We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thornburg
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here on a last minute decision based on the hour of traffic that was ahead of us on 95. This hotel was great. I cannot say enough about the staff. I dealt with them two time, once at check in and once at breakfast... Both times so nice and accommodating. Great hotel..HUGE rooms and very clean. Would stay here again for sure. There are a few gas stations and a BK and McDonalds right next to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1974Gigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us. We greatly appreciate you staying with us and look forward to you returning again. There are many attractions here in the area including the Stonewall Jackson Shrine and Lake Anna State Park and Downtown Fredericksburg which has quaint shops and restaurants along the river. Most for a very small fee or no charge. Again we look forward to seeing you again and we hope you enjoy the rest of your summer and 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 96 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here one night during our road trip. The location was convenient - right off I-95 - very easy on and off, with inexpensive dining options right there - including Dairy Queen, Burger King, 4 gas stations and a convenience store. There were other dining options nearby but we ate at Dairy Queen - staff was friendly and location was convenient for our purposes. The room was comfortable and bathroom was clean. Nothing fancy, but doable for our one night. We used the indoor pool - nice after a long day - but we wished there was an outdoor patio available to get a little sun - but nothing there other than parking lot. Breakfast was normal hotel faire - again, okay and doable for an included meal. The breafast staff was very friendly and offered assistance readily. Front desk staff was also friendly. We did not explore the local area and found everything we wanted/needed right there, as we were keeping our expenses down. This would be a hotel we'd stay at again when in the area, as it was a quiet location with the amenities we wanted.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 383DH383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We thank you so much for staying with us, we know you have many choices and we honor the fact you did choose us. We hope to see you again and have a great rest of summer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family and I just recently stayed here for two nights. The hotel is quiet and clean. I think with the hotel being newer the rooms could be a little better but over all we loved it. We will definitely be back that's for sure. We loved the pool area...very relaxing! Also, I must point out your front desk clerk Barbara. She was there to assist in everything we needed and was so nice. If she isn't the manager she definitely should become one at least for her shift! She was there for all of our needs and always asked if we needed anything and was so polite. Such a great help and hard worker even with being so busy. We look forward to our next stay with you!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. It means so much that you do that and you choose to stay with us. We know you have many options and it gives us great pride knowing that you will return. Have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very nice hotel with a very responsive staff.
Pulling in here in the midst of a snow/rainstorm that had stalled I95 changed a frustrating evening into a relatively pleasant experience.
A large, nicely furnished, spotless room and a recommendation to a local Italian restaurant changed this forced stopover from an irritant to a pleasant night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75north
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to give us your feedback. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again. I will pass these words on to the staff. Have a safe and enjoyable summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had 2 nights booked here, but arrived a day early so we ended up staying 3 nights. The hotel was quiet, and clean for the most part. The room was clean, and a decent size. The indoor pool is small, but nice. The pool towels are about the size of hand towels! Many people enjoyed the good breakfast, and although the dining area was full, there were no problems with supply or seating. There was some initial confusion with our billing, but it was resolved (at our initiation) before check out and we were not double-billed. There are a couple of fast food choices within in walking distance, and very easy access to the higway. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrifterGirlOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel had most of what I look for in this class of hotels. The sheets & towels were clean and smelled fresh. All of the staff was very nice and accommodating. The free breakfast was great, real bacon, eggs and biscuits, can't get much better than that. Wi-Fi worked with no glitches. The pool, fitness center and business center didn't get much use from me, but were adequate if I needed to use them. My one issue with this hotel was, or should have been, not so easy to see. The room looked clean at first glance, but once all the lights were on, the grime on the walls, door knobs, tables, bathroom sink, etc. was noticeable. This is precisely why I invest in a new can of Lysol with every hotel stay. It took me about 15 minutes to make the room sparkle and I was satisfied. However, when I stepped into the hallway and the elevator, the subpar cleanliness was once again visible. All in all, I will stay here if I am in the area again, with my can of Lysol of course. The housekeeping staff should really step it up.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joynpain829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We made reservations to stay here before we left home. When trying to set our GPS, unfortunately the address wouldn't come up...maybe the hotel & road it's on is new?? We called & was given a different city than the website reservations had given us, which worked.When we arrived, we were greeted by Barbara, who had already upgraded our room (we're Platinum Priority Club members). There's a popcorn machine in the lobby which we enjoyed the freshly popped treat. Our room was nice..large with comfortable beds, flat screen TV, and a separate living room area with a couch. Everyone on staff that we encountered were friendly. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muchfuntravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and the Holiday Inn Family...we truly appreciate you being a "platinum" member. We know you have many choices and we are honored to have you as a guest and hope to see you soon. I will also pass on to Barbara the good mention of her. We love hearing those comments...Take Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornburg
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Thornburg Inn & Suites
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint
Holiday Inn Express Fredericksbu...
#20 of 41 in Fredericksburg
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#12 of 41 in Fredericksburg
648 reviews
7.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Fredericksburg
TownePlace Suites Fredericksburg
#18 of 41 in Fredericksburg
175 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg

Address: 6415 Dan Bell Lane, Thornburg, VA 22565 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Thornburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thornburg
Price Range: $87 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg-Fredericksburg, VA is conveniently located off I-95 at exit 118. Our hotel offers a 100% non-smoking environment & our famous Express Start Continental breakfast featuring the best tasting cinnamon rolls. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Thornburg & enjoy our other offerings of the Simply Smart Bath & Bedding Programs, free local & toll calls, free HSIA, a complimentary business center, 24-hour guest laundry, a refreshing heated-indoor pool & whirlpool & a 24-hour fitness center to stay in shape while on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (i-95 Exit 118) Hotel Thornburg
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Thornburg (i-95 Exit 118)
Holiday Inn Thornburg
Thornburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing