We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people working at this Hilton Garden Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great people working at this Hilton Garden Inn”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I was in the Norfolk area for a weekend with my 6 year old to meet up with family. This hotel is within walking distance to 2 grocery stores, many restaurants and a movie theater. My daughter had the pool and hot tub to herself for hours on Saturday and although she had never been to Virginia, as she walked into this HGI she said, "I've been to this hotel before." It is definitely an identifiable HGI. Also- next to a neighborhood so lots of sidewalks for running.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyZablanGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. We have some great running trails around us with specacular views ! I appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback about your stay, it really means a lot to us .

Best Regards,
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    122
    56
    27
    12
See reviews for
162
77
24
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night while traveling down the east coast. We arrived after 11pm after being stuck in traffic for over 3 hours coming out of Washington DC. Check-in was smooth. I hopped right into bed as I was sick as a dog. By 12:30, the electrical unit outside our room was making so much noise my husband and a friend of ours could not sleep (I had earplugs ;) We requested a new room and were moved to a room two doors down and had to exchange rooms again (same problem). Then we got moved to the 4th floor. Asked if we could leave our stuff in our old room until morning since it was so late and were told we had to move everything right then which was a real pain as we had already unpacked a lot of things.
I can say that Hilton stands by its 100 percent satisfaction guaranteed though. Filed a complaint through Bookit and the hotel refunded half the price of the hotel.
If it wasnt for the inconvenience, the hotel would of been great. Rooms were clean, and beds were comfortable.
TIP: If you stay here, look out the window and see what is outside your room before you unpack. Unless you are someone who can sleep through anything ;)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyHGISuffolk, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks so much for letting us know about your experience! I apologize that you were placed in rooms close to the air conditioner units as they can be a bit noisy! I’m glad we were able to get you settled into a more quite room. We always want you to enjoy your stay so we absolutely stand behind our Promise guarantee and hope to have you stay with us again in the future. Happy Holidays and thanks for staying with us!

Amy Zablan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Although cheaper in priced and newer, I don't care for this Hilton Garden. Stayed here for 3 nights and every night, there were guests slamming doors, walking up and down the halls all hours of the night. Located on a main highway, it is a good hotel for passing through I guess. The television reception was not clear and the free wifi was incredibly slow. 3 out of 4 times, I lost connection. Not one of the best Hilton Garden hotels around. The beds were extremely uncomfortable!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank susanj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyHGISuffolk, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks so much for letting us know about your experience! I apologize that experienced noise from other guests during your stay. Thanks also for letting us know you experienced issues with the Cable and the Internet. Both services are provided by outside companies and we will certainly check into the issues you mentioned. Our hotel is known for the comfort of our Sleep System beds, as they can be adjusted to different comfort levels to accommodate each guest. I’m sorry you didn’t have a good night sleep in them! We appreciate the feedback and will certainly address all issues to make sure they are resolved for future stays for yourself or other future guests. Thanks again for letting us know about your experience…it’s how we make continuous improvements to the hotel.

Happy Holidays!

Amy Zablan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very nice/helpful front desk staff. The little travel shop next to it has almost everything you forgot to bring with you. The rooms are clean and liked the scent of the shampoo and conditioner.
The breakfast was good, but did not expect to pay for it (~$10). There was a free option, but it only included bread, oatmeal, and fruit. I paid the first morning, the second morning I went right down the road, next to the movie theater, and ate at The Broken Egg (which will be my next review). I didn't mind paying for food there.

Room Tip: Military/government discount is amazing, if you can use it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workmanea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyHGISuffolk, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks so much for letting us know about your experience! We appreciate the kind words about the hotel and hope to have you again as our guest. We do have some great bed and breakfast deals that offer a great rate and include discounted breakfast if you decide to stay in the future. ( ps. The broken egg is great for breakfast too ... and a great option for those that like breakfast foods at any time of the day )

Safe Travels!
Amy Zablan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel experience was wonderful. The Staff makes you feel special. The were very friendly and very accomodating. It was such a pleasant experience to see how friendly everyone was from the front desk staff to the restaurant and bar. Speaking about the restaurant, I had some of the best Salmon with mixed vegetables and Orzo that I have had in a long time. It was quite remarkable because I travel around the US and eat at many fine restaurants. Sometimes you find a diamond in the rough.

Once again, I highly recommend this location for the friendly hometown feeling of the staff and the great food right in the American Grill in the hotel. After a long day working sometimes you don't feel like going to a restaurant to sit and wait for a good meal.

From a happy Hilton Diamond Traveler

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side face the woods and you feel like you are looking out in your own backyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyHGISuffolk, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We love our Diamond Members at Hilton Garden Inn, and appreciate your feedback. It means a lot to us! Our Salmon is also one of my favorites, and a best kept secret if I do say so myself! Thanks for staying with us and for letting us know about your experience. We hope to have you again as our guest.

Safe Travels!
Amy Zablan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTCLAIR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location near the former Joint Forces Command and near resturants and theater. Friendly and accomodating staff. Comfortable room and modern ammenities. However, if they did not offer bonus miles, I probably would not have eaten in the American Grill. Prices too high for the breakfast. Dinner wasn't stellar either.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyHGISuffolk, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We thank you for your comments. Thanks for staying with us and letting us know about your experience in the American Grill! We hope to have you again as our guest.

Safe Travels!
Amy Zablan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Visiting relatives stationed in Norfolk. Great location and value - safe, quiet, nearby restaurants. Staff was nice and the rooms were clean. Offer breakfast and have a bar. Also an outdoor patio with a grill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNTourist08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyHGISuffolk, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We thank you for your comments. Thanks for staying with us, we hope to have you again as our guest.

Safe Travels and Best Wishes,
Amy Zablan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suffolk
12.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Suffolk-Chesapeake
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Suffolk
Hampton Inn Suffolk
#1 of 12 in Suffolk
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Suffolk Chesapeake
11.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake Square Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk
Address: 5921 Harbour View Blvd, Suffolk, VA 23435-3295
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Suffolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Suffolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk is a Northern Suffolk hotel and borders the cities of Chesapeake and Portsmouth. In our unique location in Harbor View Commerce Park, we are less than half a mile from businesses like Joint Forces Command and Bon Secours Health Systems, making Hilton Garden Inn ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Our hotel can also host your next conference or event, featuring 4,000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space for up to 250 guests. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at our hotel's Great American Grill(R) Restaurant and Bar. Our Northern Suffolk hotel is also close to shopping, dining, and entertainment, including Bridgeway Commerce Park and Harbour View Grand Cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk Hotel Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing