We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Portions”
Review of Eckhard's

Eckhard's
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Topping
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mathews, Va
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Huge Portions”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

When you're very hungry this is the place to go. The entree's, typical German fare,are quite large. We just returned from their October Fest, complete with wonderful German beer, and feel very content. This is not a large restaurant, so reservations are a good idea. They have a lovely fireplace with a blazing fire during the season so if you find yourself there in cold weather, ask for a table in that room since it makes the evening all the more cozy. The only disappointing part tonight was the burgundy topper over the white tablecloth had been soiled by spills from the prior diners. What would it take to put down a clean cloth for patrons? Our waiter put the drinks down to cover the stains and when a table was vacated and emptied of dishes, they just swept away any crumbs while the next seating was waiting. I think that is shameful for a restaurant especially one that depends on the neighborhood clientele to keep coming back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheNeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    31
    11
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Friendly with Decadent Food”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The chef cooks everything like I would - except that he's great at it! Decadent sauces all around - everything was over the top and sumptious. By the time our entrees arrived, I was already stuffed and we had to eat the Seafood New Orleans because it wouldn't be nearly as good heated-up as the schnitzel was. Couldn't COMPLETELY stuff myself because we had to try the the chocolate pate. We will definitely plan better next time and not get too full on the appetizers and salads before our meals & desserts arrive!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitka, Alaska
Level Contributor
187 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food, and lots of it!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful meal with friends last night. Making a decision among all the mouth-watering choices was the hardest part of the evening. A friend and I finally decided to split two entrees, because we were so torn. She ordered a special, Pork Schnitzel, and I ordered another special, an Ahi Tuna Stir Fry, and we then we each got half of each entree. Both were amazing. Others around the table enjoyed their meals, as well, including an interesting "Louisiana Chicken of the Sea" with seafood and chicken in a puff pastry. No one had room for dessert! The service was good, the ambiance very charming, and we all had a great time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathews, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great German and Italian food”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Always delicious, friendly service. I would recommend very highly. My family has had several larger parties for birthday dinner and they were very efficient handling 10-12 without delay. Great owners, servers and food!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltaville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I eat here frequently and this is, by far, the best restaurant in the area. The German and Italian dishes are excellent and the daily specials outstanding. The staff and owners are wonderful and always focused on creating an exceptional dining experience. I absolutely love this place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eckhard's also viewed

 

Been to Eckhard's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing