff, and I know they will be delighted to hear this. Thank you for choosing to stay here and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Price was right, location is right off the interstate, and rooms were clean and bright. It's what I have come to expect from a Holdiay Inn Express and I wasn't disappointed. There are a few restaurants nearby (not a lot but enough to have a choice). This is a good choice if, like us, you were headed for Roanoak and hotels closer to the city were sold out. For the wine lovers out there, note that there are lots of wineries in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kantstop, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our property. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Front desk staff was friendly and personable. While I can't blame them for the noisy neighbors, our fridge made this horrific noise all night long. The water pressure in the shower was pretty bad as well. Rooms were clean and a nice size.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMinNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kantstop, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We are UK seniors on a road trip and have used many HIE hotels over the years; this may be the best in terms of value for money, friendliness, helpfulness etc that we have used( rated I think 4.7 out of 5) it is well deserved. A small note would be to ask for a quiet room and they will oblige if you are light sleepers.Also the pool is outside and may be closed or too cold even in Mid Sept.

Room Tip: Check exit on Interstate 81 as hotel is 2 miles short of Troutville
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kantstop, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Malcolm and Sue,
Thank you for posting a review of your recent experience with us. We're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed our property, and we truly appreciate your business. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to stay in Lexington but all the hotels were booked so we went south and found this. Fairly new and has outdoor pool. We didn't use because we checked in really late. The executive room was huge for four of us. It included breakfast. I believe the lady's name was Jane did an awesome job keeping it stocked and clean. The only negative was my husband and I wanted to sit downstairs while kids were in room and the desk clerk couldn't find the remote for tv or how to turn on fireplace! Beds were comfy and clean. Convenient to the natural bridge area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kantstop, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on wht you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We are deeply sorry for any inconvenience you had experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. Your comments will be looked into.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here for one night on way to TN. Great property, clean room friendly staff. The breakfast included many items and the staff was very helpful. Would stay here again.the parking was a bit far from main door but easy enough to walk to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blapicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kantstop, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We are all pleased that you had a wonderful stay and appreciat letting Trip Advisor travelers know of your experience with us. Hope to see you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutville
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Troutville
Comfort Inn Troutville
#4 of 5 in Troutville
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
4.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Roanoke - Troutville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Daleville/Roanoke North
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North

Property: Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North
Address: 3200 Lee Hwy, Troutville, VA 24175-6320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Troutville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Troutville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEW Holiday Inn Express Troutville - Roanoke is located in Troutville, VA in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Explore the scenic Blue Ridge Parkway with access 5 miles from the hotel, and Roanoke attractions such as the Art Museum of Western Virginia, Roanoke College or Hollins College. This Troutville hotel is also conveniently located to Interstate 81, Roanoke, VA, the D-Day Memorial and is within 3 miles of the Botetourt Sports Complex. The Holiday Inn Express Troutville - Roanoke hotel offers guests a clean and comfortable guest room featuring free HSIA, 32' HDTV, refrigerator, microwave and the Simply Smart bedding. Start each morning with the Express Start complimentary breakfast bar including our signature cinnamon roll and Smart Roast coffee. Relax at the seasonal outdoor pool and never miss a workout in our fitness room. Visit Troutville, VA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Troutville - Roanoke! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North Hotel Troutville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing