We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agri-visit”
Review of Polyface Farms

Polyface Farms
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Swoope
Attraction details
Afton, VA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Agri-visit”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you want to see the nitty gritty and how one farm has learned to do what's right for the land - visit Polyface. Great foods - nice people - a real farming experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank MURDERLADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Outer Space
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lunatic Tour, educational, entertaining and informative”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Joel Salatin was our tour guide and he makes cow pies and chicken poop interesting... The trip was inspiring, the tour educational and entertaining, we also met some really nice folks also taking the tour. We come back home and started looking into growing our own broilers. We have an acre of land definitely not what one would call a farm but we have layer chicks, bees and a few gardens. After the tour we are looking at becoming even more self sustaining and growing some broilers to feed our family of three. Thank you Joel!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Archgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunatic Tour”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

WE had a truly memorable experience. We are huge fans of Mr. Joe Salatin. We learned of his farming practices and philosophy from reading Omnivore's Dilemma and had always wanted to visit his farm. The trip from California was long but the Lunatic Tour and the general hospitality of the people in this part of the country made it all worthwhile. Joe is passionate and charismatic and is the perfect person to head this movement. The hayride tour was very engaging and informative as Joe explained his farming practices and answered all the questions. The area is beautiful and we were free to roam around his farm to check out all the animals. The meat was delicious and we were especially amazed at the prices. Prices for similar products in California are at least 1/3 higher. What's most baffling was that the prices for conventional meat in the supermarket in the DC area were actually comparable to California prices and not too far below Polyface's.

Polyface is the face of hope for the next generation of farmers and to some extent, our environment. I hope more people will catch on so the next generations will be able to share and enjoy a sustainable earth.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank icsng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
517 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Lunatic Tour - Outstanding”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Joel Salatin is not only a knowledgeable and well spoken farmer he is a talented and engaging speaker and marketeer. The Polyface Farm and Lunatic hayride tour was a fun, interesting and educational way to spend about 3 hours this past weekend. What a refreshing and wonderful way to farm - honoring the animals, the earth and the environment with a gentle and low tech approach. As others have mentioned, the price of the tour is really minimal when you consider the value of the information shared, the experience of seeing exactly how the farm is run and the beauty of the valley. If you plan to be in the area - check out the schedule for farm tours - they do book up quickly so planning ahead is a must.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MGordonCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The man can talk all day”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Hearing Joel Salatin talk is worth plenty more than the tour costs. His ideas are intriguing and potentially world-changing. Seems as if more and more people are listening, so book early! We're not famers, but my whole family enjoyed this trip.

Helpful?
3 Thank Katrien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polyface Farms also viewed

 

Been to Polyface Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing