We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got a warm welcome here! Was glad we could make it!”
Review of Shenandoah Valley Artworks - CLOSED

Shenandoah Valley Artworks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We had a great run for 5 years, but have been overtaken by wanderlust so have taken to the trails ourselves. The many great artists and artisans that we supported are still producing beautiful items that are available in our area. You can always call me if you'd like. Thank you so much for all the wonderful days we served the art loving public. Marcy McCann
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We got a warm welcome here! Was glad we could make it!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stopped in on Saturday morning and had a wonderful visit with Marcy! My wife is an artist and had a great conversation with Marcy on some of the works displayed. I'm more interested in architecture and the history of the building and thoroughly enjoyed exploring the great historic building that houses the collection here. Ask to see what Marcy can do with the large color printer in her front office!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Treasure in Strasburg”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stopped in Strasburg on the way from Lexington to Maryland for a bite to eat and visited the artworks. It was a real find and treasure. The art is very good and Marcy was wonderful. It is well worth the stop.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bendoreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcy M, Owner at Shenandoah Valley Artworks, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I remember your visit and appreciate the review. It is always a pleasure meeting people from across the country. Being called a "Treasure" really means a lot to us because that is exactly what we want to be to people. Thanks so much for putting a smile on our faces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the stop!!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Looking for a watercolor of the Shenandoah Valley, we happened to stop at the Shenandoah Valley Artworks and met Marcy McCann. What an outstanding collection of local artwork she has, and if she doesn't have it, she knows where else to look in the area. She is an absolute wealth of information and so invested in her community and promoting local artists. Not finding exactly what we were looking for, she contacted a local artist who was able to paint exactly what we wanted. A highlight of our trip!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarthaP579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcy M, Owner at Shenandoah Valley Artworks, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Oh my goodness. It was my pleasure to be able to arrange a meeting with Ann Harrison for the watercolor you sought. Calling around to local galleries is a common occurrence, as is making direct contact with artists for commissioned pieces. In this case, it was even more rewarding when you popped your head in on your return trip to say how excited you were to get "exactly what we wanted". This is not a job, it is a life choice. For now, meeting people like you makes my day. Putting artists and art lovers together is as valuable an experience to me as is traveling. In the future I will travel, now I enjoy meeting those who are on the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
1 review
“wonderful experience”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stopped in Strasburg on the way home from James Madison U back to DC. Marcy saw us looking over at the gallery and waved us in. We were treated to a wonderful tour of her historical property which houses a magnificent gallery filled with high quality art and crafts. Her enthusiasm and warmth were a pleasure to be around, and we stayed quite a while. There was absolutely no pressure to buy anything at any time, and we ended up purchasing a gem like little painting which now glows on our bedroom wall. This is a not to be missed experience if you are in the area. And there is a perfect little cafe across the street.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrbanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcy M, Owner at Shenandoah Valley Artworks, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
I remember your visit well and the little painting by Wolfgang Neudorfer that you purchased. Thank you so much for the review and the subsequent visit to show me your wife's artwork. Meeting so many kind people makes this a lifestyle, not a job. Thanks again for brightening my day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bright spot in our community!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

When in Strasburg, take some time to visit some of the great businesses along main street! Shenandoah Valley Artworks is a wonderful little shop and gallery representing local artists and craftsmen, and should not be missed. The owner, Marcy McCann, will warmly greet you and proudly show you around her space, as well as promote other local businesses!

The artwork in Shenandoah Valley Artworks is top notch too! If you're lucky, you'll get to meet an artist or two while you're there!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcy M, Owner at Shenandoah Valley Artworks, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
It is so nice that locals too are supporting our shop by shopping for art, music and books. It took a while because we are so tourist driven. Locals are always welcome and encouraged to make us a regular stop on Sunday afternoons to hang out while our house band "Timeless" plays. What is very cool is that people often sit in to sing or play so it is always exciting. We hope more locals will choose to shop with us! Thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shenandoah Valley Artworks also viewed

Strasburg, Shenandoah County
Strasburg, Shenandoah County
 
Strasburg, Shenandoah County
Strasburg, Shenandoah County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing