We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always outstanding!”
Review of Vintage Tavern

Vintage Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Vintage Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 145 Restaurants in Suffolk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $200
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bridge Road / Route 17
Description: Now open since April, 2006, Vintage Tavern at Governor's Point is owned by Brian and Teresa Mullins. Located in the hunting and fishing community of Northern Suffolk, Virginia the restaurant features 'Seasonally Southern' fare. The menu highlights the best of local and regional Southern dishes and recreates them with authenticity and passion. We are committed to maintaining the food history and culture that makes our community so special. Other features include a dramatic open kitchen, two dining areas both with fireplaces, an outdoor fire pit, outdoor dining on the covered veranda and a 400 plus selection wine list. The perfect place to celebrate a birthday, anniversary or any special occasion. Voted #1 by Hampton Roads magazine 2012 Platinum Plate Awards. Recognized by Open Table as one of America's Top 50 Restaurants in 2009 and 2010, and by Sante magazine for Wine Hospitality in 2010.
Carrollton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always outstanding!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband and I frequently enjoy dining out at a variety of fine and casual restaurants both locally and throughout our travels. The Vintage Tavern is one of our all-time favorites. We truly have never had a bad meal there. . . and we are there a lot! The facility is lovely with the most warm and friendly staff dedicated to making your evening and meal outstanding every time. General manager Bryan Hughes will go out of his way to make certain that everyone is pleased with what chef has prepared and how it is served. I love the fact that the menu changes somewhat with the seasons to include the freshest local foods of that season. Chef is very creative and we love trying new dishes. They also host specialty events throughout the year that are fun and festive and once again, always delicious. Although the menu is a bit pricey, we have tried other places in the same price range that were not nearly as consistently good as the Tavern. The bar menu also includes great burgers, BBQ and fries if you want something more casual. Plus, the bar staff is the greatest! It is out in the country along Highway 17 and well worth the trip from wherever you live.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    47
    17
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Vintage Tavern...Fabulous”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Vintage Tavern is our go to place for special events...birthdays, anniversary, etc. We have never been disappointed, the service is always great, the food outstanding, the wine list is good. Definitely recommend trying this place if you are looking for a lovely evening out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morgana254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
301 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A great meal and great service to go with it...”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had another great experience at Vintage Tavern. Tina, our server, was great. She was very nice and took good care of us. All four of us enjoyed everything we ordered. I had the rockfish special and it was very good. Brian made an excellent wine selection that everyone liked as well. The restaurant wasn't real crowded for a Friday, but that could have been because it was the day after Thanksgiving. However, I would recommend making a reservation. One thing to note. This restaurant is expensive, and maybe even a bit too expensive, especially for the area. But, there is no secret to what their prices are, so check the menu before you go so you won't have to write a review and complain about the place being "pricey." In saying that, I do wish the restaurant had some sort of dress code and then enforced it. You could dress up and go here for a nice night out and sit up sitting next to someone in gym shorts and a t-shirt, like was the case when we visited. I do highly recommend this restaurant and we will be back next time we are in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KPR18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very little variety”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The menu is extremely limited to their idea of southeren cooking. I went with a group from work. The prices are crazy expensive and the food was okay. Fourteen dollars for a burger was too much, but it was the only thing on the menu I was interested in...and I'm not that picky. Nice atmosphere though.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank FunVAgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant with incredible food and service! Love it!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were lucky enough to find out through the restaurant's newsletter that it was Restaurant Week this week in Suffolk - $30 three-course meals. The Restaurant Week menu provided several choices under each course. It was easy enough to make a reservation in advance through Open Table. We requested one of the two tables for two in front of the fireplace. Upon entering the restaurant, we were greeted and our coats taken and checked. We were taken to our requested table and seated. Service at this restaurant is fantastic. We enjoyed a Pumpkin Martini before our meal and shared a bottle of wine throughout the different courses. We never felt rushed and that was nice. Some restaurants tend to hurry you through the different courses on busy evenings. From the appetizers, to the entrees, through dessert; everything was wonderful. You can't go wrong with the Vintage Tavern. It was a great evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Egret1986061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vintage Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Vintage Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing