We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean Hotel but Could Learn From Competing Hotels!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Certificate of Excellence
Moore, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean Hotel but Could Learn From Competing Hotels!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I am a frequent traveler, I normally stay 7 miles away in Winchester/Stephens City but thought I would stay here since it is closer to my business. Frankly I was extremely disappointed in this hotel.

No fridge or microwave and I think the slowest elevator on the planet. Ice machine was out of service on 2 floors.

Don't be a minute late for breakfast either, I was eating and at exactly 9 am I was told breakfast was closing and no more food, there were 10 others eating also.

I will go back to the competition, not worth staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    135
    39
    11
    9
See reviews for
140
118
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Good place to stay. Clean and, spacious rooms. Very clean bathrooms. Good breakfast, excellent and very helpful staff. Very convenient location and a lovely town with great restaurants. Nice views of the Shenandoah hills from the front rooms.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were driving from Philadelphia to Roanoke and Strasburg seemed a good place to break the journey. The hotel is new, attractive, handy, clean and comfortable. It's your standard sort of mid-range chain hotel with all the expected amenities. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable, staff helpful, and the complimentary breakfast decent and plentiful. Just what was needed for a 1-night stay. We'd stop again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a nice hotel stop for the weary freeway traveler. We like the Fairfield chain because they are often consistent in service and quality, while at the same time reasonably priced. This location was better than a no-frills hotel. It had a super-modern lobby, and up-to-date furnishings in the room and bathroom. There was a cobweb in the ceiling corner, but in fairness it wasn't easy to spot. We particularly enjoyed the double-sided fireplace in the lobby; the manager was kind enough to fire it up upon request, which was very nice, since we were trying to dry out from a heavy rain. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Spent a quiet time after dinner relaxing in front of the fire on the other side of the busy lobby, which had a comfortable couch and armchairs. Within walking distance there is a decent Italian restaurant for dinner, and a Chinese restaurant, but otherwise the location is rather isolated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHeiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olyphant
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

First time in a Fairfield inn, we usually stay at choice properties, mainly comfort suites, and sleep inns. This room was very small and had a very soft mattress even for me, I usually like a softer mattress. We had to have someone come up to try to fix our tv it would work and then we would have static for 10 minutes and this continued all nite, he could not fix it and told me to ask at check out for a reduced rate. Breakfast did not start until 7 in the morning which is late for many who want to get on the road early. I did ask and got something off the rate, the same as the coupon rate, which I felt was not enough but I was in a hurry to get on the road so I said fine. Overall, I would not stay at this hotel

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank newdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
234 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Had a quick overnight stay here on the way back to New England. Check-in was quick and efficient. Room seemed a bit worn - not as up-to-date as other Fairfield Inn's that we've stayed in.

Unfortunately we had an extremely unpleasant experience that I provided details to the management in writing. And the issue would certainly affect other guests as well. Never received even the courtesy of a response in writing or a phone call.

We checked out on Saturday and the breakfast service begins an hour later. As we needed to get on the road we asked the night desk person if they could provide us some dry cereal and they were pretty put off by our request. In the end we got a banana and apple - felt they could have done more especially with Marriott frequent guest status.

Given the issues we had and the check-out service we would strongly suggest others consider other properties before staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Staff was the main reason for the Four rating. They were excellent. The room was nice and it was clean. The location was right off I-81 (near I-66) with very easy access. This motel has only one elevator and it is one of the slowest I've ever used. The major problem was the breakfast. Excellent coffee with everything else subpar. The eggs were overcooked, dry with little flavor. The sausage was hard and partly dry, probably from overcooking. Orange juice was very weak almost watery.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicF70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
0.4 mi away
Ramada Strasburg
Ramada Strasburg
#2 of 5 in Strasburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Strasburg
Hotel Strasburg
#3 of 5 in Strasburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
3.9 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
24.4 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
Address: 33760 Old Valley Pike, Strasburg, VA 22657-3705 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Hotel Strasburg
Fairfield Inn And Suites Strasburg
Fairfield Inn Strasburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing