We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place to hang out in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Tappahannock VA
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tappahannock
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a place to hang out in”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Kind of grim. I'm thankful we only had one night there. The lobby was smelly, the staff slow and hidden behind a glass window ( how dangerous is this town?), the room was small and tired, the breakfast terrible. And it wasn't even cheap. Not sure why anyone would choose this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    37
    22
    15
    11
See reviews for
39
22
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I recently stayed at this super 8 it is clean and quiet we were just 3 guest in te entire motel staff is really and friendly but property has lots of wear and tear it needs to be updated, overall a good say.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChasmeBadur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

My wife and I have stayed at many budget hotels and this one is one of the worst. We stayed at this hotel on August 11, 2009
- The staff was very unfriendly.
- Very limited breakfast. They only had bread and coffee.
- The hotel room on the first floor the sliding window did not lock.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georden7 W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tappahannock hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2009

My husband and I spent one night at the Super 8 in Tappahannock. We found the staff to be warm, friendly and helpful. However, the motel is in dire need of renovation. The carpet, furnishings and bedding are old and worn. The lighting is dim and the curtains dark, making it hard to see in the room. The bathroom looked like it had been updated, but the repairs were not professional; caulking smeared on vanity and rough instead of finished edges. Our room was non-smoking, but there was a smoke smell in the hallway and room. All evening I regretted not paying $20 extra to stay at the Holiday Inn Express. It was a depressing experience.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agamemnon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2008

For the price it's not a bad stay. I have stayed there about once a month throughout 2008. The rooms are clean and they have a small coffee maker, mini fridge and microwave. They are in the heart of town which gave me access to a few different food choices and gas stations. The only problem that I had recurring was other guest being too loud. Other than that, I will continue to stay there during my travels through Tappahannock.

  • Liked — Price, in-room coffee maker, mini fridge and microwave.
  • Disliked — Loud, noisy people staying there!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virginiamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2007

I feel compelled to write this review after reading the one posted in May. This is NOT the place to stay in Tappahannock and I would not recommend it. There are other alternatives, such as the Best Western in Warsaw, where we ended staying because I felt the Super 8 was shabby and did not appear clean.
The Best Western is also not twice the price – we paid around 20 dollars more - and they have a little breakfast room set up next to the lobby that serves complimentary coffee and bagels, etc. They also have a pool, and the rooms are twice as big.
There is also a B&B in Tappahannock but several friends and family who have stayed there all said that the woman who runs it is beyond rude.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank meg196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodward, OK
2 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2007

In Tappahannock, this is the best hotel. There is a newer one over the river in Warsaw, but at twice the price it just wasn't worth it to us. The best thing about it: the desk clerk, Junita!

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
Thank kathealan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tappahannock
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tappahannock
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Warsaw
38 reviews
1.2 mi away
Southside Motel & Marina
Southside Motel & Marina
#4 of 4 in Tappahannock
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Tappahannock
Days Inn Tappahannock
#3 of 4 in Tappahannock
209 reviews
13.6 mi away
Washington & Lee Motel
Washington & Lee Motel
#1 of 1 in Montross
7 reviews
1.7 mi away
Essex Inn
Essex Inn
#1 of 3 in Tappahannock
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Tappahannock VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Tappahannock VA

Property: Super 8 Tappahannock VA
Address: 1800 Tappahannock Blvd, Route 17 and Route 360, Tappahannock, VA 22560-9350
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Tappahannock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tappahannock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Tappahannock VA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Tappahannock VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Tappahannock
Super Eight Tappahannock
Tappahannock Super 8
Tappahannock Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing