We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Virginia history trip

Really enjoyed our visit to Stratford Hall. First, it is about 45 minutes east of Fredericksburg... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
NSF4040
,
Lafayette, Indiana
I like history

It is a great place with lots of history. I love wondering around here and like seeing the work... read more

Reviewed August 12, 2018
Tamilee68
,
Savannah, Georgia
via mobile
Read all 196 reviews
  
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
121
52
15
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
52
15
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lee family great house grist mill house tour potomac river declaration of independence visitor center shark teeth renovations going our tour guide oyster festival gift shop ancestral home oysters great site plantation grounds wonderful tour
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really enjoyed our visit to Stratford Hall. First, it is about 45 minutes east of Fredericksburg therefore, it does not get the visitors as much as other historic homes in the area. Plenty of their own and state signage on the way but, unless I missed it, there was no sign on the passenger side when you pull in to the left from the highway. Missed the entrance and had to turn around.
Since they do not get the traffic the tour is more even paced and very informative. Our guide was helpful and took time to point out items and answer questions without lingering too long. Grounds are beautiful.
Would suggest to anyone going there to make the 5-10 trip to the Potomac to see the cliffs on the river. Never knew that the Potomac had cliffs. And we saw an eagle that nests in the area.
The Lees are not given enough credit in helping form our country.
Logistics: not much in the area in the way of restaurants. Need to go back to Fredericksburg. Traffic getting there was light; good 2 and 4 lane highway.

Thank NSF4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

It is a great place with lots of history. I love wondering around here and like seeing the work that is being done to restore the place and keep it up. I think it is important to have places to visit like this and see the landscapes and how architecture has changed and evolved.

Thank Tamilee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

Thankfully, military families get in free at Stratford Hall, because otherwise we wouldn’t have been very happy. The staff is cranky and pretty unwelcoming. Our tour guide (Jamie) was really, really long winded...and slightly rude at times. After a while I just tuned her out and hoped she would finish her random run-on thoughts. We really learned nothing about the house because the guide really only talked about the gossipy aspects of who married who and who cheated on who and who was rich & who was broke. Who cares?! Although, the grounds and beach area are lovely and made it worth our drive. It was a nice day spent outdoors, but I would definitely recommend you just skip the guided house tour and do a self tour, if possible. FYI, the cafe/restaurant is no longer serving food. You can get super overpriced snacks /drinks in the gift shop, if needed.

Thank gk8way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018

Stratford Hall hosts a bunch of events at different times of the year. There's a big yard area, as well as a building with historical museum exhibits of Virginia and Civil War history.

Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2018

Love taking family to visit Stratford Hall, the Lee Family home. Tours are excellent. Artifacts are wonderful. Definitely worth a visit.

Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018

Great day trip from Washington DC. Wonderful informative tour of the Great House. Grounds great for walking.

Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2018

I was very impressed by the Great House, stately and historic, the tours are very good, and very different depending on the guide as it should be, I have taken two tours and they really differed. giving good information each time. The home is being worked on, and they do not close it off, but use the reno., for education. The gift shop is quaint, but affordable. There are no eats here unless the seasonal restaurant is open.

Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2018

It's great that a group of women came together in 1929 to purchase and preserve this important Georgian building of the 1730's. Although Robert E. Lee's family soon lost the property to bankruptcy following his birth, the buildings and the surrounding property have been wonderfully restored and maintained. As a "house tour", there is not that much to see (re furnishings) so our docent worked hard to create stories of colonial life and times. We visited in the winter and did not tour the grounds but I'm sure that would have enhanced our experience. It's a bit off the beaten path but was a pleasant detour to avoid the Richmond/Washington traffic for us Northbound travelers.

Thank pcyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful autumn afternoon here at this wonderfully restored historic home. Thankfully, the previous owners saved it from ruin and severe damage. We are grateful that the foundation is dedicated to sweating the details in their continuous efforts to bring the house ti life in a realistic and historic manner.
Our tour guide made our visit both fun and educational. All the staff here are great and very interested in making your visit a memorable one.
This is a handsome home to begin with and as a serious traveler and history buff, I can say that these are some of the nicest rooms that I have been in from this era in America.
Stay on the road heading away from the house on the grounds and stop to see the farm, the grist mill and the cliffs.There are some very nice trails that you can hike in this area of the grounds. There are a few nice , uncrowded spots where you can picnic too.

Thank Cakes77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017

Wonderful tour of Stratford Hall Plantation.So fortunate to get Martha.She made history literally come alive.

Thank nano144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews