We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff needs training”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2009

All I can say about this hotel is, Southern charm goes only so far. We were checked into room 219, which has a truck sized ac unit parked outside the window. Without the benefit of being informed of the obstruction we requested to be moved to another room away from operating machines. We were moved to 301 which the front desk staff seemingly didn't realize was one floor above, but only one door down from 219 and closer to the ice machine and elevator. The wait staff got our breakfest order wrong and the omelet was greasy. We checked out early. Not a really good Hilton experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BevNewYorkCity_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 540 of 540 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2009

Had a suite, bed was so comfortable. Room was very clean. Spacious!! Price is a little high, but they will go down in price, all you have to do is ask. Didn't get to eat in the resturant, but it was a little pricey also. Attended a wedding reception held there at the hotel, it was beautiful!! We was there 3 days and didn't want to leave. Very close to alot of extras. Will stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walmartgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

I chose to stay at the brand new beautiful Hilton Garden Inn on Harbour View Blvd in Suffolk Virginia. The hotel has the best service out of any hotel I have stayed in in Suffolk, Chesapeake, Portsmouth or Hampton. This is by far the best hotel in this area.

The front desk service was absolutly refreshing with a staff full of southern charm and Hilton professionalism.

My husband and I arrived for a Change of Command Party and decided to stay for the weekend as well. The first night we ate dinner in the restaurant. The chef cooks alot of his food from scratch. Our server was fantastic! Apparently we stayed at the right time because they just updated their entire menu. They have something for everyone! We had no problems at all. The Change of Command Party that we were going to was actually held at the hotel. Again there was no room for disappointment. The food and service were impecable. The entire weekend was pulled off without a hitch!!

The hotel is so modern. All the decor is so beautiful. You will not find another Hilton Garden Inn like this one around anywhere. It is definatly worth checking into.

The River Front Golf Course jus behind the hotel has the most awesome playing grounds. Harbour View movie theatre is just a short walk up the street. There is plenty of shopping and you can get to any city in Hampton Roads in just a few minutes.

This will definatly be my hometown vacation spot.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breezy5010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Sylvana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyZablanGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karlbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suffolk hotels
12.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
1 mi away
Courtyard Suffolk Chesapeake
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Suffolk
Hampton Inn Suffolk
#1 of 12 in Suffolk
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Suffolk-Chesapeake
11 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk
1.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Suffolk Chesapeake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk

Address: 5921 Harbour View Blvd, Suffolk, VA 23435-3295
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Suffolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Suffolk
Price Range: $93 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk is a Northern Suffolk hotel and borders the cities of Chesapeake and Portsmouth. In our unique location in Harbor View Commerce Park, we are less than half a mile from businesses like Joint Forces Command and Bon Secours Health Systems, making Hilton Garden Inn ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Our hotel can also host your next conference or event, featuring 4,000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space for up to 250 guests. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at our hotel's Great American Grill(R) Restaurant and Bar. Our Northern Suffolk hotel is also close to shopping, dining, and entertainment, including Bridgeway Commerce Park and Harbour View Grand Cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk Hotel Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing