We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best hotel in town”
Reviewed December 3, 2010

From the minute I walked in and the manager remembered my name from my last stay 3 months ago, to the free bottle of water to the friendly bar staff and restaurant food, this hotel rocks. Southern charm and modern accommodations make this one of my favorite stays in all of the country. I actually look forward to coming here each time because I know the staff will remember me, try to find the best room for me and the location , on the river, is beautiful and feels like home.
Ask for Sherrie....she'll treat you like family!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank splewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    153
    67
    22
    10
See reviews for
182
99
29
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

This hotel is pretty nice. The beds are fairly comfortable. My only real negative is that there are not a good selection of tv channels. :(

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulyjo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgr_Brian, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
paulyjo77, Thanks for taking the time to post comments regarding your recent stay. I am happy to report that we have already started the process of improving the channel lineup and hope to have it finalized soon. Thank you very much for staying with us and I look forward to being your hotel choice when in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2010

I have stayed there often and will always when in the area. The staff greets me by name and the service I get from check in (Sheri) to check out (Tony) always exceeds my expectations. The on-duty manager (Gena Albright) and the bar hostess (Maricris) and alternate bar tender (Justin) always know what I like. The cook (Pam) takes special care on my orders at night. In the morning I am treated to my favorites by the cook (Gwen) and served by the wait staff (Constance) who keep the coffee coming. I have no complaints.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgr_Brian, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding your experiences at our hotel. We are very proud of our ability to take care of our guests needs and make it easy to relax and enjoy. I am pleased that we are your preferred lodging choice and recognize that it is definitely our associates that make the difference!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, the State
Level 6 Contributor
481 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

This hotel blew us away - we experienced the famous Southern hospitality - at check-in, at breakfast time and at check-out. We had a comfortable, large room with view of the river and view of the sunrise. Nice place to sit on the back porch in the great rocking chairs.
Could not have wished for a nicer place. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simivalley1699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgr_Brian, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Thank you for staying with us and your wonderful comments. We do take pride in our service and it is great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

The Hilton Honors website wouldn't allow a reservation (the only rooms available were smoking and a single bed--I needed nonsmoking and two beds). I called the hotel directly and spoke with Nathan. He told me there would be no problem, just make the reservation through the Honors website and call him back. Reluctantly, I reserved the smoking room with single bed, then called him back as he requested. He quickly made a change to the reservation and we were set!

Upon arriving, we ran into Nathan and complimented him on his can-do attitude and service. Meanwhile, the Honors manager (I think her name was Sherri? Sorry if I got it wrong!) processed our registration and offered us cold bottled water and a plate of freshly baked (homemade?) chocolate chip cookies.

Check in and check out were quick, the room and bathroom were very clean, no odors, no evidence of prior guests, and the bedding, as we expected, was sublime--most comfortable and clean. One thing we noticed is that when turning on the room TV, it's volume control defaults to LOUD--not good if you are trying to check the weather forecast while others sleep. When we called the front desk to ask for an additional coffee packet, the housekeeper was prompt, friendly, and provided us with multiple packs.

The view from our room was really gorgeous. We overlooked the Nansemond River, with an undeveloped wetland (tidal marsh) on the opposite bank. It stretched for a mile or two off to our right. Very nice, with lots of water birds and the occasional jumping fish.

The hotel was very busy this weekend due to a district women's club meeting (the hotel calls itself a convention center, too), but even with all of the extra business, we weren't inconvenienced in the least. The parking lot was pretty full, but that was about the extent of our inconvenience.

The public areas were opulent but tasteful. I used the business center briefly to check email--the space was small (room for two to work), but I had no issues with internet service or their computer. The off-lobby men's room was sparkling clean and spacious. The ladies' room, I'm told, was in need of service (inadequate T.P.) probably due to the influx of club members that weekend.

I can't speak about the food because we didn't eat there. However, there is a McDonald's within an easy walk (their coffee is very good). There is also a Kelly's Tavern (a local chain) about a block or two away and they have fantastic hamburgers and fresh-cut french fries for a quick dinner.

All in all, I would not hesitate to return or to recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doodleysquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

I've stayed at the hotel twice and both times been happy with the rooms and general operations. Currently the employees all seem very eager to please, friendly and happy to do what is needed to make up for any issues. The rooms are nice. It has a full bar and room service. Breakfast is nice. Service can be a problem at dinner as I think the crowd can be sporadic creating staffing issues. The gym is OK, needs free weights. They have a complimentary buffet on Wednesdays of light snacks and a free glass of wine, which is nice. Of all the business travel hotels I've been in, and I've been in a lot, this is high on the list.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickieB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

This is a nice, crisp, clean place with a lovely interior. The rooms are large and comfortable. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms roomy and very modern. We have managed to get the full breakfast free (by asking) when we order our reservations by phone. It's a great breakfast with everything you could possibly want.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelhappy919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suffolk
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Suffolk
Hampton Inn Suffolk
#1 of 12 in Suffolk
258 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Suffolk-Chesapeake
13.5 mi away
Courtyard Suffolk Chesapeake
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
Address: 100 E Constance Rd, Suffolk, VA 23434-3779
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Suffolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Suffolk
#3 Business Hotel in Suffolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn is a wonderful riverfront hotel in Suffolk, VA, set on a six-acre park on the banks of the Nansemond River. With the scenery plus 14,000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space, our hotel is the perfect place to host your next conference or event. Our on-site restaurant, Constant's Wharf Grill, is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Relax in a spacious and warm guest room featuring the adjustable Garden Sleep System® bed and other amenities including a refrigerator, microwave, complimentary in-room coffee, complimentary high-speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Hotel Suffolk
Suffolk Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing