We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Be careful with Groupons” 3 of 5 stars
Review of North Mountain Outfitter

North Mountain Outfitter
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swoope
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Mountain Outfitter
Save
You added North Mountain Outfitter to your Saves list
1 review
“Be careful with Groupons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I bought the Groupon last year and wasn't able to use it during its promotion period. Basically, it was $225 for a two-person overnight and half-day ride (1/2 price). Groupon, of course, retains the purchase value if not used before the expiration date. So my wife and I were quite offput when trying to book a similar package (on sale for November stays) and use the purchase price as partial payment. The price on the website is $350, so we (naturally) assumed we could present the expired groupon and add $125.

Nope...Dwight wanted us to give up the Groupon + $225 to book this trip. This led to a very unpleasant conversation. He looks at things backward...that the promotion amount (the discount) is what needs to be paid, not the difference between the credit and the current pricing.

The place may be great, but we'll never know. Groupon stood up for us and gave us our money back. If you buy a Groupon, use it during the promotion period or be prepared!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndreaAndDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a great place to get away from it all and unwind. The ranch is lovely and well cared for by Dwight and his family. We stayed overnight in the bunkhouse which was decorated in keeping with the cowboy theme. Jason and Jennifer kept us well fed at each meal and we had a great time on the half day trail ride with Dwight the next morning. We would love to return with our kids next time. The nearby town of Staunton is cool if you have time to stop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2travel725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I had never been on a horseback trail ride before so i really didn't know what to think, but the bar has been set pretty high. Ride was a lot of fun. The horses seem very happy and well-taken care of. The owners seem to actually care about the horses. Sometimes you see where the horses are like zombies. This definitely was NOT the case. Each horse had a personality and they were match well with the rider's experience level. We were given a quick lesson on handling our horse and what to do to also keep in mind the health and happiness of our horse.The food is great and was more than enough. I couldn't finish it all.

The bed was super comfortable, but I was so exhausted that I hardly noticed.

We discovered this place through a Groupon and it is definitely worth paying full price. Another reviewer mentioned an issue with lack of communication. I will agree that it can be difficult to get a response for them via phone or email. But once you arrive, the service is so amazing, and everything is thought out until the last detail, it really isn't a factor.
Point of warning, you may want to check the directions on their website and not solely rely on your GPS.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank splainntall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

You really get away from everything with this authentic "western" weekend. At North Mountain Outfitters, the bunkhouse is set away from the road and the town enough that you don't hear anything but the wind in the trees and the sounds of the cattle on the hillside. Your cellphone will work, but there is no tv or wifi. A great place to sit by the fire and read or play board games. The main room of the bunkhouse is comfortable and roomy and the food is delicious and plentiful. The rooms themselves are clean and the beds cozy, but overall the space is modest and not very private. Depending on the room, you may share a bathroom. A great place to meet other friendly people or take the extended family for a group mini-vacation that's within an easy drive of the DC area.

My boyfriend and I soaked in the hot tub late at night after everyone else had gone to bed and enjoyed the stars and the full moon on a lovely quiet night. You might want to bring an extra towel along with your bathing suit because the one towel per person provided is for the shower, too. You'll need your own hair dryer and toiletries since a bar of soap is the only extra.

This place is truly a family ranch with daughter, Jennifer, and her husband, Jason, greeting and feeding you. They are friendly and helpful and then they get out of the way. Born on the place owned by his daddy, Dwight Wood lives in another house on the ranch and is Jennifer's dad and head horseman. He'll meet you at the horse arena before your ride to aquaint you with your mount. Dwight teaches you a few things about riding his horses, but no need to feel intimidated if you are a beginner or the once-every-ten-years-or-so rider like me. His steads are seasoned and they know the trail well.

Even if you are an experienced rider, you will enjoy this beautiful ride. It's a real trail (not just a paved or hardened dirt path) that weaves through trees and even crosses a small stream. It snowed during our adventure and I was a little cold, but it was still worth it. I imagine that the early summer and fall are even better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaKay50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We spent one night in the bunk house and went riding on the half day trip. My wife and I absolutely loved our trip to north mountain outfitters. All the meals were very good and we had a great time horseback ridding. We would highly recommend you check this place out.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbrewer0226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I can only repeat the great reviews below. We went as a family with 2 children (age 10 and 11) and had a fantastic time. The stay in the bunkhouse is great and the hosts are all super friendly. The whole outfit is perfect for first time riders. You have two options when you stay in the bunkhouse. a) arrive the day before and ride in the morning the day after or b) ride in the morning and spend the night and leave the next morning. I would recommend option b since that will give you more time to enjoy this great place. With option a you can only arrive after 4pm which gives you not that much time to really enjoy this place before dark sets in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I bought the Groupon for this trip and celebrated my birthday here. It was so great. We stayed in a hotel in Staunton the night before and drove in early for our trail ride. We were greeted by the owner's daughter who is such a sweetheart and then were taught the basics of horseback riding by Dwight, the awesome owner who is a true cowboy with a great sense of humor and style. It was fun out on the mountain trail ride, we got great pictures, and had a yummy picnic lunch. The ride was the majority of the early day, then we moved our bags into the bunkhouse, had a drink, and looked at the beautiful view of the rolling hills, blue sky, and pond. So relaxing, no tv, no Internet....so we went fishing and actually caught a few! Dwight's daughter Jennifer and her husband Jason (who are very cool people we really enjoyed hanging out with) made us a great roast chicken dinner, then we got in the hot tub, enjoyed the view some more and slept like babies in the comfy bed. We woke up to an enormous breakfast with all the fixings and hot coffee and unfortunately had to go on our way. I can't recommend this place enough! I'll never forget this great trip.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swoope
8.7 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
10.9 mi away
Inn at Old Virginia
Inn at Old Virginia
#1 of 13 in Staunton
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Buckhorn Inn
The Buckhorn Inn
#1 of 1 in Churchville
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Mountain Outfitter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Mountain Outfitter

Property: North Mountain Outfitter
Address: 709 North Mountain Road, Swoope, VA 24479
Location: United States > Virginia > Swoope
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Swoope
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing