We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Heaven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Syria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Graves Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Syria B&B and Inns
Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Heaven”
Reviewed June 20, 2009

We've been coming to Graves for over 15 years now and have never had a bad experience here. Now that they have wireless internet the place is perfect! The food is wonderful and varied, so you always have plenty to eat. We meet great people every meal and see some of the same people from year to year. We just returned from a trip down the Blue Ridge Parkway and skipped our return trip on the Parkway to stay a couple extra days at Graves!
We've always been recognized by family and staff when we call or arrive - another rater must have been here on an extremely busy day. Once in a while a server isn't quite up to par, but we rarely see them a second time, as Mrs. Graves and the family keep close check on everything that's going on. We do plan our trips here to avoid the fall festivals, bluegrass festivals and other large events - I'm sure they are great events but we prefer the solitude and quiet of slower weekends.
The rooms are spacious and well equipped. We stay in the "motel" units and enjoy sitting on the deck and rocking in the evening, or looking out over the farm and orchards during the day while we read or I sew. There are lots of activities for children and young people on the farm and plenty of interesting places to visit nearby, including several vineyards and an expectedly wonderful quilt shop in Madison (15 minutes away).
We would highly recommend this place to anyone seeking a quiet, beautiful setting and lots of good wholesome food. If you want "pretentious", then don't bother, as that doesn't happen here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoverDinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    30
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
42
29
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2009

This was a birthday gift to me from my family on July 20 2008. There was 10 of us with 4 of them being teenagers. The bluegrass show that day was awesome. The youngest was 13 and enjoyed every song by each band. We all enjoyed the family oriented run lodge. The bands were willing to stand and talk to every one. This was a treat for our young banjo pickers as they were in awe of the groups. This was on a Sunday and a better family day can not be found. I wish there was more of these Sundays. Keep up the good work and great times. This was the greatest birthday ever THANKS.
Eleanor Lawson
e-mail eelliel@aol.com

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluegrassgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2008

great food! so rarely do you find good old American home cooking, and more than plenty, served family style, and it just keeps coming. cabins are private and pleasant. our grandchildren loved riding the horses and petting the sheep and other animals.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank pzdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2007

Just returned from a mid-week short break at Graves.

My husband and I have been going once or twice a year for the last ten years.

The setting in Madison County at the edge of the Park is outstandingly beautiful in all weather, but especially so in sparkling late October.

The peaceful beauty of the setting, the lack of telephone and tv (except at the Lodge), cell phone reception and rush hour traffic helps lull us into enjoying a day of reading before the fire or hiking one of the many nearby trails.

The Lodge is justly well-known for the food it serves: good old country cookin' like grandma used to make, and plenty of it.

Family-style seating in the dining rooms feels more like a party than a meal among strangers.

We've had many a jolly lunch with people we've just met, usually beginning with "Could you please pass the meatloaf? Oh, and I think I'll just have a little bit of the mashed potatoes, and of course some of Mrs. Graves' delicious gravy."

Given that hundreds of people come through the Lodge weekly, it must seem to our hosts that all faces become a blur.

After ten years it would be nice though, to at least have some one at Reception acknowledge that this is a return visit and that they are aware at least on a minimal level that the two people checking in have been there before.

"Nice to have you back, good to see you again, etc."

The Lodge has just finished hosting its annual apple harvest festival, so perhaps innkeepers and staff were justly tired, but in terms of welcoming, helpful service, we had the poorest of any we've experienced.

This showed up most glaringly at mealtimes.

One young waitress forgot our coffee, juice and water at breakfast. The grits were served cold and when we requested more, after a long wait, were told they were gone.

At breakfast we filled out a packed lunch form for hiking later. After spending some time in the gift shop (nice local history book section) we returned to pick up lunch.

Not there. Upon checking with the kitchen, we were told they were being made and it would be five more minutes.

Fifteen more minutes passed so we checked with the front desk to see if they could help us.

Turns out our lunch had never been made! By now about 45 minutes had passed since breakfast.

The situation was finally resolved, but the person at Reception told us not to wait so long to ask for help next time! We'd been asking all morning.

And when I saw the same person at lunch a mere three hours later, she looked at me as if she'd never seen me before in her life, much less a few hours ago.

There was more in the same untogether vein, but won't go into the rest of it.

The Graves Family has been in the innkeeping business for many generations, they are active members of the community and have created a unique experience for the traveler/hiker/day-tripper.

An establishment that aims to provide a family-style relaxing environment should strive to be more aware of guest relations and the comfort and convenience of their guests.

Hopefully they will be next time.

  • Liked — Location, our cotage in the woods
  • Disliked — Service, staff confusion, lack of warm welcome
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StickyToffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2007

I've been going to Graves Mountain Lodge since I was a baby and was taken to the Fall Apple Festival (over 40 years ago!). It is always such a treat to spend a weekend there if you're looking for a completely unpretentious place in one of the most beautiful settings in Virginia. We like to stay in Ridgecrest, one of the motel type lodgings up on the mountain behind the lodge. From the porch you can sit in the rocking chairs and have a clear view of the mountains, streams and orchards owned by the Graves family. The children love coming here and spent time playing in the Rose River and swimming in our hidden swimming hole. The facilities here are far from fancy and some parts of the property have been let go over the years and fallen into disrepair (tennis courts and children's swing set). However, no one seems to mind about this. The pool is beautiful, the rooms clean (although a little musty), the family style meals are enjoyable and the views out of this world. Don't miss the evening hayride and campfire and playing in the river! This is also a great place for family or corporate reunions that can be held in one of two large outdoor covered picnic areas adjacent to the river.

Side trips: Don't miss the little town of Madison, Virginia and EA Clore Sons, makers of fine furniture (early American style) since the 1800's. I have to confess to being a great granddaughter of the founder of this family run company but I'm still proud of their furniture and craftsmanship.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ial123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mechanicsville,va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2007

Our family (two adults, 3 children) just returned from a weekend stay at GML. We stayed in Pete's house, which is within walking distance to the main lodge, animal zoo, swimming pool and hiking trails. We truly had a great time! The house was clean, food was plentiful and delicious, the kids LOVED the pool and the evening hayride! No TV, phones, or cell phone service, which suited us just fine! Word of caution, watch out for the bears. It startled us the first time that we saw one, but due to the drought in Virginia, the bears are having to find other sources of food and have resorted to dumpster diving. Although, it was sort of entertaining to leave the lodge after dinner and see a black bear waiting for the dumpster to be filled for him. The prices are a little high, but well worth it!

  • Liked — Scenic views, friendly-staff, food!
  • Disliked — A little pricey
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank be1chr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2006

Great place to get away from it all and totally relax--no cooking, no phone in room no cell reception, no TV in room--just comfortable, carefree rest. Food is great, plentiful and requires no decision-making. Good hiking in area, wonderful views, pleasant staff and patrons. Accomodations in lodge are larger than a typical hotel room, clean and comfortable, with rocking chairs and porch. Good for couples and/or families.

  • Liked — views, food
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aikarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syria
14.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
973 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
131 reviews
17.1 mi away
Best Western Culpeper Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Stanardsville
210 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
41 reviews
14.0 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graves Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graves Mountain Lodge

Property: Graves Mountain Lodge
Address: Route 670, Syria, VA 22743
Location: United States > Virginia > Syria
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Syria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Graves' Mountain Lodge, we specialize in good "old-fashioned" hospitality. Our family owned and operated mountain retreat is renowned for its delicious home-cooked food, family-friendly atmosphere, and surroundings unrivaled for natural beauty. There are varied styles of accommodations available, from motels to cottages to cabins. You'll find us nestled deep in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Here you're invited to assume a leisurely pace as you enjoy some of life's simpler pleasures. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Graves Mountain Hotel Syria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing