We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Assigned smoking room with windows that can't be opened.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Assigned smoking room with windows that can't be opened.”
Reviewed June 16, 2010

I reserved my stay at this hotel about three months ahead, requesting a non-smoking room. On Memorial Day weekend, I was with about 14 friends, and I was the second to check in. When checking in, I just assumed the room would be non-smoking. To make a long story short, when I got to the room, I immediately called the desk. I was given the choice of two smoking rooms, and had the opportunity to choose the least offensive. I was told there were no more non-smoking rooms available, although some of my friends, who registered after me, were assigned non-smoking rooms. None of the windows in this hotel open -- it is hermetically sealed, so you can imagine what a smoking room smells like. I was given an "air filter" which was useless. Room was clean, but telephone and clock were greasy and needed cleaning. I would recommend this hotel to a friend with the proviso that they are adamant about getting a non-smoking room.

On a subsequent trip to Monterey, Va., I stayed at the Highland Inn. On the bureau, there was a card which stated that if you smoked in this room, you would be immediately evicted and charged $50 for cleaning and airing the room. Hilton Garden Hotels should emulate this policy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    153
    67
    22
    10
See reviews for
182
99
29
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

My husband and I decided to stay here on one of our "DATE NIGHTS". I am a very picky person and a stickler for cleanliness. I can truly say I could not find one thing to complain about. The hotel was nice and clean, the bar was nice and restaurant was enjoyable and the breakfast was really good (Thanks Ms. Constance). We enjoyed peace and quiet the entire time. Check in and out was a breeze and the staff was friendly. Thanks for an enjoyable stay!!
M. SCOTT

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuffolkMrsM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2009

I thought that this hotel was beautiful and I was so excited when we pulled up the front door. However, my room was not as nice. The room was dingy and didn't feel very clean. The bathroom was not "sparkling" like I expect a hotel room to be. When I ran the shower, the water in the tub "foamed" up as if it hadn't been cleaned well...or certainly not rinsed well. The TV was fuzzy on many stations.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgroether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Great hotel with a lovely outlook to the rear. Clean and comfortable with impressive entrance foyer. Porch area to rear was a great place to sit and relax, only negative was this area was not cleared of debris from previous customers until the following morning.
The restaurant was very good and surprisingly inexpensive.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RittyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

This was a nice place with good, new rooms and helpful staff. I did not have a car and found it very isolated. No bars and little for eating within walking distance, except a Subway.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cx7542a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte,NC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

I stayed here on my way to NJ and on the way back, and the staff during the first leg of the trip were great, the front desk staff were so welcoming, had my room ready immediately, greeted me by my name, if felt great! The room was so nice, the bedding awesome, the flat screen tv, a plus, the Neutrogena products a nice touch. On the 2nd trip back, the same staff remember us and was just as welcoming. Went to dinner at the restaurant both times, good food, reasonable price. The pool was a little small, the water seemed a little dirty, and plants needed some serious watering.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

I was in Suffolk for 5 weeks on business, and could not have found a better place to stay. The staff was fabulous -- kind, courteous, prompt, thoughtful. The rooms are well appointed and large. The beds are adjustable for firmness and have a nice thick wool topper that feels great. The location is absolutely gorgeous -- on a marina where boats frequently park. The amenities were great -- a nice workout room, an indoor pool, on-site laundromat, business center, and a decent restaurant.

I will stay here again on future visits and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caholla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suffolk
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Suffolk
Hampton Inn Suffolk
#1 of 12 in Suffolk
258 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Suffolk-Chesapeake
13.5 mi away
Courtyard Suffolk Chesapeake
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
Address: 100 E Constance Rd, Suffolk, VA 23434-3779
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Suffolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Suffolk
#3 Business Hotel in Suffolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn is a wonderful riverfront hotel in Suffolk, VA, set on a six-acre park on the banks of the Nansemond River. With the scenery plus 14,000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space, our hotel is the perfect place to host your next conference or event. Our on-site restaurant, Constant's Wharf Grill, is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Relax in a spacious and warm guest room featuring the adjustable Garden Sleep System® bed and other amenities including a refrigerator, microwave, complimentary in-room coffee, complimentary high-speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Hotel Suffolk
Suffolk Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing