We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night on the riverfront....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Yorktown, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A night on the riverfront....”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel overnight due to it being in close proximity of a funeral lthat I had to attend the next day. Check in was fast and efficient. The grounds of the hotel are nice although it is across from a cemetary!! The accomadations were good, the bed was comfy. I requested a room with a riverfront view and to me the view was of a pond with a small dock! Not what I was expecting when I saw the pictures displayed on hotel website. The walls are paper thin, the adjoining room had kids in it and a baby and they were loud for a better part of the night!!! The best part about the hotel was the food!!! the restaurant is located in the lobby and they provide room service and I was impressed!! My ribeye was cooked perfectly and the sides and bread were more than enough. Breakfast in the am consisted of a homeade blueberry belgian waffle wihich was to die for and eggs and bacon. All food was reasonably priced. Overall I would stay here again, hopefully under different circumstances and hopefully not be in a room with loud kids!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    143
    63
    21
    9
See reviews for
170
97
29
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel the same weekend for the past 5 years and there has been a huge decline compared to past years. We booked 3 rooms over a month ahead of time but they were on separate ends of the hall and on different floors. There were holes in the shower curtain in our room and the sheets felt like sandpaper. We did complain and our rates were reduced to compensate.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fourkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgr_Brian, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We want you to know that we appreciate your business and loyalty over the years, and we will make the necessary corrections for you and our future guest as well. We hope you to see you again soon. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Hilton chain has been good, but this one was outstanding! ALL the staff went out of their way to make this stay so great. They left us and our guests speechless. From the first night that we checked in until the day we checked out the staff made this visit the best! We had our Thanksgiving meal, our daughters reception, and breakfast with the hotel and wow! The food was seasoned well, nicely plated, and dare I say food network worthy! And who can forget the staff that truly made this stay so unforgettable with a smile or “let me help you” . On check out we asked for staff members names because each one made our stay just a little bit better and we could not remember every name so let us say ALL staff members present made our staff great! Great staff, great view, beautiful rooms, great food, and a great value; what more could you ask for in a hotel...

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The biggest surprise about this hotel is the location. Within a short walk is everything you could need. Across the street is a 24 hour Rite Aid, McDonalds, Wendys and other restaurants. Towards town is the Riddick's Folly Musuem, the Seaboard Railroad Museum, the Visitors Center and more. What a great location.

And yes it has a river view. The hotel is new built to look like a old southern style building. Inside are large rooms with good beds and nice bathrooms. The lobby has plenty of space for gathering. The bar is very small, only adequate. The hotel restaurant average. The meeting facility is extremely flexible and can hold all types of events.

Room Tip: Park in the side lot near the river and use the end door to access the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Railhistoryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront Hotel for three days in November of 2012. My first and lasting impression was about their fantastic customer service. From the front desk to the restaurant, everyone I encountered was pleasant, cheerful and warm. The rooms were a good size and provided work space at the desk, a microwave oven and a small in-room fridge, perfect for left-overs and snack on a longer stay. The parking is free and the drive was about 20 minutes to all larger cities in every direction. I has a nice room on the third floor with a view of the riverfront.

I received complementary breakfast coupons for all three days and ate at their on-site restaurant. The service was great! Our waitstaff even got our toast despite it being a serve-yourself buffet!

Overall, it's a great value and a great space. I would stay their again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgr_Brian, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! The hotel is beautiful, has great views and is conveniently located but by far the best quality is the staff. It is always wonderful hear when someone experiences our warm "Southern Hospitality".

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was informed that there would be an early check in however upon arrival I was told differently. This was what everyone in my group was informed. Once entering my room I was given a double bed room instead of the reserved King bed. I called the front desk, to be told that there were not any rooms left. Problems in the room: heater in room not working, iron only could be used in one direction (rough bottom) and luke warm water for a shower in the morning. We were suppose to get vouchers for food but they couldn't locate them. In the morning I went to eat breakfast and the servers didn't know how to deal with the vouchers. It took me longer to get my check then eat. The staff had trouble understanding how process things at government rates. When a problem came up there was an excuse not a fix nor a reason given for all of the concerns.
On the plus side the facility was clean and newer. The food was adequate. Free parking but not ever close to entrance. Wi fi free. Nice view and easy to find.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationgwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgr_Brian, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I sincerely appreciate your comments and apologize for the service issues that were encountered during your stay. Although it is disappointing to hear of service problems, we will certainly take your comments constructively and work to prevent future occurrences.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to providing better service during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The front desk was very helpful. Room very clean. Nice view. Traveling alone felt safe. Small pool. Free parking. Bed comfortable. Large bathroom. Not to bad of a drive to Norfolk International Airport. There were a couple of family reunions going on.

Room Tip: Stay on main level if traveling alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bharden2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgr_Brian, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to having as our guest again in the future.

Thank you very much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suffolk
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Suffolk
Hampton Inn Suffolk
#1 of 12 in Suffolk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Suffolk-Chesapeake
13.5 mi away
Courtyard Suffolk Chesapeake
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake Square Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
Address: 100 E Constance Rd, Suffolk, VA 23434-3779
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Suffolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Suffolk
#3 Business Hotel in Suffolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn is a wonderful riverfront hotel in Suffolk, VA, set on a six-acre park on the banks of the Nansemond River. With the scenery plus 14,000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space, our hotel is the perfect place to host your next conference or event. Our on-site restaurant, Constant's Wharf Grill, is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Relax in a spacious and warm guest room featuring the adjustable Garden Sleep System® bed and other amenities including a refrigerator, microwave, complimentary in-room coffee, complimentary high-speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Hotel Suffolk
Suffolk Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing