We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food I have ever had at a B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheesecake Farms Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sumerduck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cheesecake Farms Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Sumerduck B&B and Inns
md
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best food I have ever had at a B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

You can tell this is a B&B run by a professional baker/cook. The breakfast was the best I have ever had and the picnic lunch was wonderful. Needless to say the cheesecake is outstanding. My husband and I loved the back porch to listen to the wind chimes and watch the birds. We stayed in the "mane" house and had a beautiful room. Karla and Tony were incredibly gracious hosts. Such a relaxing weekend will make it hard to return to work. I highly recommend the Cheesecake Farms!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

My husband and I totally enjoyed everything about this getaway. Both Karla and Tony are the kindest most accommodating people we have met in some time. The atmosphere is definitely a great escape from everything, food is DELICIOUS, and we loved seeing the horses! Karla packed the BEST picnic lunch we have ever experienced, as we enjoyed it at a nearby winery. If you are looking for a real escape, great food, and peaceful surroundings, this is your place. We look forward to returning some day. We had an awesome experience!

Room Tip: Doesn't matter where you stay, it's relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you are tired of the same old cookie cutter vacations, this B&B is for you. We stayed for the weekend. Tony and Karla are warm gracious hosts. Karla will spoil you with delicious Hunt Country breakfasts. The coffee cakes and of course her famous cheesecakes are a taste of Heaven. They packed a delicious lunch for us to take exploring on Saturday. They were knowledgeable about local wineries and antique stores to help us on our way.

We stayed in the Tac Room which is attached to the barn. It reminded us of a cute cabin with red checkered curtains in the kitchen and wood paneling. There was a coffee & tea basket with cookies waiting for us when we checked in. The room was private, very clean and comfortable. You enter the Tac Room without climbing stairs.

Our cell phones worked here. There are no TV's, cable or internet. This could be a plus or minus for you. We did not miss having them. After a day of antiquing in Fredricksburg, VA, (about 20 min. away) we played a board game, chatted and shared some local wine.

We really enjoyed our weekend and look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: If you want privacy and do not want to deal with stairs, ask for the Tac Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uncjillrossmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Went here on a living social deal, it took a couple months to get a reservation, but once we got there it was great! The people who own the farm are very warm and welcoming. They also were very accommodating. Karla makes some amazing gluten free food for breakfast along with the regular amazing food and cheesecake! The rooms were nice, we were in the barn above the horses. There was a nice picnic bag given to us which was also great.There are lots of games and reading in the rooms since there is no TV. All in all had a great stay and ate very well! Wish we could stay longer, very relaxing! Hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebdeb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbutus, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

What a delightful weekend. This Bed and breakfast totally exceeded our expectations. We were treated with hospitality from the moment we arrived until the time we said goodbye. Very gracious hosts! Detail oriented, clean rooms and outstanding food. Karla pulls out all the stops with her cooking. If you are able to stay for the Sunday brunch you will not be disappointed. Homemade jams, breads, casseroles and she ended the meal with a slice of her homemade cheesecake! It was truly the best cheesecake I have ever had. We purchased a package deal, which I believe is still available. I highly recommend it. (packed homemade lunch, filled with culinary delights, one night stay, brunch and a cheesecake to take home) We stayed in the tack room. It was clean, spacious and very comfortable. They do not have wi fi or tv. With the beautiful grounds and horses it's so peaceful you quickly get over not having those everyday distractions! Great way to unwind, relax, enjoy great food and conversations.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy92062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I just got back from a little weekend getaway celebrating our 3rd Anniversary and we had a wonderful time! Karla and Tony were both very sweet people and really made sure that our experience was special. We were in the Tack Room next to the barn, it was such a nice retreat, very spacious with a living room and kitchen, the bed was really comfortable and there were soft robes after we showered. They even surprised us by leaving a bottle of sparkling cider (since I'm pregnant) on the table for an anniversary treat. The food was also amazing, and we had more than we could possibly eat. For our first breakfast we had a lot of homemade baked goods, fresh sliced strawberries, orange juice, eggs and potatoes- everything was fresh and made with love. We also had a picnic lunch for the day, full of more food! We got two wraps (turkey/sun dried tomato, ham/cheese), chips, apples, pesto pasta, carrot salad, lots of condiments, and dessert. It was such a nice treat that we enjoyed at a little park in Old Fredericksburg. Our Sunday brunch the last morning was also wonderful! Karla made us so much food again, all fresh baked goods, pineapple/strawberries, salmon pate spread, egg casserole, spinach gratin, ricotta filled crepes w/ apples, leek salad, mushrooms/carrots, and more! Let me tell you, you will NEVER go hungry at Cheesecake Farms! We also were given a Key Lime Cheesecake to take home, SO good! I would really recommend spending the weekend at Cheesecake Farms, it's only about an hour from DC (in good traffic), but you really feel like you are a world away on their little quiet farm.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Our two night stay at Cheesecake Farms was the start of our two week road trip vacation. This was the best start I can think of. We had a really nice room and the food was wonderful.The cheesecake was melt in your mouth delicious. The setting was very relaxing and inviting. Karla and Tony sat with us after dinner and we had terrific conversations. They were also very helpful in suggesting things to do in the area. We would love to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avrilh03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sumerduck
9.5 mi away
Affordable Suites of America
Affordable Suites of America
#11 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
15.9 mi away
Braehead Manor Bed and Breakfast
Braehead Manor Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Fredericksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
15.5 mi away
Richard Johnston Inn
Richard Johnston Inn
#1 of 10 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast
17.1 mi away
Stevenson Ridge
Stevenson Ridge
#1 of 3 in Spotsylvania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheesecake Farms Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheesecake Farms Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cheesecake Farms Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4085 Sumerduck Rd, Sumerduck, VA 22742-2133
Location: United States > Virginia > Sumerduck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sumerduck
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for something a little different? How about a farm? This unique bed & breakfast is located on a real horse farm in Fauquier County, Virginia's gracious hunt country. But that's not all! Fauquier County is also home to dozens of wonderful wineries and is steeped in history. Cheesecake Farms is in between Fredericksburg, Culpeper and Warrenton - half way between Richmond and Washington, DC. It's very easy to find with lots of access to major roads. The farm is a peaceful 25 acres of flowers, fields and vegetable gardens. Guests love staying in the very popular "Barn". For those who prefer more traditional accommodations there is the "Mane House". There's lots to do..... or do nothing at all! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing