We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded our Expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Troutville
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Troutville
Dunkirk, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceeded our Expectations!”
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We have been selecting Comfort Inn as our first choice when travelling on the road because of the value, the breakfast and the aesthetics as compared to, say Super 8 or Motel 6, which are OK for economy accommodations, but we found Comfort Inn to be a few cuts above in many respects - for an affordable price. The Troutville Comfort Inn, however, provided us an exceedingly delightful stay, offering newly decorated and beautifully appointed rooms, comfortable beds (which is important to people like us with bad backs) and a breakfast selection I just can't say enough about. This is NOT your typical complimentary "motel Continental Breakfast" which often consists of coffee, tea, instant cocoa and a few things to dunk! The assortment of hot and cold options was appetizing and delicious. The fresh Belgian Waffles are, of course, an absolute treat but there were: French Toast, pancakes, the fixin's for hot Sausage & Egg Muffins, hot & cold cereals, fresh fruit, bagels & muffins, Danish pastries, juices and hot beverages. The staff was polite, friendly, and accommodating in directing guests to local restaurants, etc. We feltt the very pleasant sense of people intent on providing "good service" - a commodity very hard to come by these days. We would definitely look for this hotel again when we travel south. Thank you, CI - you're doing it right!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank songbird3425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    63
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
52
62
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
117 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I just happened to stop here driving through to Texas from Washington DC. Normally I'd check out on trip adviser any hotel I'm going to but we were driving late at night I just picked this off my GPS. It was a awesome hotel Brandy at the front desk was a sweetheart very friendly and effecient. All of our room were brand new. From top to bottom all new decor beds furniture. As a matter of fact there were huge rolls of new carpet in the hallway as they were totally remoledling this comfort. I have to say they did a outstanding job.

Then there was a awesome breakfast eggs bacon sausage waffles potatoes fresh fruit and the guys really liked the sausage pancakes on a stick.

I'm so glad I stoped without reading reviews or I would have passed this gem by. It may have been bad in the past bit it is all brand new now.

Also like to add they have great parking for my truck and trailer

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohiojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP Of Operations at Comfort Inn Troutville, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Thank you for your positive comments concerning your recent stay at the Comfort Inn in Troutville, VA. The hotel recently completed a full renovation of all guest rooms and public spaces. A new elevator has been installed and a large breakfast room has been added to the front lobby. All rooms come complete with 32" televisions, microwaves, refrigerators and coffee makers, just to mention a few of the amenities. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to serving your lodging needs in the future.
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, VA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

I stayed one night at this motel. The staff was friendly and the room was OK except for the damp, musty smell. The included breakfast was OK, but do not expect much.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morrisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson valley, new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

We stayed here on the way to the beach. It was pretty clean, but the bathroom was very tired looking and a little dingy. The pool was tiny and the location is far from scenic. Breakfast left a lot to be desired. However, it was quiet. If you are just looking for a very basic place to stay for not too much money, this is an OK choice.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank teachermom65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2008

Very quick to get to off the highway, but not sure you would want to. Don't let the new front desk fool you, behind it, where you stay, needs a total upgrade. I had a dingy, smelly room that was located in between two rooms that had dogs in them...barking dogs.

Free internet that was easy to use, lots of quick places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dlb264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2008

I stayed there after a long day of driving and fighting NYC traffic. Found this place in a coupon book and decided to stay there since breakfast was included. Here are the pros and cons:

Pros:
clean comfortable beds with 4 pillows each ( maybe feather)
TVs with extensive cable channels
easy to operate clock radios
fridge and microwave in room
climate control unit very uniform with temperature despite it cycling on and off frequently( it was 10 degrees outdoors)
night light integrated with entry light with separate switch
extensive breakfast bar selections( had microwavable omelets, eggs, sausage patties, burritos and hash brown patties.) also biscuits and gravy and of course the cereals and donuts and ltd fresh fruit items.
Easy off and on to interstate 81
interior corridors
There is a computer in lobby for checking emails for those who don't have lap top or blackberry

Cons:
curtain would barely get to wall and letting in glaring outdoor lights( had to use a large book to hold curtain next to wall )
smoking rooms need to be in a total separate area.(some choice hotels are going smokefree)
had to plunge toilet (problem solved)
window not very airtight

This hotel has appeared to have had some renovations. There is a second floor without an elevator and there is a separate truck parking lot. My room did not smell of any smoke despite the smoking rooms down the hall from where I was staying. The owner should consider relocating the smoking rooms to the back of the hotel. This is an overall decent hotel for a quick off the road break. would come again.

  • Liked — breakfast bar
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank penguinlimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2007

Stayed one night on 1/24/07. Cancelled stay at same motel on return trip due to dissatisfaction.

Motel in need of refurbishment, is dingy in inside areas although outside appeared attractive. Carpets are worn in places.

Corridors smelled strongly of smoking even in non-smoking areas, although our non-smoking room did not have the odor.

Room floor appeared to have not been vacuumed and bedding was questionable, did not look crisp and clean. Electrical cover plate was missing off frequently used receptable.

  • Liked — It was where I needed to stop.
  • Disliked — Terrible smoking odor.
  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScWalrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutville
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North
0.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Roanoke - Troutville
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
6.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Troutville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Troutville

Property: Comfort Inn Troutville
Address: 2545 Lee Hwy, Troutville, VA 24175
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Troutville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Troutville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Troutville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Troutville, VA Comfort Inn® hotel is off Interstate 81, minutes from Roanoke and central to Hollins University, Ashley Plantation public golf course, Botetourt Sports Complex, James I. Moyer Sports Complex, Roanoke Regional Airport and several vineyards. We are also near: National D-Day Memorial museum and education center Blue Ridge Parkway, one of North America's most scenic drives Appalachian Trail Conservancy Several hiking trails, fishing areas and public golf courses Roanoke Civic Center and Salem Civic Center Shop at Valley View Mall, the area’s largest retail center. Fishing, tennis, boating and biking trails are nearby. Several restaurants are nearby. Our pet-friendly hotel provides amenities like: Free high-speed internet access Free local calls Free weekday newspaper Seasonal outdoor pool Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Business travelers can access fax and copy machines. All our rooms have flat-screen televisions, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards. Make the Troutville Comfort Inn your home away from home on your next business trip or vacation to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Troutville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troutville Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing