We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Iffy...bordering on stay? No way!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Suffolk Chesapeake
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
New York City, New York
1 review
“Very Iffy...bordering on stay? No way!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

we were happy to locate a hotel that was close enough to the various places we wanted to visit in the VA Beach surrounding areas. The first night we went in we had to wait a bit to check in, and overheard the loud/harsh exchange from a few guests whose resevation had apparently been bumped due to "system overbooking". The receptionist was calm and took it all in, although it appears there were no reasonable options available to the guests...the guests in fact had to insist that since the overbooking wasn't their fault they should be entitled to some kind of courtesy, that they were tried and were not going to leave to find another place to stay. It all seemed to have gotten resolved with a phone call.

We checked in with ease. The room was nice and cozy, with a spaceous kitchette, full-sized fridge, m/wave, d/washer, sink, etc. That was a plus for us. The space however needed more than freshing up: it appears they do basic "on-the-surface" cleaning and the room itself was never properly cleaned. Even a "once-over" just before occupancy would have helped. Anyway, with the property being fairly new one we were inclined to overlook that.

Pros: Outdoor swimming pool, although they could have a central place to pick-up new- and dispose of used -towels.

Cons: We really hated it thought that guests with dogs were allowed to walk (and "toilet") their dogs just outside of the pool/barbecue area!! Nasty!!

Oh check this out, there was a man there--a guest no doubt --with his two classic cars in the parking lot. Nice cars, but one would think he wopuld have the decency to take the cars to a carwash? Noo..he was there in the hotel parking lot washing his cars! Welcome to Tackville...

The staff seemed okay, for the most part, (with one exception) but some simple courtesies that they could extend to guests were overlooked. Here's the exception; There is a mean woman who works the breakfast shift who makes no bones about reminding guests what time breakfast starts and ends, and sort of throws you out with her nasty attitude. It being Sunday morning, and after 9 hours of driving the night before, it's somewhat difficult to "rise and shine" in time for breakfast. Yes I am aware they have their schedule but I could think of at least 5 polite ways to get that message across. I went back to my room after forraging around for what was left (thru what wasn't shut off, locked up, or put away while I was standing right there and without the decency of any "I'm so sorry..." ) and decided to check their hotel guide. There is nothing there reminding guests of the times for breakfast, but they do expect you to remember all that they tell you at check-in time (even if it's at the speed of a used car sales ad when they rattle off all the disclaimers!)

For the 3 days we were there, the service is really low-rate esp. for a Marriott property, they have a long way to go. My advise is they need to clean up their act, their attitude and the property, then I'll be inclined to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoingMyWay189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    10
    8
    5
See reviews for
17
7
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, MI
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Some of the reviews we read before arriving kind of scared us and we should have taken heed. There were some good points, and many bad points, about this location.

Good... The front desk girl on the eve of June 1 was awesome. Very pleasant and chatty and got us checked in quickly and efficiently.
Good... the continental breakfast had 6 cereals to choose from, english muffins, bagels, yogurt, old fruit, juices, and make-your-own waffles.

Bad... no front desk girl on duty on morning of June 4. Just a sign (imagine the commercial on tv where there is a mixer at the counter there instead of a person). The "Chief Engineer" showed up for work and tried to get us checked out and that took forever.
Bad... cigarette butts in our living room PTAC unit. The room was non-smoking. We don't smoke. And apparently the housekeepers either (a) DO smoke, or (b) are absolutely blind. See attached picture, it was so OBVIOUS, first thing we saw when we walked in to the room.
Bad... housekeepers rummaged through my bags on the second day of our stay. I had specifically put the NO SERVICE sign on my bedroom door (we had a 2-bdrm suite), but they went in anyway, and I saw my computer bag had been opened.
Bad... housekeepers did not do any towel service or room service on the third day of our stay. We had to go to the front desk and get our own towels changed out.
Bad... apparently they allow loud barking dogs to stay here. I can understand pet-friendly, as I have a dog. But when you allow animals to bark at all hours and disturb other guests, that is just wrong.

Overall, this location is a major FAIL for Marriott. I would not recommend this location to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 125 is on the end and has huge ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGoBlueBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Mixed bag for this hotel. Upon check-in, we entered our room and found the door closed, but someone was in our room! It was a maintenance employee. Why, who knows...he had a terrible time communicating what he was doing there, but why give a room to us that wasn't up to par and was being fixed? Very scary since the room was well away from the lobby. Hotel had a very nice workour room. Outdoor pool, which was closed for the season at Thanksgiving, and a nice continental breakfast. Room price was very good and 5 of us slept comfortably in a two bedroom. The three TV's were great! We were about 30 minutes from Virginia Beach, and Williamsburg.

The breakfast had cereals, some hard fruit, some toast, donuts and pop tarts, but not much else other than orange juice, milk and yogurts. Satisfactory breakfast, never crowded. Tea and coffee all the time was great as well. Room had a full kitchen which was great. Queens in each bedroom and a sofa bed which was very nice as well as individual thermostats in each room.

Now the down sides. 1. Room walls were paper thin. You could hear the next door children screaming at all hours...yes all hours. Doors banging as well. 2. We never received sufficient linens any of the 3 days there. We had 5 people and ony 3 sets of towels. We also had difficulties getting soaps and such since we only had one in the room. 3. Room smelled like burnt soup. The kitchen was great to have, but the room smelled since someone had obviously burned something and the smell would never go away. 4. Internet was dodgy at best. Wireless worked, wire never worked. It cut out for hours at a time. Most all of these items we reported to the front desk. 5. Handles of doors and other handles such as on cabinets did not work. Doors in the room would not easily close within the room, and the deadbolt on room outside door never worked... in need of lots of maintenance....maybe that is why the maintenance employee was in the room upon check-in....but it didn't look like he worked on any of these things. 6. TV's were all old, not flat screens, they need updating.

For the low rates, though I would still stay there if I had 3 teenagers and needed the extra room and full kitchen...even with all the room difficulties.

Room Tip: Get a two bedroom room, not much more than an efficiency and provides much more room for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emsiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest IN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights using our Marriott Points. It is about a 45 minute drive to Virginia Beach. The hotel has a nice pool and the employees all seemed very friendly. The breakfast does not have very many items, but yogurt, orange juice and a banana was fine by us. The kids got the pop tarts and milk. We drove around the area and it is very close to a great shopping area and some very beautiful homes. I would stay here again if I was in the area.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Indianatraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

Spent a winter weekend here with my husband to visit the nearby sites. The hotel is nicely located away from the city and crowds. The room was clean with a good size kitchenette. The queen size bed was comfortable. The only problem was the walls are very thin. Our room faced the front of the hotel where the parking lot was. At night, you could hear people talking in the parking lot and some people were blasting loud music in their cars so all you heard was thump, thump thump for a few hours, like someone hammering. On the second night, we were woken up at 3:00 am by a couple arguing next door. You could hear every word they were saying -- that's how thin the walls were. It was as if they were in the same room with you, and they were using very foul language. The free breakfast was very so-so -- Poptarts and bagels. Nothing hot. There was bottled juice though.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norlando96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Spent 3 nights here and would highly recommend this hotel. It is a long-term stay hotel, so there is not daily house keeping or breakfast. However, there is a Courtyard next to this hotel that sells a breakfast buffet. The rooms are spacious and have a refrigerator, microwave and stove top. I found the bed to be quite firm. The location is quiet and there is a shopping center within 5 minutes that also has chain restaurants. (Chli's, Ruby Tuesday) The pool is tiny. The staff is excellent. Plenty of parking in the lot (no fee) Do your research at Mariott.com to see all of the ameneties. http://www.marriott.com/hotels/travel/orfst-towneplace-suites-suffolk-chesapeake/

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinsanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

Really nice, newer property. Check in staff were great. Clean and comfortable room. Pet deposit is really a pet fee (non refundable). Chophouse across the street and Super Walmart about a mile down the road.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BeachDog101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suffolk hotels
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Suffolk-Chesapeake
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Suffolk Chesapeake
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Suffolk
Hampton Inn Suffolk
#1 of 12 in Suffolk
241 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Suffolk Chesapeake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Suffolk Chesapeake

Property: TownePlace Suites Suffolk Chesapeake
Address: 8050 Harbour View Blvd, Suffolk, VA 23435-2940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Suffolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Suffolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Suffolk Chesapeake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our TownePlace Suites Suffolk hotel is near the Portsmouth Coast Guard Base, Norfolk Naval Base, and Joint Forces Command, and within steps of Lockheed Martin's Center for Innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your TownePlace Suites Suffolk Chesapeake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Suffolk Chesapeake Hotel Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing