We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Essex Inn **Great**” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Essex Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Essex Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Tappahannock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Allen, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Essex Inn **Great**”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our trip to the Essex Inn was given to us as a wedding gift. We enjoyed our stay very much. The Inn is beautiful and the staff Jeremy & Rick were wonderful. Our suite 207 was beautiful and very clean and cozy. The breakfast they served was fantastic chef Rick is amazing and should be recognized as a Top Chef. We were able to have our breakfast in the main dining room which was set very elegant and we meet a very nice couple. The Inn itself is keep so pristine as are the grounds and it's beautiful gardens are just amazing. We would highly recomend a stay there for all couples for a quite serine place to get away. The river is just a block away and can be seen from the Inn. We plan to go back for our 1st anniversary in October. Again Thanks to Jeremy & Rick for the wonerful hospitality. Wayne & Maria Smith

Room Tip: Look into the site for the Essex Inn in trip advisor. It showes the Rooms available we loved suite 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kriggy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
71
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed for one night this past weekend. From the moment we arrived, Rick, Jeremy and Charlie the dog were awesome. They were friendly and checked on us periodically to see if we needed anything. They went above and beyond to make sure our stay was amazing. We stayed in the Red room. The bed was extremely comfortable. The house, and landscaping are beautiful. Breakfast was Great! A true GEM!

Room Tip: Room had it's own thermostat and a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peppermint215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

This property survived bombardment of Tappahannock by the British during the War of 1812. It is authentic and lovingly maintained by the caretakers Jeremy and Rick. Jeremy is a gracious and attentive host and Rick is a gourmet cook. We truly felt welcome and at home, not like the feeling of being intruders that overshadowed us at other B&B's that we stayed at. The property is like a little oasis in this small historic town, with a warm and cozy private patio garden and a 450 year old knurled Basswood tree. We were invited to help ourselves to wine and beer in the refrigerator and sit out on the patio to enjoy.
Rick started our breakfast with an appetizer of small pastry shells filled with melted brie and stewed, caramelized apple - a delight ! It was followed by a egg quiche omelet with all local and authentic ingredients (e.g. Virginia Ham) and other secret ingredients. mmmmmm-good. This included fresh made buttermilk biscuits and home-made plum jelly from the plum tree in the yard. They even encouraged us to pick some plums to take with us.
Unfortunately, we only stayed one night. That day we took the Rappahannock River Cruise and the following day we took the Tangier Island Cruise, so we just needed a place to stay between the cruises. If we had to do it all over again, we would have not taken the River Cruise and stayed an extra day at the Essex House. (Don't recommend the River Cruise but do recommend the Tangier Island Cruise - but that's for another review)
Van and Jan

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vandaman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I celebrated out 25th anniversary at the Essex Inn. We couldn't have asked for a better place! The innkeepers, Jeremy and Rick were fantastic. Rick was a phenomenal chef. Jeremy was a fantastic host. Charlie, their dog, made it feel like home. We loved the area and the inn was historic, but had all of the comforts anyone would want. They had wine available, coffee, chocolate, munchies, etc. at all times. They knew the area and were so helpful. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with a king sized bed - quiet and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emberaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We just completed a 160 mile bike trip on the Neck staying at four B&B's. There is no question the Essex Inn was the best. Jeremy and Rick are true professionals and very concerned about their guests. Food, accommodations, service, and everything else. The Essex Inn is the best.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Beautiful B&B ! Southern Hospitality at it's best! Great food, and wonderful atmosphere!! Definitely going again! One block from the water, lovely 1850s house with beautifully appointed rooms, and divine patio!! Thank you, Jeremy and Rick (the chef!!) Wonderful!

Room Tip: The "executive suites" in the back are wonderful - full kitchen, living room, and comfy be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CyanedOriginals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is a great historical facility with many appropriate room appointments. Every thing was clean and well appointed.The rooms were large and included a nice screened room for afternoon reading. The garden was well maintained with a magnificent old basswood tree.Best of all the hosts were great and so was the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LenM11530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tappahannock
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tappahannock
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Warsaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
24.3 mi away
Island Inn and Suites
Island Inn and Suites
#1 of 1 in Piney Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Southside Motel & Marina
Southside Motel & Marina
#3 of 4 in Tappahannock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Tappahannock
Days Inn Tappahannock
#4 of 4 in Tappahannock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Inn at Stratford Hall
The Inn at Stratford Hall
#1 of 1 in Stratford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Inn

Property: Essex Inn
Address: 203 Duke St, PO Box 2038, Tappahannock, VA 22560-2200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Tappahannock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tappahannock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four rooms and four suites all with en suite bathrooms, luxurious amenities and Wi-Fi. All have working fireplaces, cable TV, air conditioning, hair dryers, irons, luxurious linens and plenty of oversized soft towels. Guests have access to a refrigerator and microwave, a screened-in porch and a private brick courtyard for outdoor relaxation and smoking. Wi-Fi is available throughout the property. A full, three-course breakfast is included along with afternoon snacks, wine and beer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing