We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional stay!”
other travelers have booked this property
Pondview
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pondview
View of the pond and mountains Snow on the mountain top
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
Pondview
View of the pond and mountains
Snow on the mountain top
The living room with leather club furniture and 42 inch flat screen SAT TV
Kitchen
one of two bedrooms each with two double beds
One of two full bathrooms
Hill Top
Night time
Fire pit on the porch
Sunset
Looking through the windows of Pondview
Looking across the pond
Mountain View
Tent is available for events
Hanging out by the fire
Snow at the Cabins
Summer at the Cabins
Rose River Farm Rainbow
Native Brookie
Blue Gill in the pond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Syria, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kasey911
Danville, Virginia, USA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exceptional stay!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We very much enjoyed our two night stay. We stopped at a grocery store about 20 minutes before we arrived at the farm so we could cook instead of having to go out for every meal. Since we were not sure what utensils the kitchen had we brought a lot of our own, but it was not needed. With the exception of a round pizza pan, the kitchen had everything we needed. The beds were comfortable, and the bathroom clean. I can't say enough about the staff (especially Earl) who made sure we had everything we needed and made us feel right at home.
The farm and the river are absolutely beautiful. We also accidentally found the Shenandoah National Park which lead to us hiking on the trail for several hours and taking almost 300 pictures.
The price is a bit expensive ($250 per night), but when we booked they were offering a 'buy one night get one free' special which definitely helped a lot. We are already trying to plan another visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy J
Goochland, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to relax, and terrific spot for a wedding”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

When we found the Rose River Farm Cabins we knew it was the perfect place for our wedding, but once we stayed there it exceeded all of our expectations. The cabins are absolutely beautiful inside and out. We spent a lot of time around the fire pit, and really enjoyed the warmth of the fire as the nights cooled off. The furnishings of the cabin were very nice, and the beds were extremely comfortable.

The main reason we were there though was for our wedding, and it could not have been more perfect. The staff at the farm was available to help us the day of the wedding and made our perfect day that much easier. After setting up the tent, tables, and chairs for us, they let us use hay bails from the farm to create an aisle and seating for our ceremony. A special thanks to Earl, as he was extremely helpful. The backdrop of the pond and the mountains was the perfect setting for us.

The morning after we were already planning our next trip back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fire pit
Liked least: We wish more people could stay than just 4 adults
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for Families, Too!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We were looking for a place to return to year after year with our two young daughters (ages 3 and 4), a place to begin an important family tradition of focusing on the things that really matter in life. We emailed several rental property owners about whether they thought their cabins would be around for a while, and this was the first place we heard back from. We took a slow trip up, enjoying a picnic lunch at Yoder's Country Market where our girls thoroughly enjoyed feeding the goats and playing on the play equipment. When we arrived at our Hill Top cabin, we were a bit early, and they were still cleaning it. But, we were encouraged by the kind farm manager to explore the farm, and he gave us helpful information about the area. All that has been written about the cabins is just as we would describe it, and I am sure that it is truly a wonderful place for fishermen. I would just add that it is also great for two little girls who like to stay up late listening to the toads by the pond, look for crawdads under slippery rocks in the river, dance in the rain as the fog rolls in on the mountains and watch God's glory shine like the sun through the beauty of His creation. We were so thankful to be able to share in the wonder of Rose River Farm and are looking forward to continuing our new tradition. One disclaimer: If you go with your kids, you may be hearing the repeated question, "When are we going back to our yurt?" (:

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area, the mountains.
Liked least: We would appreciate ways to lower the cost of the cabin. Maybe less expensive for a weekday rental?
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandra122...
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing getaway just 70 minutes from DC!!”
Reviewed July 7, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

When my husband and I pulled up to the hillside yurt we were immediately stunned by its architectural beauty and the warmth it projected. We have stayed in many beautiful places all over the world for fly fishing and outdoor adventures, and the Mongolian yurts at Rose River Farms are quite unique and breathtaking. As we entered the yurt, we were even more mesmerized by the attention to detail, beautiful leather furniture, open kitchen with a large, round wooden table for eating or playing cards. There are two spacious bedrooms with full bathrooms in each one. One really nice perk for the fly fisherman is the fly-tying table complete with a vise. We spent the days hiking and fishing in the Shenandoah National park and the nights relaxing and eating outside on the comfortable chairs. We even made the trip up see the Hoovers' Presidential Getaway. We caught a tour of the Prime Minister's cabin and the Brown house, where Mr. and Mrs. Hoover spent most of their time. It was fascinating to learn about the Hoovers' special connection to the Shenandoah, and why this area is the perfect getaway. I also want to mention that mosquitoes in the Shenandoah are almost non-existent. This factoid was offered to us during the tour of the presidential getaway.
All in all this is the perfect getaway for anyone who loves the beauty of nature and wants to escape the weekly beltway chaos. You will begin to feel the stress evaporate as you enter the mountains and leave the traffic behind!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmth, beauty and luxury of the yurt.
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
readhd59
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a small wedding! Excellent!”
Reviewed June 25, 2012 for a stay in April 2011

I always love the area between Madison and Sperryville, Virginia. I felt lucky to find the cabins at Rose River Farm for our small wedding (<50 people). We rented it for two nights and the weather was beautiful. The scenery is gorgeous from the Pond View Cabin -- you can see the mountains and the farms.

The cabins were absolutely charming -- they are built on the style of a yurt but made of beautiful woods with an incredible ceiling. Guests commented on the cabin's luxury, the views, and the architectural style. We had leather sofas and chairs. We rented some chairs for the ceremony but we had plenty of space to accommodate our guests without any problems. Doug was so kind to let us use the lower field for parking. He was fabulous in helping us and answered any questions we had. It rained the night before but we were comfy and cozy and had plenty of space to set up things.

The kitchen is really nice and spacious; the bathrooms were very nice with lots of amenities. The beds are very comfortable. There was a fire ring outside, Adirondack chairs to sit in on the deck, and a small grill. (We dismantled that temporarily for the ceremony.)

We had lots of room for our caterer and musician outside along with parking.

The location is just down the road from Graves Mountain and it would be great for a family weekend. There's fishing nearby with Rose River, hiking at White Oak Canyon, wineries nearby, plus visiting Sperryville or Madison. In all honesty, though, the area is so relaxing, you can bring some groceries (or go to the The Little Country Store in nearby Etlan to see if he's having a barbeque weekend) and just hang out. I wouldn't have changed anything at the Cabins at Rose River Farm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$250
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing