We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable”
Review of Motel 6 Suffolk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Suffolk
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This is a very average place to stay and in many respects does an ok job i.e. cleanish, staff friendly and at the price point (which is the point) represents value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eastwoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    9
    11
    22
See reviews for
24
12
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights after driving through the area from Canada on our way to the Outer Banks, NC. There are several hotels in the area however many of them appeared to be rather run down and did not seem to be in the best area. We did not make prior arrangements for accomodations so after trying to secure a room at the Hilton only to find they were fully booked we were recommended by their front desk staff to stay here as it was the next best choice. Upon pulling up we discovered that this was in fact the same hotel we had stayed at 5 years earlier only then it was the Holiday Inn. The rates were reasonable and they even gave us a reduced rate from their standard walk-up rate. The rooms were spacious and included the mini-fridge and microwave which is great when travelling with little ones. The furnishings were modern and the hotel was pretty well-maintained. The room was clean however it could have used a good overall scrubbing as the walls and doors were a bit dirty and I didn't feel the bathtub was clean enough for me to want to bath my children in so we opted to shower them instead. The continental breakfast provided lots of good options including a scrambled eggs and sausages and the dining room was spacious and inviting. The pool was great and there was lots of seating with tables and umbrellas. There was lots of parking which was good as we were pulling a utility trailer. The hotel was in a good area which felt safe as it was on the outskirts of the main city centre. Overall we had a really good stay and would return again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_chaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmarksVA397, Manager at Motel 6 Suffolk, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We truely appreciate each and every guest that chooses to leave their comments. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future. You and your family were truely a pleasure to work with and we enjoyed having you with us. Again, thank you for your time you took to leave this review and hope you take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2011

This is the best hotel that i have ever stayed at in suffolk the staff has made every visit there very special the rooms are clean and theyhave always made sure that all my needs were met i would like to say thank you to Sara Mrks and the rest of the staff for making evey visit a great one.

A.DERRY

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mememe1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmarksVA397, Manager at Motel 6 Suffolk, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. It is guests like you that every hotel strives for. We appreciate every guest who comes and goes from this property and give a special thanks to those of you who we would call "regulars". Thank you again for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Do not let their website mislead you. This is not your usual Quality Inn or Choice Hotels. There are several rooms rented by employees that work with my husband and the rooms are nasty. the furniture is dirty and stained. The ceilings appear to have water damage as there are very noticable patched areas. Our mini-fridge and microwave are very stained. I bleached them before we used them.The hotel offered us a reasonable weekly rate. However, management eventually informed us, extended stay guests have different rules than other guests. We were told we can only get towels/washcloths, etc., every other day. However, once we explained to them, we are paying guests and we do take daily showers, management gave in to our request for linens. Although, this is not a smoke free facility, we are not allowed to smoke at the pool..Our room directly faces the pool and smoking is allowed. We have no choice but to stay for the next few days, as we paid in advance and cannot get a refund. We will not return to this hotel if at all possible. I've traveled alot with my husband over the years and never had any problems with hotels/motels like this. The pool is the best attraction offered here. The staff is nice but, seem to watch the guests too closely for comfort. You feel as though you are being followed. very uneasy feeling.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tlc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmarksVA397, Manager at Motel 6 Suffolk, responded to this review, June 4, 2011
We keep all of our guest's best interests in mind. Yes, the property has a few smoking rooms, but we keep in mind that some/most guests have small children, allergies or just don't like to be around smoke. So yes, the swimming pool area is a non-smoking area and we are not ashamed to enforce this rule. Also, as an exterior property, we take our guest's security very seriously. So yes, we are not ashamed to say that we watch our property closely. Why this guest says the rooms are bad, we do not know. They have stated to us a couple times now that they loved our property like their own house. They have been staying here for many months, left for a different job, and then came right back. This review has been posted directly after asking them to leave the pool area while they were smoking and drinking. So, our only guess is that they were upset at that time about our rules.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Yes, the location of this hotel is PERFECT, right on RT 460 East( no turns or detours)
However, the clealiness of the hotel was OK ( just)
No ice machines near the rooms
Moldy spots on the walls in the bed areas and bathrooms.
The staff- spooky!
I had to be/get aggresive with the staff( Not my way of life)
Because, I had eldery travelers with me to attend a funeral and the family needed to leave earlier than planned and we did NOT have time to get my eldely father out of the car and into the hotel through the reception area and into the dining area to eat breakfast so my dad could take his medicine.
The staff had a fit! Because I needed to take breakfast and GO...
Handicapp room only had bars in the shower.

Room Tip: Go to Rt 58A where other options are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pedikatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Adirondacks
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

This Quality Inn isn't up to the same standards as the others I've stayed at recently. The exterior, lobby and restaurant are all well-maintained, but the rooms are showing their age. The carpets and wallpaper are somewhat worn, the ceiling is inexpertly patched, and so on. The breakfast was a bit disappointing: poor quality coffee, mass-market pastries, scrambled eggs and sausage that was mostly gone when I arrived each morning at 8:30. The TV was an older CRT model, not a new flat-screen. The room seemed smaller than at other Quality Inns, but it was reasonably clean and had no odor. The free wireless Internet access worked fine. This motel is located right near the highway, so if you just want a place to crash for the night, it's perfectly acceptable, but it's not the place to spend your vacation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peever, South Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Room was just renevated, real nice. Traveled down with my wife to visit family and needed a place to stay. Hotel was right off highway so was conveniant to get to. The personell was very pleasant, very friendly. Also very informative, answered any questions we had asked them. Very affordable rates. Over all was very pleased with our stay and would deffinately stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmarksVA397, Manager at Motel 6 Suffolk, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Thank you very much for your wonderful review! It was such a pleasure having you here with us, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope to see you again when you're in this area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suffolk hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Suffolk
Hampton Inn Suffolk
#1 of 12 in Suffolk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Suffolk-Chesapeake
11.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk
12.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Suffolk Chesapeake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Suffolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Suffolk

Property: Motel 6 Suffolk
Address: 2864 Pruden Blvd, Suffolk, VA 23434-7231 (Formerly Quality Inn Suffolk)
Location: United States > Virginia > Suffolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Suffolk 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Motel-6, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Motel 6 Suffolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Suffolk Hotel Suffolk
Suffolk Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing