We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant find...”
Review of The Strasburg Cafe - CLOSED

The Strasburg Cafe
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Best deli sandwiches in town. Specialties, Reubens, Club sandwiches, Soup of the day, chili and lots of baked goods and coffees.
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What a pleasant find...”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My friend and I wandered upon this place in the small town of Strasburg while heading to a blue grass music festival....what a delight...great food...very unique...the vegetable soup was outstanding...probably because it was creamy....our entrees, especially the quiche was flavorful...the salads mixed with real lettuce, not cheap iceberg...and flavorful dressing....the multi berry dessert was to die for...oh the calories we consumed....the coffee was pretty good, too and the restaurant had a good selection of bottles beers..too bad only one on draught. Even though "out of the sway," I might return for dinner too see if it is as good. The only "suggestion" is for the owners, who were there, to relate to customers, especially new ones....that is called good marketing...at least Wendy was behind the confer chatting with employees paying no attention to us...too bad....

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Strasburg, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“CLOSED”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Replaced by a "bistro" that is doing terrible and might close as well any day. I really miss the diner!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Only in a pinch.”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Visited on a Saturday night and ate in the bar area. Expected some good bar food as there were plenty of locals inside. We ordered burgers and the chicken pot pie. Burgers were just OK, and the pot pie was actually a bit gross...runny and with little flavor. The service was fine, so points scored there. But this is a tiny bar in a small town, so one can't set the bar too high. Still, you would think the food would be better, in order to attract more customers to the bar for drinks. Sadly not so. There are not many choices in this town, and apparently the Cafe knows that too well so they don't seem to up their game. Only go here if it is late and you really need something to eat before your time runs out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice server, good location, below average food, meager portions.”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

After reading most reviews we thought we would try a new restaurant in Strasburg. We went there for lunch. A nice fellow waited on us. Ordered 2 unsweetened teas with lemon, they could not find the lemon and the tea was not very good. We never got offered any refills. I asked for suggestions in the menu and decided on chicken salad over a bed of lettuce. Not good. The portion was about 1/3 cup of very loose sweet chicken over 3 tough and wet iceberg lettuce leaves. Arghh! My husband got a Cuban sandwich panini style. A thin slice of pork, ham and mustard and they forgot to bring him the chips that weng with it. That was it! Not very good at all but the guy that served us was very sweet. We decided we would not go back there and did not wang to make an issue of it. We should have walked out when it was 1245 in the afternoon and we were the only ones in the restaurant until just before we left. I hope they read this review and make some drastic changes or the won't be around very long. Prices looked great but even my husband rated his sandwich a 3 and had I'd not picky. I rated my chicken salad a zero!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Knowlesn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We saw the great ratings so we got off the interstate to try it. We got the special which was bar b que pork sandwich with a side of pasta salad . It came with a drink. Both meal items tasted like they came from plastic containers at the grocery store. We paid $8 ea. and left hungry. On the plus side, the owner is very friendly. Just need to improve the food and portions.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plumberandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Strasburg Cafe also viewed

Strasburg, Shenandoah County
 
Strasburg, Shenandoah County
Strasburg, Shenandoah County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing