We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here -- Stay at the Holiday Inn right next door”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Thornburg
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I made the mistake of booking a room at this Quality Inn instead of the Holiday Inn next door. First they gave us a smoking room and we had reserved non-smoking. I should have moved to the Holiday Inn at that point. Instead, I took another room which didn't smell, but the hotel is old and in need of renovation and the rooms are dark.
Well in the morning we woke up to find the beds infested with bed bugs, I saw them with my own eyes. What a disaster!!!

Don't stay here, I had to come home and wash all my clothes twice in hot water, the luggage is still in my garage, in fact I am just going to throw it away. Of course the manager was no where to be found and he still has not returned my phone calls. I'm still not sure if I have killed them and I haven't infested my home... only time will tell.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyzdrvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 65 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2010

Manager was pleasant. Gave me a king room which was mildewy smelling and the bathroom had not been clean. He apologized, and gaveme another room, which smelled better but the bathroom was equally dirty (all fixtures had not been cleaned since the last guest or two).
Tv is blurry, bed coils are popping out.
Try someplace else on your way up/down 95.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunnella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Cobwebs on a light by the bed.
Spider in the tub.
BEDBUGS (my b/f woke up w/ bites all over his legs).
Dank room, smelled like mildew, hard to breath/sleep.
SLUG on the wall.
Flies in bathroom
Crud on bathroom floor.
Strange dirt marks on the walls.
Hotel employee knocked on our door at 7am, said sorry and walked away.
$109 was too much for this room w/ a king bed!
Enough said, STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zazoom783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Let me start off by giving a summary of my trip's purpose and stay at this awful place. I am from NY and I was driving to South Carolina for my fiance's Marine Graduation. I left NY the afternoon of the April 7th and after driving 11 hours I felt that I should get off at the next exit and get some sleep since I didn't want to continue driving while tired and being a female alone I didn't think it would be safe to sleep in the car.
So the next exit brought me to Thornburg and the Quality Inn was right there, I parked and walked in, asked the woman at the night desk if they had any vacancy's. She said 1, and it was a smoking king. Not exactly ideal but it was the middle of the night so I asked how much 1 night was. She replied $79+tax. I said that I would like to take it...she took my licence and credit card and gave me the key.
The room of course smelled but I knew that would be the case, the tub and toilet also had that yellow tinge that smoke leaves behind...but all of this is not really what is wrong with this place.
The next morning I returned my key and continued on my way. I finally got to Beaufort and graduation. When I got back to NY my credit card bil arrved and there was a charge for $263!!!!! I had not spent that much on anything, so I called the credit card company and asked them what the carge was for, they said that it was for the Quality Inn in Thornburg! I refused to pay the charge as that was not what the woman had told me at the front desk. It was all looked into and the hotel faxed an invoice saying that I had arrived on the 7th and departed on the 10th! This was followed by my sending them an invoice from my Hotel in Beaufort SC stating that the nights of the 8th and 9th I was in fact there. Now obviously I was not in two places at once and of course when I called the hotel myself and asked for the manager and was told he was unavailable but a message would be left and he would return my call. Which of course he did not. I filed a formal complaint with Choice Hotels and I will continue to refute this charge. However I think it is rediculous that somthing that happened in April is still not resolved in July, three billing cycles have passed.
My fiancee is currently based in NC and I will be travelling from NY and back a great deal beofore our wedding in the spring and I will most definatly not be giving Choice Hotels my business.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustD_c_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Let me precede my review with the fact that I've been a Choice Privilege member for 6 years and always try to stay in one of their brand hotels. For the same price you can get a room at the Comfort Inn Southpoint right up the road on Rt 1 (Jefferson Davis Hwy) off I-95 (next to the McDonald's).

I wrote a review of this place in 2007. My husband & I have been staying here for 10 weekends (April-June) every year. It has gone downhill from my last review. This year we stayed in rooms 125, 114, 201, 118, & 117.

Check in: If you've reserved a room weeks in advance, don't count on it being available when you check in. I mean we stay there EACH YEAR & they still didn't save the room we wanted. Oh, and if you've reserved a room with your points that doesn't mean that they treat you any better. Our 1st weekend we had reserved a non-smoking room w/ 2 double beds - they put us in a 1 king handicap room because they said they had already booked up the other rooms. When I complained, they put us in the rattiest room they had w/ 2 double beds.

We always stay for a minimum of 2 nights, yet each day we return to the hotel our room key has been set for 1 night. We always have to go back up to the desk & get it re-done for the 2nd day of our stay. It got to the point where we didn't even go to our room, but stopped off at the desk & had them re-do the key each day.

Each room had its own problem which included: holes in walls which were patched but not painted. Broken tiles in bathroom floor (don't cut your foot on it!). Ants in one room. Peeling wallpaper. Toilets that don't flush unless you pull the mechanism from the inside. They put in new phones that had a HUGE red flashing light, but didn't know how to turn it OFF (we finally just unplugged it)! Furniture that looked like it came from the dump replaced furniture what was already falling apart - drawers didn't open or close correctly. One room's A/C wasn't working. The rooms are smelly (& we're ex-smokers) with old food & body odors.

Items like iron, phone, clock/radio are missing from rooms. You have to go to the front desk & ask for them -- if they have them on hand which sometimes they don't. Lightbulbs were burned out one time & they didn't have replacements (hey! there's a dang Food Lion right up the street!).

THEY DO NOT CHANGE THE BED SHEETS WHEN PEOPLE CHECK OUT!!!! I found all kinds of hair in our bed from the previous people that stayed in the room. Since it was after 10 pm when we checked in I left a note in the room & at the front desk for them to change the sheets. I don't care if they just make the bed during OUR stay, but JEEZ, change the sheets when we leave for the next person. Speaking of sheets - maybe they get these from other hotels when they go out of business. I've found better sheets at the Family Dollar store. You can SEE THRU THESE SHEETS!! Do NOT poke a finger into them or they WILL rip.

The wi-fi signals are very weak, 2 bars, if you're at the back of the hotel (by the interstate). You get a better signal from the Holiday Inn Express, 4 bars.

They should take the "Quality" out of the name & replace it with "SHODDY" or "ILL KEPT" or "INFERIOR" - whatever the opposite of "Quality" is.

My husband & I stayed our last 2 weeks at the Comfort Inn mentioned earlier. Better hotel for the same price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triviagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

I read the reviews for this hotel, and I decided to book a room anyway, thinking maybe some people had exagerated, but I found out they didn't.
I had a smoking room, that smelled very bad. The bathroom looked as if there was mold behind the toilet seat , the shower curtain was dirty, and there was a wooden board above the shower head that looked like it was about to fall down. I felt out of my comfort zone the whole time.
I only stayed for one night, and when I went to check out, the lady charged me an extra $25, when I asked her why she said it was the 'system" that did it and she couldn't change it. ( I am a choice employee, I was supposed to get a fixed rate). She wasn't helpful at all, and when I asked if they could print me out mapquest directions they said none of their computer printed (they just printed me out my check out reciept). I didn't want to deal with it anmore so I ended up leaving. I wouldn't reccomend this hotel to anyone, unless they get different owners.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leafys1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

True I only stayed there one night, but was very satisfied. As a non-smoker, no problem with any smell or stink in my room. Location was prime just off the highway with everything you need around you. Price was good and we hit some Italian restaurant nearby. I really can't find anything to complain about.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denpanosekai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornburg
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Thornburg Inn & Suites
6.7 mi away
Sleep Inn Southpoint
Sleep Inn Southpoint
#14 of 41 in Fredericksburg
141 reviews
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#12 of 41 in Fredericksburg
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint
Holiday Inn Express Fredericksbu...
#19 of 41 in Fredericksburg
155 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 6409 Danbell Lane, Thornburg, VA 22565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Thornburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Thornburg
Price Range: $47 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn, a Thornburg hotel minutes from historic downtown Fredericksburg. Perfectly located with easy access to I-95, the Quality Inn(R) hotel is minutes from historic downtown Fredericksburg, Fort AP Hill military training facility and the University of Mary Washington. This Thornburg hotel is 15 miles from Lake Anna State Park, where visitors will enjoy boating and fishing. Paramount's Kings Dominion amusement park is 20 miles away.Visitors will enjoy shopping at the nearby Massaponax Factory Outlet Center or touring Civil War parks in the area, including the Fredericksburg & Spotsylvania National Military Park and Stonewall Jackson Shrine. A variety of restaurants are located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Thornburg, Virginia
Thornburg Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing