We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable all around”
Review of Essex Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Essex Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Tappahannock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Impeccable all around”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed two wonderful nights. Everything about the Inn was delightful. The inn keepers were charming, kind and helpful. It felt like home. Ive been to many b&b's and the essex is definitely #1 on my list now. Breakfast was delicious. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmcwilli01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
75
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I had a delightful Memorial Day weekend at the Essex Inn. The house is elegant and the historic neighborhood is charming. Best of all, Janice and Bob were the ideal hosts: charming, gracious, intelligent, and well-informed about the offerings in the area. At some B&B's, we have felt like we were intruding in someone's personal space, but that was not at all the case here. This was also a great spot for exploring the historically rich Northern Neck of VA. The beautiful garden was the perfect spot to enjoy the well-chosen complimentary wine and snacks.

Room Tip: We liked staying in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magmack842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Essex Inn was beautifully decorated and the grounds are very welcoming. Jancie & Bob are very warm & friendly with expertice at making you welcome..Our stay was to short, would love to come back and stay longer..Over the top as B&B goes..Never stayed in one as nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myreen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington DE
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

What a lovely place. Janice and Bob are masters at the art of inn keeping. They're both ready to share interesting insights into the town and area, always available without being intrusive. Their charming assistant Irene assures the comfort of guests with pride and competence. We can only ditto the comments on breakfast ... yummy they are.

Room Tip: We were very pleased with Room 203 but all in the main house would have been more than acceptable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyWilmingtonDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

As other reviewers have noted, The Essex Inn is everything you always dreamed B&Bs would be, but seldom are. The Essex is perfect--beautiful house, tastefully and creatively decorated, spacious rooms with excellent bathrooms, and the most delicious and wonderfully presented breakfasts. Bob and Janice are welcoming, helpful, and interesting hosts.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house, which is truly charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank almsafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We arrived to Bob putting out cookies for an afternoon snack for the guests. He and Janice were great hosts & very accommodating. Our room was clean & we had access to Wifi and cable--not a necessity, but certainly a nice feature. The owners also offer wine, beer, sodas, and light snacks all included in the price. The true highlight, though, has got to be breakfast. On the first morning we had a poached pear, spinach/mushroom quiche, seasonal vegetables & a cranberry mini bread loaf with orange butter. The second morning we had preserved peaches & Dutch pancakes. And Bob remembered us by name & how we took our coffee, etc. Very hospitable!
The location is fairly close to a number of destinations in VA along the east cost, so you could make reservations and comfortably drive to various sites. We chose to relax in town & enjoy local attractions. We went to Relish at Janice's recommendation-- a local chef takes over the Rivahside Cafe Thurs-Sun and offers upscale dinner fare. Very yummy meal! We also went antiquing and to Lowery's as well. We didn't do too much during our weekend visit, but we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.
The only issue we ran into was payment. When paying, our card was accidentally authorized twice. We called & Bob looked into it immediately. He followed up to let us know only one charge had gone through & the second would be released. We appreciated his help resolving our issue & plan to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I already wrote a review last year but we went back and it was so great I have to write another one. The Essex Inn is so amazing we've started to make it a tradition. We stayed in the main house this time and I was a little wary but it was wonderful. I love the little nook with a chaise upstairs. I've been gushing about the inn to everyone. This place is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tappahannock
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tappahannock
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Warsaw
38 reviews
24.3 mi away
Island Inn and Suites
Island Inn and Suites
#1 of 1 in Piney Point
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Inn at Stratford Hall
The Inn at Stratford Hall
#1 of 1 in Stratford
29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southside Motel & Marina
Southside Motel & Marina
#4 of 4 in Tappahannock
26 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Tappahannock
Days Inn Tappahannock
#3 of 4 in Tappahannock
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Inn

Property: Essex Inn
Address: 203 Duke St, PO Box 2038, Tappahannock, VA 22560-2200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Tappahannock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tappahannock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four rooms and four suites all with en suite bathrooms, luxurious amenities and Wi-Fi. All have working fireplaces, cable TV, air conditioning, hair dryers, irons, luxurious linens and plenty of oversized soft towels. Guests have access to a refrigerator and microwave, a screened-in porch and a private brick courtyard for outdoor relaxation and smoking. Wi-Fi is available throughout the property. A full, three-course breakfast is included along with afternoon snacks, wine and beer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing