We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thornburg
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent service ”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We pulled off the highway at 3am to get a few hours sleep; we had a little trouble finding the hotel, it's off a little road behind the gas stations but it was modern and clean and crisp; the desk clerk was pleasant and attentive, check in was quick, the room was spacious and clean and the beds were comfortable. A full hot breakfast was included and because we arrived 5 minutes before breakfast ended, the buffet offerings were lean but the very friendly desk attendant got us fresh eggs, bacon and biscuits. They even have a machine that makes fresh pancakes. Great roadside lodging.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerseygirl1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    34
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
38
19
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for the night to split up a long drive from South Carolina to Ontario. We called the hotel directly and received a better rate than the third party sites, which was wonderful. Stayed in a two queen "suite" with a sleeper sofa. Room was wonderful, spacious and very,very clean. Hotel staff excellent and very friendly. Breakfast was the typical free hot spread that you would expect : cereals, oatmeal, sausage, biscuits, eggs, pancake maker, toast, bagels, etc.

In fact, only two things stopped me from rating the hotel a 5, for it's class. Number one, the sleeper sofa was by far the most uncomfortable mattress I have ever seen in a hotel in my life. My 6 year old actually refused to sleep on it, so we had to put all 3 of out children in a queen bed together. Not the end of the world, but we could have gotten a room without a sofa for quite a bit cheaper ! Waste of money. Also, the sofa bed wasn't made up and I had to get sheets and make it up myself

Second, the hotel advertised a business centre, and had signs within saying business centre. This was important to is as we needed to print off directions to get the rest of the way home. When we couldn't find it and asked staff, they said they didn't actually have one ?! We ended up asking directions from a gas station clerk, which were incorrect , and went an hour in the wrong direction. Very disappointing to not have amenities as advertised

These two things aside, it was a very pleasant stay. If you don't need a sleeper sofa it's a great stop. If you do, I'd look in nearby Fredericksburg instead. Lots more selection

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilahv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Called hotel directly and booked two rooms cheaper than what a third party website would charge. The room was clean as was the pool. It is a nice place to stay on 95. I did not have the complimentary breakfast, but it look a little above typical continental breakfast fare.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cnymikew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We got in late at night, so a comfy bed was most welcome. quick easy check in, very clean, excellent breakfast. location was great for our civil War touring of Fredericksburg and Richmond area, just off the Interstate. Would stay again and recommend

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

In room wi-fi was pretty much unusable... and very frustrating if I did try to use it. Wi-fi did work well in the lobby though. I just expected to be able to use the wi-fi in my room, but the hotel falsley advertises this.

Hotel was fine. Breakfast was yuk. My wife wanted decaf coffe. The pot they had was cold. The worker told her they don't make decaf regularly, becuase people don't drink it. She continued, "it would be a waste to make it." Then she offered to heat some up in the microwave. Doesn't that sound delicious? So kind, they are at the Holiday Inn. :) I had the regualr coffee. It was hot, but tasted like coffee water. The food wasn't much better.

Overall, this is an adequate hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the lobby for good in-room wi-fi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We value your business and opinion with the greatest of respect. We did have a issue with a router on our WiFi access. That has been rectified and the signal thru-out the hotel is as strong as you encountered in the lobby area. I again apologize for that frustration and assure you your next visit you will not encounter that issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

So here at this exit the Holiday Inn Express and Quality Inn are right next to each other and the QI had a nicer-looking outdoor pool. The HIE was OK - they have a hot breakfast but it is equivalent to what you get from McDonald's quality (for fat, taste, and salt content). The hotel has the fancy carpet and stuff but that has never been of high importance to me - as long as the sheets and towels are clean, and they have enough hot water for a shower... blah blah. You can save yourself some dough by choosing the QI next time. This was a company-arranged stay so I did not have a choice.

Room Tip: Stay at the QI to save money. Be sure to visit the Stonewall Jackson historical site close by on you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GringoLoco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a reply. I apologize for the experience you encountered. It should have been handled much more respectfully. I will speak to the breakfast host and provide a little re training. She should have made you a fresh pot of coffee. Again my sincerest apologies. I can assure it will be addressed. We value your business and appreciate you staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night over the holiday weekend.
Hotel rooms are clean and modern.
Breakfast was great and plenty of options.
Location is very close to the highway.
I would recommend this hotel stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pin2ver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We know you have many choices and are honored you stayed with us. We hope to see you again in your travels and have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornburg
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Thornburg Inn & Suites
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
6.7 mi away
Sleep Inn Southpoint
Sleep Inn Southpoint
#17 of 42 in Fredericksburg
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#13 of 42 in Fredericksburg
555 reviews
7.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg
Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg
#26 of 42 in Fredericksburg
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg
Address: 6415 Dan Bell Lane, Thornburg, VA 22565 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Thornburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thornburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg-Fredericksburg, VA is conveniently located off I-95 at exit 118. Our hotel offers a 100% non-smoking environment & our famous Express Start Continental breakfast featuring the best tasting cinnamon rolls. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Thornburg & enjoy our other offerings of the Simply Smart Bath & Bedding Programs, free local & toll calls, free HSIA, a complimentary business center, 24-hour guest laundry, a refreshing heated-indoor pool & whirlpool & a 24-hour fitness center to stay in shape while on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Thornburg (i-95 Exit 118)
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (i-95 Exit 118) Hotel Thornburg
Holiday Inn Thornburg
Thornburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing