We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite”
Review of Merroir

Merroir
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Topping
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A riverfront gourmet oyster tasting house featuring the celebrated farms of Rappahannock Oyster Company. Also enjoy 4 craft brews on tap, dozens of world-famous wines and bottled beers, and an always-changing menu of small-plate delicacies.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We don't come to the Virginia Chesapeake area often but we have friends both in Urbana and Irvington.
When we go there we will certainly make a meal stop at Merroir's
The main attraction is the fresh Rappahannock oysters, but we have found their small artisan plates exquisite, all we have tried. This time scallops and seared ahi tuna. Cannot remember getting any better.
Go on a nice sunny day because the location is great, the bay views are brilliant and there is more space on the porch and outside than inside.
A great Chesapeake culinary experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frans J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    94
    28
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deltaville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, spectacular view”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

These folks know how to prepare excellent food, albeit a very limited menu and smallish portions. Try a dozen oysters to compare the Rappahannock beauties with a couple of other varieties. (Another dozen for the 3 of us was very tempting!) The lamb & clam stew was a tasty surprise. There's only one salad choice & forget any veggies; the extra charge for bread was not worth it. Be prepared to eat outside at a picnic table or on the slightly sheltered porch. Your taste buds will thank you.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaneCutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Terrific Food - Really Great Seafood”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I guess the prices would be impossible if this was a "full service" restaurant. It's more of an outside shack with some seating. Don't let this get in your way. I had the biggest and best tasting scallops I have ever had anywhere. Other excellent ratings will surely follow from others in our party of four. I say, "Do not miss this place."

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnowBird0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tough to get more nautical or better”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Drove an hour to buy lunch and it was worth every mile. Merroir sits in a cinder block building in an small operating harbor. The restaurant is owned by the folks controlling the Rappahannock Oyster Company. They serve three varieties of oysters both raw and cooked. They also have clams. Super fresh, and available year round, because they harvest from private beds rather than dredging in public waters. Nice shallot mignonette along with standard cocktail sauce. It's not just mollusks, however; they have other menu items including Waygu beef sliders. We had the grilled caesar salad - half head of romaine grilled quickly, topped with an excellent parmesan dressing, top quality anchovies, and home-made croutons.

Nice selection of beer and wine to accompany meals, and very reasonable.

Also, you can buy bulk oysters in the shell and be very sure that they're very fresh.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Short menu, very well prepared”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Merrior is a very small "tasting" restaurant that specializes in oysters, scallops, and other seafood. My husband and I wanted a light dinner, and this fit the bill perfectly. I ordered the barbecued shrimp over cheese grits. The shrimp were large and perfectly cooked, and the combination of flavors was delightful. My husband enjoyed the stuffin muffin, a specialty of the house.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Merroir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing