We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza in the area!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amicis

Amicis
Ranked #5 of 146 Restaurants in Suffolk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in the area!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We visit family in the Suffolk area AND never miss the chance to order Pizza from Amicis.
The brick oven pizza is easily the best. The toppings are fresh and plentiful. Lots of choices.
The service staff are excellent. The canolies(sp) are home made.
The interior is classic pizza parlor with a full bar.
Other patrons suggest we sample the menu, but pizza is our favorite.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tallytennis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    39
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Courtland, Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Excellent Pizza and a huge beer and wine selection. I love this place. On a warm night the outdoor seating area is a pleasant place to watch the world go by.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pretty good with plenty of room for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've been here about ten times. It can be difficult to get a seat at the Friday or Saturday dinner rush hour. The quality of the service is usually pretty good when dining-in, once you are seated. On occasions when I was picking up take-out, I felt ignored even though they were not terribly busy. Felt similarly ignored when waiting for a table. They often seem to be understaffed in the front of the house. The quality of the food is variable.The oven is NOT wood-fired, just made to look like it. Gas jets are clearly visible inside, so don't expect a genuine Italian-style pie. I recommend the meatballs and the "caprese terrenes" as appetizers, and the Clambake pizza. Seafood Fra Diabolo is usually pretty good. The Magic Mushrooms pizza sounded good but the balsamic glaze made it far too sweet to enjoy. Other entrees we've tried have been less memorable, generally pedestrian. For the quality of the entrees, I think they are two-to-three dollars over-priced.Their beer selection is the best in a 25-mile radius. Their wine selection is just average. It is a homey atmosphere that makes you feel welcome. I just wish the food was of a more consistently higher quality for what they charge. This COULD be a really great place. I'll keep trying them from time to time, but, for now, I prefer Sals on Burnette's Way in Suffolk. And, no, I am not Sal! : )

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DocChesapeake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Love this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Food and service excellent, especially the pizza! Try several....all are great. Wood burning inferno rated hot pizza 'oven' makes all the difference in the finished product. Any of the other menu items are memorable too. I am a weekly regular !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dbbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Casual Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Amici's is a great locals place and is our fallback place to go when we don't feel like cooking (they serve both lunch and dinner). Overall, the food is consistently good with reasonable prices and large portions. They have very good pizzas made in a brick, wood burning oven, and their salads and other menu offerings are good, as well. It's nice to sit on the patio when there is space available, and they never make us feel rushed, in spite of the fact that they're very busy on weekends. Unfortunately, their service is inconsistent; sometimes they're great and other times there are long waits in between seeing the waitress and/or getting your food. If you are not in a hurry and go with the mindset that this may happen, then it isn't a problem. If you are in a hurry, you should probably go elsewhere. Amici's is a keeper and a great alternative to the many chains in the area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amicis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing