We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel along on Rt 81” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Troutville
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
158 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great hotel along on Rt 81”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stopped here because hotels in Lexington were very pricey because of special events in town. The Holiday Inn has a very welcoming staff and great rates. Our room was big, very clean and nicely decorated. Nice flat screen tv and fast Internet. Breakfast is in a lovely room with eggs, bacon, and assorted other choices. The lady in charge of breakfast made sure everything was kept full and neat. We are very pleased that we got back on the road , drove further and found this very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Remember to mention any discounts you might have for an extra savings
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skatinggrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    59
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
69
75
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I happened upon this hotel when I became too sleepy to keep driving and I'm really pleased that I did. The hotel is clean and modern. The beds are comfortable (not too soft, but not too hard). The bathroom is well lit, spacious and the water pressure is excellent. The staff is friendly and the complimentary breakfast is awesome! Eggs, pancakes, bacon, cinnamon rolls, cereal, fruit, oatmeal, grits, your beverage of choice....not bad for free. :-)

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, FL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for 4 days and it was so quite. The people were so friendly and very accommodating. From the lady behind the desk-(Tina) to the lady (Jane- I believe) serving breakfast-to the ladies cleaning our room!! I will stay there again!
No problems at all--

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puff1n2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here for three nights while attending a family wedding. The hotel is right off 81 which made for easy travelling. The hotel is clean and the rooms were quite large. There are no suites at this hotel but several rooms are large enough that they could and should be converted into suites. The price was $108/night which might have been a group rate.

We did not use the pool but several in our party used the fitness room. The breakfast included hot items such as pancakes and cinnamon buns, along with cereal (including fruit loops), yogourt, fruit and muffins. The coffee was ok.

Check in went well. However, the front desk staff were not as friendly as one would expect in the south.

Wifi worked great, the bed and linens were very nice, the towels were ok (I would have preferred something a bit softer). The a/c was a slight problem - turning it on made the room cold right away, turning it off made the room stuffy. We never did figure out the right combination.

There are a few gas stations nearby and a Cracker Barrel but there's not much else in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were traveling from Alabama to DC and wanted to spend the night on the way. We used our AAA app on phone to find listing of hotels in the area and this gem popped up. We called when were about an two hours out and talked with Pat, who was very gracious and helpful. When we finally arrived, Pat greeted us and got us checked in very quickly and we were so tired that was very much appreciated. There was even a chocolate chip cookie to welcome us.The property was spotless and the room very tastefully decorated and clean. The breakfast bar was very nice too. Check out was handled very efficiently by Phyllis. A good experience for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank motherofthebride23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

While returning from a sad family time, we found this understanding gem. Jill on phone reservation at 11 pm at night could not have been more helpful Jim at the desk during both Check in and Check out was a pleasure and the welcome smile so needed. Jane, who ran the breakfast area was warm, friendly and gave a great morning welcome and breakfast experience. Yhe hotel was immaculate and very comfortable. We will be back!

Room Tip: Just ask and they weill help you. All the rooms seemed very clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is located off I-81. It's easy to find. A few gas stations and fast food restaurants nearby. It's a convenient place to stop for the night if you are passing through the area.

The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are comfortable. I was on the third floor which was quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Ryckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutville
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Roanoke - Troutville
4.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Troutville
Comfort Inn Troutville
#4 of 5 in Troutville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
8.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North

Property: Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North
Address: 3200 Lee Highway South, Troutville, VA 24175
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Troutville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Troutville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEW Holiday Inn Express Troutville - Roanoke is located in Troutville, VA in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Explore the scenic Blue Ridge Parkway with access 5 miles from the hotel, and Roanoke attractions such as the Art Museum of Western Virginia, Roanoke College or Hollins College. This Troutville hotel is also conveniently located to Interstate 81, Roanoke, VA, the D-Day Memorial and is within 3 miles of the Botetourt Sports Complex. The Holiday Inn Express Troutville - Roanoke hotel offers guests a clean and comfortable guest room featuring free HSIA, 32' HDTV, refrigerator, microwave and the Simply Smart bedding. Start each morning with the Express Start complimentary breakfast bar including our signature cinnamon roll and Smart Roast coffee. Relax at the seasonal outdoor pool and never miss a workout in our fitness room. Visit Troutville, VA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Troutville - Roanoke! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North Hotel Troutville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing