We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”

Southside Motel & Marina
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southside Motel & Marina
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tappahannock
Staunton va
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Boyfriend and I decided to take a weekend trip out of town with the kayaks. My neighbor had stayed at this motel before and said very good things about her experience so we decided to try it for ourselves.
The owner is delightful and very accommodating. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The room prices are extremely reasonable, therefore I didnt mind the dated decor at all. The pool at the property looked clean and inviting, but we were there to kayak and fish so we skipped the pool. I love that I could actually walk to the Dock from the back of the motel - we fished from the dock on Friday night until 2am without any worries. Local police stopped in and asked if we had any luck fishing - officers were very friendly and made me feel safe. Saturday we launched kayaks from the dock and caught nine cat fish - actually I didnt catch any but my bf did using squid for bait.
We will definitely return to this quaint little motel on the water. It had all the features that we could have hoped for at such an affordable price - king size bed, fridge and microwave. The owner's friendly disposition was the cherry on top.

Room Tip: Next time I will definitely choose a room poolside. We stayed two nights in a street facing room, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjw25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
6
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I've stayed here a many times in the past. It's the only motel with a pool and it's always clean. Would bring my kids here n have a ball all day. I stay here every time I'm in the area. Always clean and the owners are excellent. Guess u can't help the flies since it's so close

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, MD
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

My husband and I were in town for business, he had stayed here before in Summer '10. It is not new, interiors probably date back to the early 60's. It was quiet and clean. There are quite a lot of flies in the area, and yes, they came into the room. My husband said the pool was clean when there last. I loved the huge pink bathtub, lots of hot water made for a good nights sleep after a long days work.
You can walk down to the water & pier, and crab is you wanted.
Anything you would need is very near by.
It is owned by a nice Indian family who live on the premises.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ljewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Md
Level Contributor
149 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

I needed one night since my son was at the Bayport Scout camp and I came down friday night for the campfire and drove home early Saturday morning. The room was reasonably clean. I did have a few flies in the room, but roadside motels can have this since the door opens into the parking lot. I would stay here again, mostly because the reviews of the other hotels in the area were horrible, and this place was good enough.

  • Liked — cheap
  • Disliked — roadside motel, no other ammenities
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ppt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2007

Gave 4 stars for the value. We arrived driving through town. Very dismayed with the appearance of the Days Inn. We drove here.

The place was good for the $50.00. Quite, clean and near the river. I believe, the family lives behind it.s

We stayed in a non-smoking rooms which are the closest to the quiet area with a glimpse of the river. I'd return although it wasn't the newest; it was a good and clean value.

Great town to visit. Go ask the locals about the cliff area to the east and the eagles!!! Antiques are great and quiet nice town!!!!

  • Liked — Value and clealiness
  • Disliked — Age of interior
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank RoseyJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tappahannock
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tappahannock
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Warsaw
36 reviews
24.5 mi away
Island Inn and Suites
Island Inn and Suites
#1 of 1 in Piney Point
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Tappahannock
Days Inn Tappahannock
#4 of 4 in Tappahannock
197 reviews
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Tappahannock VA
Super 8 Tappahannock VA
#2 of 4 in Tappahannock
121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Essex Inn
Essex Inn
#1 of 3 in Tappahannock
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southside Motel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southside Motel & Marina

Property: Southside Motel & Marina
Address: 910 South Church Lane, Tappahannock, VA 22560
Location: United States > Virginia > Tappahannock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tappahannock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Southside Motel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing