We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a night”
Review of Motel 6 Suffolk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Suffolk
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is an average Quality Inn for a night. It is one of the cheaper hotels in the area, but for one night it is good. The hotel is a bit older but it works good for one night. The landscaping isn't kept up that great, but the room itself was clean. It had a pool that they were cleaning for the summer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USFBowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmarksVA397, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Suffolk, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

We are pleased that you have chosen to leave a review. Yes our hotel is a bit older but we have made numerous upgrades to ensure our guests have a very pleasant stay. We are unsure why you would say our landscaping isnt kept up that great when we do our landscaping twice a week. We do appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you at Quality Inn Suffolk again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 71 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

The staff was wonderful. Breakfast was very good and plentiful. The pool was very clean and refreshing. The beds were old and worn with one broken. It was clean and the grounds outside were nice to walk around. All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maciejny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Hotel staff was very poliet. The courtesy of the staff is amazing. Best hotel experience I ever had.
Hotel is very clean. Nice breakfast in compare to other hotels we experiencesed afterwards.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raquel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We love Quality Inn's so we chose to stay here..It started out great with the manager giving a contractors rate of 50.00..plus 25 for each dog..So we stayed for a Week as we travel 20 days plus a month with business..then we got our room..small, smelled kinda like burnt hair..but we opened the door aired it out..they had a pool but it was closed, good breakfast and then we woke up on day 2 and it went down hill..No towels in the room.We were told to call the desk and request it daily so the next day we did and we were told that at a weekly rate they didnt clean or furnish clean towels...with trash and dirty towels by day 5 we heard an explosion and saw sparks and black smoke.The air/furnace blew up..we called the desk..after 3 hrs we asked for a new room and were told housekeeping would have to see it first..I told them it was not healthy for us or our animals to be around the smoke beside us not wanting our belongings ruined as it was spraying out freon..they put is in the room next door..we could still smell the burning smell..the very next day they had rented the room to someone else..we heard it making the same noises it did before it caught on fire and told the guest nextdoor to be careful..they complained checked out when they were told they couldnt move..We then got a call to our room warning us not to speak to other guests or we could leave. We left early also..when we tried to get our deposit back we were told that they were keeping it because "WE" were responsible for the heating/air unit first room..And.by the way even with thick black smoke from plastic being on fire the alarm nor the sprinklers never went off..The room was only re-sheeted and vaccuumed..they were in the room fixing it for 15min. Rm 149 is a death trap..Im calling the fire dept. next..Dont be decieved by the outward apperance..

Room Tip: Dont stay here sprinklers and smoke alarms dont work when airconditioner caught on fire..dont use ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank carmellacorso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmarksVA397, Manager at Motel 6 Suffolk, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Thank you for your worst review.but we wish all these things you said were the truth and if they were then why did you stayed for 7 days? And then you requested to extend your stay and we could not extend it because you had two dogs and trashed the room which you waere staying from the past 7 days with your dogs. when you were checked inn you said that you have one dog and you will keep the dog in your truck. you also said that you will take it with you to work. we found out that you had two dogs and you lock them in the room all day long. when checking into the hotel you were supose to let the front desk know that you had two dog and you were going to keep them in the room. And after hidding the second dog you came to the front and used the F word when you were told that the price of the room for one night was different then the weekly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Recent stay, Feb 2012. Finished business in Norfolk, seemed good idea to get a little away from the city for morning drive west. I must admit, front desk personnel were very polite and efficient. My first assigned room had the stopper from the sink sitting on the counter, should have been a sign. Brushed my teeth and all kinds of glob came up out of the drain, disgusting, water would not go down. Second room seemed ok, but as I showered I noticed an old soap bar in the tub with hairs etc. Sad but true, Quality Inn's and all these older properties with outside access are falling way behind time. Spend a little more and go to a Holiday Inn Exp or Comfort inn, never ever again at a Quality Property, don't care if it is free.

Room Tip: Not the backside building, seems to have been forgotten.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gerald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This is a very average place to stay and in many respects does an ok job i.e. cleanish, staff friendly and at the price point (which is the point) represents value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eastwoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights after driving through the area from Canada on our way to the Outer Banks, NC. There are several hotels in the area however many of them appeared to be rather run down and did not seem to be in the best area. We did not make prior arrangements for accomodations so after trying to secure a room at the Hilton only to find they were fully booked we were recommended by their front desk staff to stay here as it was the next best choice. Upon pulling up we discovered that this was in fact the same hotel we had stayed at 5 years earlier only then it was the Holiday Inn. The rates were reasonable and they even gave us a reduced rate from their standard walk-up rate. The rooms were spacious and included the mini-fridge and microwave which is great when travelling with little ones. The furnishings were modern and the hotel was pretty well-maintained. The room was clean however it could have used a good overall scrubbing as the walls and doors were a bit dirty and I didn't feel the bathtub was clean enough for me to want to bath my children in so we opted to shower them instead. The continental breakfast provided lots of good options including a scrambled eggs and sausages and the dining room was spacious and inviting. The pool was great and there was lots of seating with tables and umbrellas. There was lots of parking which was good as we were pulling a utility trailer. The hotel was in a good area which felt safe as it was on the outskirts of the main city centre. Overall we had a really good stay and would return again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_chaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmarksVA397, Manager at Motel 6 Suffolk, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2011

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We truely appreciate each and every guest that chooses to leave their comments. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future. You and your family were truely a pleasure to work with and we enjoyed having you with us. Again, thank you for your time you took to leave this review and hope you take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suffolk hotels
10.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Suffolk-Chesapeake
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Suffolk
Hampton Inn Suffolk
#1 of 12 in Suffolk
280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
12.8 mi away
Courtyard Suffolk Chesapeake
11.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Suffolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Suffolk

Address: 2864 Pruden Blvd, Suffolk, VA 23434-7231 (Formerly Quality Inn Suffolk)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Suffolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
Price Range: $51 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Suffolk 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Motel-6, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Suffolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Suffolk Hotel Suffolk
Suffolk Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing